We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koyao Bay Pavilions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Koyao Bay Pavilions to your Saves list
Koyao Bay Pavilions
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

WOW what an amazing place to stay, I really don't know where to start as the whole experience was perfect. We stayed for 5 nights in mid-April after 3 crazy nights in Phuket and couldn't have picked a better place to unwind. We stayed in a Beach Pavillion which was beautiful, very spacious, clean and with great decor. I loved the outdoor bathroom which was huge and well equipped. This really is the place to stay if you want to reIax and enjoy the best of Thailand. I spent most of the time hanging out in the hammock gazing at the beautiful surroundings and wildlife. I highly reccommend getting up early to watch the sunrise on the beach and to book direct through Koyao Bay Pavillion's website as they offer a rate inclusive of a daily massage. I am so glad I did this as the massage was pure bliss.
The food in the restaurant is outstanding, some of the best I have had in Thailand. The Banana Flower salad and curried crab were standouts for me ( along with Oliviers cocktails). Olivier and his team do a fantastic job making sure all your needs are met and can't do enough for you.
If your looking for total relaxation and luxury in a perfect location then I highly reccommend staying here. I really can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
112
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, Devon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in the Champa Villa for 4 nights during April having booked the accommodation after reading the amazing reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed.
Our villa was spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped. Set back a few hundred yards from the beach surrounded by jungle, paddy fields and farm land it was a taste of 'real' Thailand.
Cockerels, chickens, lizards and a multitude of wildlife roam freely around the 2 villas which are next door to each other and share a wonderful pool - great for cooling off in the heat.
If you like to get back to nature then this is the place for you. Bull frogs, toads, geckos and other wildlife come alive in the evening and we were serenaded each night to the sound of the jungle.
Olivier and his staff made us feel incredibly welcome and was able to provide trips tailor made to individual requirements. We hired scooters for the duration of our stay as we like the freedom of getting out and about amongst the locals.
This is not a destination for those who prefer bright lights, clubs, bars and nightlife. It is for those who want peace, serenity and a feeling of getting back to nature. Koh Yao Noi is as yet a relatively undiscovered paradise and I hope it stays that way.
Beaches are not the best we have found in Thailand but they are totally natural and often completely deserted. Views out onto the Islands and karsts are simply breathtaking.
We took our mopeds onto a longtail boat and over to Koh Yao Yai (helped by a team of extremely helpful longtail boat workers.... can't see that happening in the uk with all the health and safety regs!!!) discovering the most incredible deserted sand spit which was totally our own for the day. I doubt there are many places in the world where you can still find this kind of natural and unspoilt paradise.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Thank you Olivier, Bee and staff for our lovely relaxing break. The combination of location, amenity and ambience is truly outstanding.

You won't find acres of marble or double glazing at Koh Yao Bay Pavilions, neither will you find late night bars or crowded beaches. What you will find is a relaxed luxury of the kind that is felt and absorbed, rather than imposed. Make no mistake, the spotlessly clean and beautifully crafted accommodation oozes opulence from every piece of gorgeous natural timber, but it is a luxury that draws into your natural surroundings, rather than isolating and cosseting you from them. And given the unique natural beauty all around, it's an experience that can't be easily replicated elsewhere (unlike most 5 star hotels).

Whether it is a massage in your private beachside sala, a shower in the open air bathroom, listening to the breeze in the palm trees from your bed at night (wish we'd got that tropical storm), hiring a scooter and going to the markets or fishing village, stepping off your beach onto a longboat to explore paradise (or just hiring a canoe for a bit of DIY) or getting up early to watch the sun rise over the Bileh Islands, staying in this place draws you right into these islands and the people who live there, while still enjoying a feeling a complete luxury.

The staff are lovely local people and the as others have mentioned, the food is sublime. As I said above, we want to come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nynashamn, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

What lovely place! You have à private beach, a private jungle, a private pavillion and à private pool. The place is beautiful, the calm is overwhelming.

Olivier and his staff Really know how to make the best for the guests. He cares about what every single person wants.

Did I mention the food? Delicious!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We have just returned from 13 wonderful nights at Koyao Bay Pavilions. From the moment we arrived through to our reluctant departure, Olivier and his team of smiling and friendly staff ensured that we had an enjoyable holiday.

We were lucky enough to spend time at both Champa Villa and at one of the beach pavilions.

Champa Villa is set a few minutes walk from the restaurant and beach pavilions along a rough and unlit track (torches are provided). The villa is in a slightly elevated position and has lovely views of the surrounding countryside, but no sea views. Although we were aware that the villa is about 250 metres away from the restaurant and beach pavilions we had wrongly assumed that this would be along the coast rather than inland and that the villas would be located within the same grounds as the pavilions. No big deal, but if you prefer to have direct access to the beach then it’s probably best to choose the pavilions.

The villa is clean and spacious with very efficient air conditioning in the bedrooms (well used during the hot nights!). It’s well equipped for anyone wanting to self-cater – we didn’t, but we did make use of the well stocked fridge (free bottled water and reasonably priced soft drinks, beer, gin, whisky and snacks).
The large swimming pool, shared with Taara Villa, is absolutely fantastic – just a few steps in front of the villa and great for cooling down and watching the world go by.

The beach pavilions have sea views and a cooling sea breeze and are only steps away from the restaurant. The beach is just a few metres across the gardens and the view to the many small islands across the bay is amazing. The beach is a bit wild and isn’t that attractive at low tide, but at high tide it looks lovely and you can easily swim in the sea. The design of the pavilions is really nice – one building with a spacious bedroom (lots of lovely dark polished wood), a small walk-in dressing area and an open air bathroom. There is also a separate ‘sala’ area – shaded, cool with plenty of room to just lounge around, gaze out to sea and listen to the wildlife and lapping sea. There’s also a nice pool that is shared between the three pavilions.

We enjoyed the time we spent at both types of accommodation – each has various advantages and it pretty much depends on what you are looking for but, if we go back, we will probably choose to stay in the pavilions.

Olivier and Azip will happily arrange excursions for you – we were picked up on the beach in front of the pavilions and had a fabulous day sailing round the local islands on a long tail boat (just the two of us rather than with crowds of other people). A picnic hamper with delicious food and a cool box of assorted drinks were provided and we had lunch on a deserted beach with not another tourist in sight.

The food at the restaurant is top notch and very reasonably priced – we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there most days. The locally caught fish and seafood is excellent and one evening we had barracuda caught earlier that day by Azip. We can also highly recommend the banana flower salad, spicy duck salad and tempura prawns, oh and the banana milk shakes and coconut milk shakes are also very good, as is Olivier’s gin fizz! We also watched our lunch being made by Olivier’s lovely wife one day – her explanations were clear and it was great to taste things along the way as the dishes were being prepared. So, does anyone know where we can buy banana flowers in the UK? :-)

If you are looking for somewhere away from the mass tourist resorts, with a good standard of accommodation and superb food, where your host and his team are very helpful but not intrusive, then we can highly recommend Koyao Bay Pavilions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We came across Koyao Bay Pavilions based on the reviews on tripadvisor.com, and were not even sure we had the right place when we arrived after a bumpy trip down dirt roads. Thankfully, Olivier told us where we were before he even introduced himself, and proceeded to take care of us very well for the next week.

We did very little while on Koh Yao Noi, which suited us perfectly. The day excursion provided were excellent (boat trip around surrounding islands), and the hours whiled away in the compound were well spent, lazing in the private sala and relaxing in the shady pool. Sunrises on the beach were nothing short of spectacular, though we had to drag ourselves from the extraordinarily comfortable bed/room in order to see it!

Two things we have to mention: the food at Koyao Bay Pavilions is SPECTACULAR. It still remains our 'happy place' we mentally go to when facing less appealing offerings on the rest of our trip. We discovered the creme caramel on about the second night, and then had at least one daily - we suspect we consumed their entire stock over our trip. The cocktail menu is limited but sublime - no watered down drinks or inventive incorrect recipes here, just good strong classics. And just thinking of the carpaccio now a few weeks later makes us hungry and nostalgic for just one more morsel of the silken, divine, glorious, unmatched barracuda...

Second, Koh Yao Noi is a world apart from Phuket and Krabi - one should not expect a similar experience here to such places. It is a quiet little island, and you will hear the muezzin's call at dusk no matter where you are.

We also did a cooking class with Mina, a local lady who runs these sessions professionally. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this class, it is expensive but a truly joyous and educational experience. She provides you with a cooking book to take home as well.

By the way, this place is FULL of French people. It made us Aussies feel rather cultured hearing all the burbling French voices at dinner. :)

Oh, and make sure you book with Koyao Bay Pavilions directly to get 2 hours of massage per room PER DAY (one hour each for a couple). The masseurs were amazing and very professional, and would come to your private sala for an hour of bliss.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crusoe78, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Wow ! There should be a review of reviewers (or maybe there is...?) Yours would certainly be one of the most thought-out and heart-warming...

The bumpy dirt road and lack of any signs along the way actually helps to preserve the valley and the beach as it is, and hopefully keeps most invading Frenchmen at bay !

Thank you so much for praising the quality of our food and beverages, we are thrilled to hear that our authentic recipes were a hit once again ! Upon your second honeymoon (next winter ?), prepare yourselves for extended desserts and cocktails menus - yes, we've got more to make you try ! I will definitely forward your comments to Mina, whose cooking class is often one of our guest's highlights during their stay, along with the boat excursions, and of course the world famous "doing-nothing-while-on-holiday" activity !

Please receive the team's warmest regards, and do send to me your full insight on Bhutan's G.N.H. !

Kind regards,
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Koyao Bay Pavillions for 5 nights on our honeymoon over Christmas and we totally loved it! After the hectic-ness of Bangkok, Ko Yoa Noi was easy to get to with great instructions from the pavillions. All the staff were fantastic and made us feel welcome and at home when we arrived on Christmas eve to a big celebration feast. The restaurant served us easily the best food we ate in our whole stay in Thailand - fresh fresh seafood, lovely thai salads which all tasted amazing. Coming form a landlocked country we will remember the king prawns, lobster and fish for a long long time! The bungalows were really spacious and had everything you needed and the outside bathrooms were great as well as the sala areas for masssage, chilling, relaxing and reading. The lodge is very quiet and you can just potter along and do as much or as little as you like. No request is too much and Bee and Oliver really looked after us! The island itself is sleepy and quiet with a few scooters and bicyles but you are well away from the neon signs and late-night bars on koyoa Noi. This was a great place to stay for calm Thailand and we would love to come back one day!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crusoe78, General Manager at Koyao Bay Pavilions, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
In case you are still wondering wether you should stay at Koyao Bay Pavilions or elsewhere , just let yourself be convinced by the title of this review... You MUST stay here !

Lucy & Simon, we cannot thank you enough for your kindness, and showing such appreciation. As (supposedly) many other hotels, we truly enjoy making each and every one of our guests feel special. The main difference lies in ourselves being blessed, as each and every one of our guests is actually sensational !

All the team would be delighted to greet you once again, and if we were to wait to long, I guess I'll gladly have to plan my next vacations in Malawi...

Warmest regards,
Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koyao Bay Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Bay Pavilions

Address: 46/7 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koyao Bay Pavilions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the natural shoreline, paddy fields and forested hills, a coconut plantation along an untamed and deserted beach shelters three Pavilions arranged around a central swimming pool. Two-bedrooms pool Cottages & Villas, particularly adapted for families with children, are within small distance from the resort... A haven of peace for nature lovers, in search of uttermost privacy and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Koyao Bay Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Bay Pavilions Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koyao Bay Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.