We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic context - excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vannucci

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vannucci to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vannucci
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via I. Vanni 1, 06062 Citta della Pieve, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classic context - excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is very well situated for exploring the town, as well as the beautiful surrounding countryside. The staff could not have been more engaging and helpful. Our room was well equipped and spacious . The restaurant service was excellent, and the food high quality. The choice of wines was outstanding with first class advice on what to choose! There was a well equipped gym in the basement to ensure we had an appetite and thirst which could do justice to the food and wine.
We could not have had a more relaxing time, in a more welcoming environment. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    57
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
145
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located within the beautiful medieval town of Citta della Pieve, this is an excellent base for exploring the famous hill towns of Tuscany. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly and professional staff, who take pride in providing a high level of service, a stylish and relaxing ambience and great food and wine. The talented head chef uses local ingredients creatively--we enjoyed some excellent meals. Citta della Pieve itself is set in the middle of dramatic countryside and combines lovely medieval architecture, including several churches, with a good selection of small shops, wine bars and sidewalk cafes. A great place for a weekend, but next time we'd like to stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel has the best positioning in Citta della Pieve, the ambiance is welcoming and makes you feel at home. It was a delight to meet the staff, they were extremely helpful and always had an answer to questions, as well as having a great command of the English language. Orlando catered to our every need and not only did we have superb service, but it came with humour and amateur dramatics to suit every occasion!

Everything is at your fingertips - the town centre is quintessentially Tuscan, and we had the great privelage to see the traditional flag throwing, which was skillfully done and a real treat.

Rooms were exactly what you want when you are away from home, all your home comforts, whilst being immaculate and incorporating the beautiful italian style of the local region.

The food was amazing, the portions very generous, which was just wonderful and you never left the table feeling less than fully satisfied with their range of both delicious foods and local wines.

Truly a wonderful place to have a holiday as a couple, family or even group of friends. If you've had a busy year and want a home away from home in a beautiful setting to relax and forget about the world, this is the place to go. Thank you for an amazing stay.

Jean and Frank Russell

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be of an exceptionally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We expected beautiful countryside and wonderful food from our visit to Umbria, but our visit to Hotel Vannucci and the beautiful Citta della Pieve exceeded ALL our expectations. From the moment of our arrival, the service was attentive and warm. The food was scrumptuous and I recommend you listen to the staff's recommendations - they seem to know what you want before you do! The central location of the hotel makes touring easy and we spent a few days touring the architectural and artistic treasures of Orvieto, Montepulciano and Perugia. But don't forget to take time and enjoy Citta della Pieve; meander its beautiful and historic streets, visit its friendly cafes and wine bars and peep into the many churches, with their Perugino frescos.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a weekend away based at this lovely hotel - staff couldn't have been more friendly and many spoke English. The hotel is just a step away from exploring the narrow streets of the town with a bustling market on Saturday morning as well as being close to lots if other beautiful places - our first visit to Umbria - definitely going back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 12 day stay in the Hotel Vannucci. We have only words of praise for the staff, the food and the facilities. Orlando the manager, and Beatrice speak excellent English and did everything they could to accommodate our requests and answer our questions. I can't praise the food enough! It was beautifully presented and fantastically delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

In the middle of this little market town lies an oasis of tranquility, comfort and elegance. The hotel has every modern requirement, is tastefully decorated in keeping with it surroundings and is a home away from home (well probably the home you wish you had). The food is locally sourced, home made, delicious and plentiful. The staff are knowledgable about local areas, local food and wines and the service is exceptional. There really is something for everyone. You can wander leisurely through the winding streets of town in the afternoon, run around the outside of the ancient walls in the mornings or visit the bustling little market on Saturday morning. It is in easy reach of Rome and the other delights of the region. You must visit, even for a night. You will be enchanted, recharged and feel like you have had a proper immersion into Umbria life.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vannucci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vannucci

Also Known As:
Vannucci Hotel Citta Della Pieve
Address: Via I. Vanni 1, 06062 Citta della Pieve, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Citta della Pieve
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Citta della Pieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vannucci 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With attentive and individualized service we aim to make every guest feel immediately at home. Following extensive restoration, Hotel Vannucci in Citta' della Pieve offers accommodation over 30 delightful bedrooms, a choice of formal and casual dining, a cozy bar, and a fitness centre with sauna and Jacuzzi. The hotel's charming decor celebrates Umbria's artisan traditions with wrought iron, hand-crafted furniture and attractive artwork throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Vannucci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vannucci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.