We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcome and Friendly. Spotless.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Catherine Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osmotherley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queen Catherine Hotel
Save
You added Queen Catherine Hotel to your Saves list
7 West End, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3AG , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Osmotherley B&B and Inns
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcome and Friendly. Spotless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We only spent one night but the landlord and landlady were very welcoming and the rooms were extremely clean.
Breakfast was lovely and all staff friendly. We had a lovely night and my Hubby was on crutches so ideal night out/night in.
The other pubs in the area were trying to be a little more 'gastro' which made them less welcoming.
The building itself is very traditional and charming but well maintained.
We will definately visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
28
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an overnight stay at this hotel, which is in a very good location. We had a warm friendly welcome and shown straight to our room. The room was very warm and cosy with extremely comfortable beds. The building itself oozes character and a feeling of history. The really brilliant feature were two open fires, one in the lounge area and one in the dining area, which threw out brilliant heat. These fires are on all day and night so the cosiness is maintained at all times. We had an evening meal, which was more than satisfying. Good plain food, nicely served. We were very well looked after by the landlord and landlady and their staff. No doubt that we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms were more than adequate. It was a peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After spending years visiting & walking around the lovely village of Osmotherley, we for the first time visited the Queen Catherine hotel for a post walk meal & pint. The pub opposite was our usual stop off, but to be honest we dont feel the same welcome these days. Walkers seem to be overun by diners ( might just be my thoughts)
The Queen Catherine however had the warmest welcome from bar staff, friendly banter from a great landlord & no feeling of being one of those unwelcome damp walkers.
Vegetable curry to die for, with big Northern chips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's true, on the outside this pub looks ordinary. There's no pretence at being a 'gastropub' like The Golden Lion across the street. In fact we only ate here instead as they took card payments whereas The Golden Lion didn't! But we gave it a go and were very pleasantly surprised.

I start every review at 5 stars and then take stars off if needed, rather than the other way around. And I see no reason not to give this humble little village pub 5 stars. I couldn't find a speck of dust in the whole place, it was spotlessly clean. The decor was very traditional, expected in a pub. The menu was conservative (Always a good sign. If a menu has 99 items on it you know it's not home made!) and there were specials on offer. My husband was thrilled that they had parmo's on the menu (breaded chicken with white sauce and melted cheese - a regional specialty!) and I had fish and chips. The foot was great and the service was exceptional. Will definitely return to this super clean, home from home hospitable pub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the Queen Catherine Pub for three nights very friendly, food good, nothing to much trouble for owners and staff rooms a bit small but it is an old pub, the village is lovely, only down thing the church bell goes dont stop at night so if you are a light sleeper ask to be at the front.

Room Tip: Rooms at front a bit better because of church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed 1 night after meeting friends for dinner.
£35 for single b&b was very good value in this location.
It is however only a dining pub with a few rooms so expect some noise from the bar area.
Basic clean room with working freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities,comfortable bed and good breakfast .
Very friendly staff.
Oh and the food is basic pub grub at low prices with a good selection of real draft beers .
Will be staying here again next time I'm in Osmotherley for the night.

Room Tip: Only 1 single room so book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stopped over on a Friday night as part of a Motorcycle tour of Yorkshire and the Borders..
Bar was nicely packed out, good family atmosphere early in the evening and even after the kids went still nice place to be.
Very good selection of beers, and the food was also very good. Both dinner and breakfast.
My only wee gripe was the church bells woke me about 4am and I never did get back to a good sleep.
But yes I would go back, nice staff, owners.
Well worth a consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Catherine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Catherine Hotel

Address: 7 West End, Osmotherley, Northallerton DL6 3AG , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton > Osmotherley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Osmotherley
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Queen Catherine Hotel Osmotherley, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Catherine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.