We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful winter mid-week escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino

Save Saved
You added Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Nerina Avenue | PO Box 480, Caledon 7230, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Caledon
witsand south africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful winter mid-week escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I love this hotel. I often go for a mid-week break, it's like home-away-from home for me. the hotel offers fantastic specials between Sunday night and Thursday night, so be sure to ask about that when booking. Weekends can be very busy at the pools, so if you dont mind that, then the weekend rates are also good value. The setting is glorious - beautiful gardens and mature tree's, spectacular views out over the overberg farmlands from the pools and garden facing rooms. Some of the bedrooms are a bit outdated, but, I have always found them to be clean and adequately stocked with bath products, mineral water etc. The beds are first class and very comfortable. Flat screen TV's, airconditioning and heating and most rooms have doors leading onto a private terrace outside. I have often found that I have the pools to myself, or, am able to find a pool to myself, which is amazing!! the water is iron rich so is a brownish colour, but it is incredibly rejuvinating and relaxing. There is also a very pleasant Spa on the premises offering reasonably priced treatments. Ask about their specials. The Buffet breakfast in the Blue Crane restaurant has a wide enough variety to suit all tastes. From fresh fruit salad and yoghurts, lots of freshly baked goods, full english breakfast to flapjacks with cream and maple syrup. Cuppucino machine and filter coffee on tap. I agree that the restaurants near the casino (Da Vinci's and Black Steer) can be a bit slow on service...however, Da Vinci's offers light fare at reasonable prices and Black Steer does a fairly good steak, ribs, lamb shank etc. You can also have a great salad, but ask them to bring the dressing seperately! in regard to a possible wait for your fare - ask the manageress when you walk in approximately how long your order will take to reach the table. ie: let them know if you are in a hurry. this really does speed things up! the staff at the hotel and casino are exceptional. Go with a good attitude and you will reap the benefits of their friendly and caring service! There are babysitting facilites as well as a games room and creche for kids although I haven't taken a child there so cant rate that. The horseriding and forest adventures look like they could be fun too. The Caledon hotel and spa is a wonderful place to escape to for a bit of chilling out - enjoy it while it still offers excellent value for money. The pools are emptied and cleaned once a week, so check what day that is before you book. Jo.

Room Tip: there are brand new rooms and suites recently added. Ask for these, they are also on a very quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
41
41
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Wonderful time spent at this hotel. Hotel rooms are mediocre but the location certainly makes up for it. A series of hot water mineral pools cascading down the mountain above the spa with water ranging from too hot to just right! Amazing views over the countryside from the pools and a really fun way to spend a winters day or night! Also have spa rooms, turkish baths and sauna as well as a victorian pool and zen garden. All available to guests but day visitors have to pay. Try The Pond which is a hot free form pool in the garden. Large coldwater pools for summer days. There is also an on site casino and fun places for kids to spend their time too. Wonderful place to do a day trip on the Hemel and Arde Road to Hermanus and stopping at some of the wine estates in the area. Not far from Greyton either.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We arrived on the Friday after 6 as it was a last minute getaway for a few couples. We were greeted by a very friendly concierge guy who took our baggage from us at the entrance and guided us to reception where we we're checked in quite fast considering all the late arrivals who rocked up at the same time. Very nice Hotel and Spa with its rustic features which isn't too far away from Cape Town only 120 km, perfect for a short breakaway. Awsome location off N2 on route to Garden Route, Mossel Bay, George, Knysna, Plettenberg Bay or PE. Beautifully landscaped gardens on the top of a hill overlooking the entire Caledon dorpie. What amazed me that it was so very dry throughout the town and surrounding areas but it was lush green at Caledon Spa, Hotel and Casino. Not a gambler so the Casino wasn't my forte however the natural hot rock springs was my favourite place to hangout for the weekend. Loved those thick thirsty towels and robes we got at the reception before heading for the heated natural rock pools. Even though other guests complained about its green,murky looking colour it was a pleasure being in natural hot water that didn't reak of chlorine. The rock pools ranges in temperature and size, which can be followed up a path in the mountain overlooking the Hotel. It's starts with a cold pool and the higher you go the more hotter it becomes. The Spa with its variety of lap pools & saunas is at the entrance of where the hot mineral pools begin. A must if you are planning a stay over at the Caledon hotel & Spa, what a treat as we booked ourselves a couples aromatherapy massage which was an hour long at a special rate of buy 1 get 1 free. What a treat and value for money too! We had a meal the Friday evening at the Crane restaurant near the Casino but was not impressed with the service and quality as staff took forever to take our orders, got the order wrong and our pizzas were awfully. Very dissapointed and should have gone to Black Sheep restaurant instead where we have eaten many times before much better restaurant with great service and food, even though it's was a bit more pricier but totally worth it. The breakfast area over looking a duck pond and play park for the kids very nicely located, where we could have our breakfast on the verandah. Breakfast was good and service great with its friendly staff, had a variety ranging from your traditional English breakfast, bacon, eggs, omelettes, extras like chicken livers , haddock and kippers, continental with cereals, fruit & yogurt, cheese, cold meats, muffins, croissants,danish, even dried fruit and nuts and last but not least those delicious pancakes which I had with maple syrup, cream and a variety of berries. After breakfast Saturday morning we headed for The dorp where we always buy the most genuine great tasting rooikranz boerewors, biltong and droewors and buy our stock for home. The hotel are always obliging to refridgerate and freeze for us until we check out and head back home to Cape Town. Rooms are nice, comfortable neat but definitely needs a change in deco but maybe it's because we go there often. Outdoor pool and bar an awesome place to relax while having a cocktail and basting in the sun. Just was so very appalled by the fact that the hotel would allow woman in the pools without a bathing costume and so much clothing, surely this is cause for concern as it creates hygiene issues. Our overall stay was fantastic and that's the reason why we frequent Caledon Hotel, Spa & Casino as it has a flair to satisfy everyone's fancy or taste! Perfect for businessman, couples, families and friends......bye til we see you again!

Room Tip: Best rooms to choose if you want a little less noise are on the top floor over looking the pool. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at the Caledon Spa ten summer’s ago for a work’s “Legotla” and vowed never to return, demotivated by the avo green coloured and slimy water and slippery rocks. A decade later, in Winter, upon my husband’s insistence, we returned as a family of 4 and boy do I regret not breaking my vow sooner.

We’re a warm water holiday-going kinda family and do not mind immersing our bodies for hours on end. Who cared if the water had a distinctive brown colour when the temperatures ranged from 24 to 40 degrees? All you need to do is contemplate the multiple benefits it had for your skin and feel those tense muscle knots disappear with the steam #sigh…

The pools vary in size and temperature, starting from the cold pool just outside our rooms (too cold for this time of the year), the almost out-of-the-way ;) natural pool behind the trees and underneath the rays of the sun #sigh…, the Victorian-, The Floatation-, The Jacuzzi and the multiple rock pools, the last of which should be avoided with people with heart / lung incapacities 

The SA Forest adventures on site offer much activity for kids of all ages: Tree Top Zip Lines, Paint Balling, Horse Riding, Go Carting (Off Road). Then there’s a Games Arcade (entrance free but games require coupons) and about 5 – 7 PlayStations (entrance and play for free) and movies running for the whole day!

The breakfast buffet was standard and nothing to write home about. However, the pancakes (AKA flap jacks) saved the morning and made for something to look forward to.

I left there feeling totally relaxed and re-invigorated, sure to return more frequently, definitely sooner than 10 years, God Willing.

Room Tip: Book the ground floor rooms so that your kids can be close to the cold pool (during summer).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I arrived on a Sunday night for a two night stay at the hotel, rather reluctantly after reading some poor reviews. On our arrival our porter, Frans, greeted us with a huge smile - the receptionist, Nikki, was most efficient and helpful, and so the story continued with the spa personnel, the cleaners, restaurant staff, etc - all we did was walk in with a good attitude, and we received five star service from the moment we arrived till the moment we left.

The hotel is not particularly aesthetically pleasing, and the rooms not beautifully appointed - but they are adequate and clean, and the gardens and setting more than make up for the somewhat old fashioned look of the place. We don't gamble so can't comment on the casino, but saw lots of facilities for kids to have fun, and we had a fabulous time chatting to people in the rock pools, which in our opinion, are quite charmingly rustic. The water in the pools is iron rich, so it is not crystal clear, but a brownish colour - what a pleasure to bask in natural gushing water not reeking of chlorine.

Yes, one does have to look past some people bathing in clothes over their costumes, so if you don't have a laissez faire attitude on that score, this is not the place for you.

Our masseuses were brilliant, and obliged my request to turn off the music during the massage, with a smile. Regarding our experiences in the restaurants, the service was first class but meals in the Crane as well the Black Sheep lacked lustre.

Now for the highlight of my stay - there are horse-riding facilities right on the grounds, and being a novice, I was expecting to be told I couldn't ride the horses. Instead, I found our hosts, Lorraine and Wilf, to instantly inspire confidence. They were willing to teach me the most basic skills with the love and enthusiasm of true animal lovers. They even teach two year olds to ride.

So, where do you find a hotel in a gorgeous setting with amazing staff, mineral rich waterfalls and pools, great masseuses, both indoor and outdoor entertainment for adults and children, as well as a horse-riding school, all in one place? I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms facing the pools are very convenient for direct access to the spa and pools, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had to carry my own luggage to the room. Carpet was soaking wet with dead insects on the sealing.
They changed our room, closer to reception, which was very noisy. Flies all over the breakfast food.
The only large enough "natural spring" pool was dirty, stinking and cold. The others are to small to accomodate everyone.
Use restuarant on the left of the n2, opposite turn off to town. Rustic but value for money.

Room Tip: Far away from reception. Will then have to walk a long way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

stayed 2 nights @ caledon springs .relaxing weekend lots to do for kids bit pricey though.paintball quad bikes go carts foofee slide and the warm water.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino

Address: 1 Nerina Avenue | PO Box 480, Caledon 7230, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Caledon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Caledon
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledon Hotel Caledon
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.