We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good , but double check your bill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Tuns

The Three Tuns
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Three Tuns
Save
You added The Three Tuns to your Saves list
South End, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmotherley
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food good , but double check your bill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My elderly parents took us for a lovely meal here, the food is good and reasonably priced , the spoiler was the bill, stupidly we didn't check at the time of paying , we were overcharged by nearly £35 pounds, when contacted on the phone no apology was given and they were unable to issue a refund without us being there, so an hours round trip entailed . They put the error down to them being busy , which wasn't the case. I am more than aware mistakes happen but it just didn't feel like a genuine mistake , so yes go and enjoy the lovely food , but double check your bill. Thought it would have been nice to offer my Mother a coffee after her drive there, or at least an apology.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    14
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormesby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Yet another fantastic meal at the Three Tuns, Service unbeatable and food is definitely the best in the area. Great atmosphere and décor. Two of us had the steak and both said it was the best we had ever had. Top notch couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just had a good stay, at The Three Tuns we were in the garden flat which was very nice, a few things were wrong but it did not spoil our stay, the garden flat has no wardrobe just four hangers on the back of the door, so if you are staying more than a couple of days it might be a bit of a problem, also was locked out twice so had to go round the back lane which is a bit hairy at night as it is not light up, the bins were not emptied at all during our stay, all staff are very friendly it felt a bit Fawlty Towers at times as little things kept going wrong alarms going off but it made us laugh,, all that said the food is good and it is clean here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Clive and friends made our vacation. Highly recommend stopping in for a drink, dinner or stay. This place came recommend by others on a hike. This is place is a must. Thanks for the great evening for a pair of American hikers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Can't say too much about this place as we used it as a lunch stop in a walk so was sandwiches chips and beer. None of which let us down in the slightest, but this pub looks like it has a lot more to offer, so will be back to sample more in the impressive menu.
10/10

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Gorgeous Village,A Quality Pub with top notch accommodation and is one of the best pubs I have stayed in. 4th year we stayed and the welcome and service is as good as always. Cosy Friendly environment great village atmosphere and accommodating of our trip requirements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie D, Owner at The Three Tuns, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi John,

Your kind words are much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned.

Best wishes
Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really liked the restaurant interior and decor, seemed like we'd made a good choice of restaurant. However, our waitress seemed to forget about us once she'd served our drinks (which themselves took a long time). After about 20 minutes, I literally had to shout her over to take our order (we were sat at the back of the restaurant and she didn't come near our table before that). It then took 40 minutes before our starters were served (in which time we'd finished our drinks but no one came to see if we wanted any more - again, we had to take the initiative ourselves).

Luckily, our starters were delicious - I had the tiger prawns and they were delectable, and the other three in our party enjoyed their starters also.

When our mains arrived, I was disappointed to see that the duck I'd ordered had no evidence of pink to it, despite the waitress informing me that this dish was indeed served pink. My husband and father-in-law both had lamb which was similarly slightly overcooked. Despite this, I did enjoy the meal, as did everyone else. However, again, the service was pretty poor - we asked for some more drinks, as well as condiments, and had to ask for both twice as they were forgotten.

When we complained at the end of the meal about the service, we were informed that it was because it was 'busy'. It was a Friday night, so yes, it was busy, but by no means packed, and I think it's pretty poor that an establishment like this can't work out its staffing needs for a standard Friday night's custom.

So, I would rate service as one star, and food as four star and would unfortunately neither return to the restaurant nor recommend it simply because poor service for me mars the evening no matter how good the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Tuns

Address: South End, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Three Tuns Hotel Osmotherley
3 Tuns
The Three Tuns Osmotherley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Tuns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.