We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf break in Ayrshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coylton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park
Coylton, By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Golf break in Ayrshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of a golf break, rooms are tiny but still really good value. Good facilities in the park especially for families.

In terms of any negatives Could do with better parking facilities and the par is fairly pricey.

Great location for exploring Ayrshire

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    23
    5
    11
See reviews for
77
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst caravan holiday. Caravan was smelly, curtains were stained with dampness , carpets looked dirty, caravans feel jammed together with no space for kids outside and hardly any space to park car and there is no atmosphere. Read the reviews before I came here but thought I would try it but wish is listened to reviews.went home early

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for a week from 9th Sept, The site was very good, Would have liked a quiet bar away from the entertainment, We stayed innthe Darley caravan which was very good and well equiped.
The check in was slow and although we did arrive earlier than 4pm at 2-30 we were just told come back at 4 and no attempt was made to see if accomodation was ready although other people got in theirs before us and before 4pm.
The burger and chips we had were not very good from the site however if you drive to the village of Coylton just down the road there is a chip shop which is very good, real traditional fish and chips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We are just back from spending the long weekend at Sundrum Castle and it was perfect!! The park was immaculate and well laid out. All of the staff that we encountered couldnt be nicer and helped us with any queries we had. A special mention to Jillian as she is just brilliant. The pool is on a session basis which was fine for us and all the kids loved the flume. My girls are aged 3, 5 & 8 so we used the entertainment facilities which were varied and well worth the time. The youngest went to star tots and she was also able to take part in the starlanders as her older sisters were there. Lewis and Claire were amazing and they went out of their way to involve all the kids into the daytime activities.
The caravan was so clean and beautiful i was afraid to let my kids loose in it!!
We will be back to this holiday park for sure as we all had a ball. The kids enjoyed it that much they were in tears leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The caravan was good & clean and had plenty of space for the kids to run about outside on the grass. The entertainment centre was pretty much the same as any other. Service was good and the food was the normal pub grub but was good. We didn't go to the evening entertainment so I can't comment. The swimming pool was ok. Very busy at times and required booking at times. Could've been a bit cleaner but not bad and the kids enjoyed the slide. Overall the park was not too bad at all. I was surprised after reading all the other reviews but we had a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went to Scotland for the first tie to be greeted by a caravan with a leaky toilet and a mouldy curtains and shower. The sofa in the front room had a bed underneath and was collapsing in, and the kitchen had no cooking trays other than 1 pyrex bowl that was big enough for one people not a caravan for a family of 8. We had to buy our own cooking trays to get through the week. no repairs were done to the leaky toilet even after complaints.
The swimming pool was timed slots so the kids had no freedom to go when they pleased. worst parkdean site I've ever been to!
The bar area had a restaurant, we enquired about foods that were gluten free and the staff said they did not have an allergens list and could not tell us what foods were gluten free as they didnt know how to or what it was. The only place to get food was the chip shop on site that sold deep fried pizza! no thanks ! will never use againa nd request you avoid like the plague!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We are just back from Sundrum Castle where we stayed for a long weekend. We found loved the park our two kids loved the swimming the only down side was the van. On the Friday night we discovered that there was a leak in the kitchen roof, it was right at the cooker so we couldn't cook anything that night. I got up in the middle of the night and cleaned up the puddle from the kitchen floor but it was back again by the morning. At 9 o.clock I reported it to reception but nobody came it fix it so we reported again late afternoon and we told that it couldn't be fixed until it stopped raining. It rained most weekend !!! we weren't moved to a dry van which meant we spent all weekend in a leaking caravan. Due to where the leak was we couldn't use the cooker and had to eat out for every meal, perhaps this is how parkdean makes there money. all in all I can not believe they thought that it was ok to have a family staying in a leaking caravan all weekend, I think the least you expect when you go away is dry accommodation...Parkdean you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park

Address: Coylton, By Ayr | Ayrshire, Coylton KA6 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Coylton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Coylton
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fabulous beaches, fun and fresh Ayr...You've got it all at this glorious country holiday park. Set in a quiet spot near the beautiful Ayrshire coast, it's the perfect base for exploring the region's many attractionsFrom the golden sands at the seaside resort of Ayr to the ancient Scottish castles which pepper the countryside. And, of course, a visit to Robbie Burns' museum is a must. Add to that the fun indoor pool on park, lively kids' clubs and peaceful nature trails, and there's something for everyone at Sundrum Castle.* Set in glorious rolling countryside * Only four miles from Ayr's sandy beaches * Great for exploring the Ayrshire coastline * Indoor swimming pool complex with flume * Fun for the kids with Sid & Lizzie ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundrum Castle Holiday Park Hotel Coylton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parkdean - Sundrum Castle Holiday Park to your Saves list