We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Senses Yao Noi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Six Senses Yao Noi to your Saves list
Six Senses Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 Villa   |   56 Moo 5 Tambol Koh Yao Noi, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Six Senses Summer Package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Datchet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Like may other reviewers of this resort, I have been fortunate to stay in many top-ranked locations during my travels, but the standard and quality of staff service here - throughout the whole resort, from greeting at the airport, transfer to the Marina, boat, stay, and back again - puts SSYN at the top of tree.
As we have a policy of "eating local", we did not sample the offerings of Chef Anthony's Dining Room menus, but stuck instead to the "simple" fare of the Thai dinners at The Living Room and were not disappointed at any time as we worked our way through most of the menu options during our 10 night stay.
If one is seeking a vibrant night-life, then I suggest dispensing with the boat transfer and stay in Phuket - if, however, the prospect of days spent relaxing by one's pool at the villa, enjoying the sun (mornings only, for most of the villas...), a dip in the sea from the private beach (small, but plenty of sun-loungers on an immaculately raked sandy terrace), the odd excursion to/round the neighbouring islands, and of course the sheer relaxation luxury of the Spa, all wrapped up in a private verdant haven, then this is place to go.
The views from the main buildings complex, and those from the ocean view villas, across to the archipelago are quite spectacular and, as long as you ask your GEM to check that it's OK, a swim in the infinity pool at the Hilltop at dawn will take your breath away as the sun rises from behind the Krabi side of the bay and over the islands.
Our lasting impression will, I think, always be the friendly and helpful staff, for which Manish and his management team are to be commended. It doesn't matter how stunning the location is, if the service doesn't match (or, in this case, exceed)......
A milestone birthday to remember, and we look forward to returning (now where did I put that winning lottery ticket...?) soon....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    66
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
199
660
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

There are many reviews here which describe Yao Noi's many virtues, so I will only offer a few tips for those who have decided to visit this resort for the first time:

1. Book an ocean panorama pool villa -- well worth the extra cost. Those that face east on the path that includes the upper 20s to Villa 30 are the pick of the lot: spectacular view, and not a ong hike to the eats and drinks.
2. The villas do not have universal electrical outlets. Each villa should come with it's resident adapter, but check that when you arrive -- your GEM will organize fetching one if it's missing.
3. There's a cigarette lighter in the drawer with the incense coils (you can use these to drive off any mossies, or just because they smell good). The lighters never work; ask your GEM to fetch you matches if you think you'll need fire.
4. You can specify exactly when you want housekeeping to make up your room in the morning and provide turndown at night. Do so: they are very, very precise at following your instructions.
5. If you don't want to eat at the main dining room, try the bar (called The Den). There's an excellent bar menu, with Thai, Indian, Japanese, and western offerings. The bar is the "all-day dining" option.
6. There's a pillow menu in each villa. There are all kinds of pillows, with a variety of scents, no less.
7. The GEMs (butlers) are really good -- they will see after the smallest details, and they're just a delight to chat with about almost anything.

Have fun -- it's a delightful resort. Good for solo travelers, too, not just couples and families....

Room Tip: Villas 28, 29, and 30: best views; close to dining facilities and the bar; not too much hiking to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Best service ever experienced from a 5 stars hideaway resort. The whole compound offers a whole cleansing to my body and mind being their natural food, drinking water, sport activities, outstanding services, and quietness of the private Island.

Promise myself to visit Six senses regularly:)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mailhac
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have never, in all my travels to 136 different countries stayed anywhere as nice as this! I left feeling absolutely speechless, but have been raving about it to all me friends ever since.
Put it at the top of your must visit list NOW!
We were made to feel special from the moment we turned up to get the boat to the hotel. We felt that we were treated just a well as those guests who flew in with their own helicopter! our GEM (Guest Experience Manager) or personal butler, could not have done more for us. She was always available, organised everything that we wanted when we wanted it, but did it all with style and sophistication, never intruding, but never more than 5 minutes away. The food and the wine are nothing to rave about, they are good but not exceptional, but the resort and the overall experience is so restoring and therapeutic that it is difficult to find the right words for it.
Fantastic is the word that keeps coming to mind.
Can I please go again tomorrow? Thanks to all who made us so welcome.

Room Tip: All are great, many are different but from the lowest price to the most expensive, they are all grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed at a number of 5-6 star resorts around the world, including some Six Senses resorts, but I rank Six Senses Yao Noi as the best Thai resort and best Six Senses in terms of the management. I went with my bff (so we are two female adults who are career-women) on 8-11 May for 3 nights, staying one night at a Hideaway Villa, and 2 nights at the Panoramic Villa (Villa 60). We were thoroughly satisfied and happy with the villas. We were kept happy from the minute we stepped out of the airport to be greeted warmly by the resort-staff. Transport via Mercedes then Speedboat were absolutely comfortable, Upon arrival we were greeted by the GM and others. We had a leisurely first half-day, then the next day we did a one-day private kayaking trip organised through the resort - the service was very good and the guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Another day we did our first Thai-boxing lesson and that was extremely fun, too! One night we had a Chef's Table dinner and we specified "Thai and fresh seafood" - I eat a lot of good food around the world all the time, but this Thai meal (with wine pairing - the wine was fine but not spectacular) was the most delicious Thai meal I have ever tasted!!! Thai Chef Oad(?) was great! Then there was the spa - my masseuse (forgot the name) was a young Thai female who had had medical-massage training - and she was so strong and precise for all my terrible knots - not something I would expect at a leisurely spa resort: she was seriously good!!! Then there was the In-villa BBQ Dinner we booked for another night - we had to cancel/move due to the rain: but that was no problem for the resort and they made swift efficient arrangements. Really throughout the stay everything worked well. Our Butler Natty was smart and efficient. One of the officers who arranged our booking, Wutti, was friendly, efficient and attentive. Of course, I guess this all boils down to the good management by overall GM Manish. They really did not pay me to write all this, of course, but really I have only praises and nothing to complain about. The place is not cheap, and people who prefer "obviously-grand" type of resorts may not like this, as this is low-key, environmental, and quietish/unpretentious. I will go back and will recommend it to all who likes nature, good food, good service, and a bit of privacy and exclusivity.

Room Tip: Villa 60 is the View Villa with a spectacular view. But it does not have a pool. So one may do what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Søllerød, Kobenhavn, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in the central Double house called " The house" and had a fantastic week. Amazing and very relaxed atmosphere. Simply amazing surroundings and food . And on top came the super friendly staff always polite and helpful .
We were two families of 4 people each having each of the two bungalows that "The House" is consisting of.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Yes very nice and exclusive domain. The staff is always ready to assist you, with all special requests. Believe me, this is very rare !! Our villa ... want to stay forever ! Also want to give thanks to travel agent from andaman aventures company they recommend for us our special unit number 51. so nice! The location is the beautiful, no noise from mosque at this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManishPuri, General Manager at Six Senses Yao Noi, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for the very apt subject line. Our team tries it's best to give a dream like experience. I'm glad you loved your overall experience and hope to welcome you back to our resort.

Best regards,

Manish Puri
manish@sixsenses.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Senses Yao Noi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Yao Noi

Address: 56 Moo 5 Tambol Koh Yao Noi, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Yao Noi 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yao Noi is a picturesque island in Phang Nga Bay - the unique environment for the Six Senses Yao Noi. It can be reached by motor boat from Phuket port or by the resort’s own helicopter. Six Senses consists of 56 Pool Villas and Pool Villa Suites, the Hilltop Reserve and the Retreat - set in natural vegetation and tropical landscaping, providing privacy between the elevated villas and allowing glorious views over Phang Nga Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your Six Senses Yao Noi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi Hotel Ao Phang Nga National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Senses Yao Noi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.