We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good site, good facilities and pubs nearby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park to your Saves list
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Cote Ghyll, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3AH, England (Formerly Osmotherly Hostel YHA)   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good site, good facilities and pubs nearby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our first attempt at camping so we wanted a 'safe' site with good facilites, and we weren't disappointed. Booking over the phone was easy and staff were friendly and helpful at check-in.

being somewhat older we were pleased to be given a tent pitch away from the children's play areas which are in the middle of the camp, but our pitch was still only 2 minutes walk to either of the very clean and well maintained facilities blocks. there is also a small shop in the reception block supplying plently of the basic camping needs.

a lot of space on the site, with a mix of tents, caravans and campers. a great location for couples and families. The small village of Osmotherly is only a 10-15 min walk away (a couple of small hills to climb there and back) and there are three pubs, a small store, a cafe and a fish and chip shop. Plently of places to sit outside and have a bite to eat and drink and relax. there are a few attractions and villages within driving distance - the camp provides a good brochure.

Being new to camping we have little to compare this site to, but we would highly recommend it,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
40
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I emailed this campsite and requested a 3 night booking for the Easter Weekend. Was informed that they were only accepting 4 nights, so based on this we booked for the 4 nights. On arriving and staying at the site I was surprised that some other campers were booked for 1, 2 or 3 nights and none were advised that 4 was the minimum! I have emailed the site owners to query this but sadly they have chosen to ignore my email!!!
Poor show -totally upsets me when I feel that we were misinformed and made to pay for an addtional night when the 'minimum 4 night policy' was not consistently applied to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishing I was there
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hostel is in a very picturesque spot easy enough to reach by car but very hard without. Limited facilities - no internet and no real walking distance to anything, shops, pub etc. Staff very helpful and place had an OK vibe but rooms very small although had a basin in room, the showers small and oddly set up. Don't know if I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a 4 bed room for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here on the coast to coast. Had visited the hostel about 7 years previously and it was sad to see few changes and to hear that the YHA are selling it off. That said, the hostel was clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful and food tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

we found the site via the internet,it looked pretty good,we wer'nt disapointed,the site and facilities were very clean. the owners and staff were very helpfull and friendly.
we had a tranquil and very relaxing 8 night stay,and would highly recommend it to anyone, thankyou.
Mr&Mrs C Saynor

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We Hostel quite regularly so know what to expect, but I was very disappointed with this. The room was shabby, the food terrible (I didn't finish my meal despite having walked 22 miles to get there) and the place is clearly on the skids. This I suspect is down to the fact itI is being closed in October, hard for the staff to remain motivated. A real shame as this could have been a little belter of a hostel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Having only camping for normally 3-4nights, we decided to do a 6 nighter. We reserved our pitches some months before after looking at the website as it seemed pretty good. We were not disappointed. This is a beautiful caravan an campsite with lots of space, great location and excellent facilities.

The village of Osmotherly is only a 10-15 min walk away and has three pubs. A great little village centre where you can just watch the world go by.

We would highly recommend this site to anyone wishing to camp, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park

Address: Cote Ghyll, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3AH, England (Formerly Osmotherly Hostel YHA)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Osmotherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Osmotherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cote Ghyll Mill is a 200 year old linen Mill converted into a Youth Hostel. We specialize in Value accommodation for Groups and Families ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park Osmotherley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cote Ghyll Caravan & Camping Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.