We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful - a great budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athenian Villa

Save Saved
You added Athenian Villa to your Saves list
Athenian Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athenian Villa
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Good Hope Building | Donkin Street, Caledon 7230, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Caledon B&B and Inns
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - a great budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night at this very well priced Greek-style guesthouse. The communal areas are lovely and the rooms are cute, clean and simple. They are also tiny. There isn't enough room to open up two suitcases simultaneously, or even one without tripping over it - and there is really no bathroom or "ensuite" to speak of, only a very tiny shower in the room itself and a very tiny room attached to the bedroom which just fits a toilet. The room was hot - there was no air conditioning, though there was a noisy fan.

Breakfast was just ok - we ordered eggs. We weren't offered, and nor did we see (though admittedly we also didn't ask for) a cold breakfast option.

Having said that, for one night it was a fabulous budget option. There is also a lovely pool which we didn't have time to use.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Best kept secret. Never judge a book by its cover. Carol Ford is a magnificent hostess who is solely responsible for the renovation and decor ideas for the guest house. She has established an oasis that is a feast for the eyes, with much passion and dedication. Secure parking. Excellent room facilities. Very clean. 5 % star treatment. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have stayed at Athenian Villa about 5 times, Athenian Villa is perfectly situated and close to all amenities. I really like staying here because of the overall value, beautiful swimming pool, veranda and large balcony which let you experience this in true Athenian style, Mykonos inspired rooms are spacious with an on suite bathroom. Breakfasts are the best and prepared by friendly staff and a morning chat with Carol about must do sightseeing for the day. Caledon Hotel & Spa is just a 5 minute drive away should you choose to relax at the warm baths or some pampering at the Spa, the latter being the main reason I visit Caledon on a regular basis. I can highly recommend Athenian Villa, one of the best kept secrets in Caledon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked in at the Athenian Villa and since the moment we walked in, it felt like a diffrent country. We enjoyed every moment there. We spent half the time in the little swimming pool enjoying some ice cold white wine. The room are really cosy and gives one a very relax feeling. Breakfast was amazing and the people there made us feel so at home. I can highly recommend them and will be back myself. Wim Braak

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a lovely place to stay. From the moment we got there we were greeted with great hospitality. The rooms are cosy and clean. The fireplace and lounge area is perfect to sit down with a nice book and relax. Breakfast was really tasty and nicely presented. For a cosy romantic place to stay i would recommend Athenian Villa anytime.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athenian Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenian Villa

Address: Good Hope Building | Donkin Street, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Caledon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athenian Villa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Overberg town of Caledon, a one hour drive from Cape Town, is the beautiful Athenian Villa Bed 'n Breakfast. The building is the historic Good Hope Building, dating from 1929 and the theme is drawn from the Greek Isles. Owners Peter and Carol welcome you in true Greek style. Set in a side lane, off the main road, one can lose sight of the little town of Caledon, and imagine oneself in Mykonos or Santorini, the setting is so authentic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Athenian Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Villa Caledon, Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athenian Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.