We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet hippie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise @ Koh Yao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise @ Koh Yao to your Saves list
Paradise @ Koh Yao
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand (Formerly The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet hippie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfect for the gourmet hippie. Remote and surrounded by nature. Excellent service, activities and facilities. Be aware that there are fees for most activities and luxuries. Lovely small beach with it's own jetty, boats and good size pool. Has two bars on the beach front and two restaurants. The resort is the only place to eat, so it is a good idea to bring your own snacks but there is plenty of drinking water provided. Transport to and from the resort is very expensive. The cheapest way is a resort taxi, ( air conditioned), with public transport speedboat from Bangrong pier to Manoh pier. Restaurant food was acceptable, however, the non alcoholic fruit drink was disappointing, more an ice slussie and thus overpriced. Mosquitos are plentiful, though the resort do there best to reduce them. It is noted that the working air conditioners are not capable than less than 25% when in heat.

Room Tip: Perfect for the gourmet hippie. Remote and surrounded by nature. Excellent service, activities and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Josephine H,

Thank you very much for your review here on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to hear that your loved our service, the activities & the facilities.

It was our pleasure to host you & we would love to welcome you back to Paradise in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    186
    73
    46
    29
See reviews for
93
492
35
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent hotel with exceptional customer service. The staff, the majority of whom come from the island, were very attentive, enthusiastic and helpful. The food was delicious, with added touches like wholemeal rice, as well as white rice. The rooms were lovely too and the resort was in a beautiful environment, with amazing birds, orchids, and water lilies - and I haven't mentioned the fabulous sandy beach!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Max M,

A very warm thank you for your wonderful review of our beautiful resort here on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff, the food, the rooms and the nature.

We would love to welcome you back to Paradise once again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed now the third time in Koh Yao Noi Paradise – and we love every minute. One of the most relaxing places we have went in the world. The hotel itself made quite a lot of improvements over the past two years. Interior of the rooms got replaced, more sunbeds are available on the beach (you will find always a great private spot!).
The food at the restaurant is great! It has a great price quality ratio – everything we tried – in over a week you can try a lot… was excellent! Staff was always helpful and polite. As long as you keep your conversation to basic English – you will get everything you are asking for.
Several times a week – they offer different buffets – every time something different. If you get there – and see –Seafood Buffet – we can highly recommend it!
The room was very clean and in good condition. Once in a while – the mosquitos are a bit annoying – but you are out in the nature. The mosquito net over the bed has seen better days… but sure they will replace them.
The beach – is very relaxing. Yes – good for swimming most of the time – except very low tide (otherwise you have the great “cold” fresh water pool). It is not a place for snorkeling – as the visibility is less than 3 ft/1m.
For the transportation – when you come from Phuket – take the express boat to the southern pier – take a taxi to the eastern pier – take a long tail boat – to get finally to Paradise. From Krabi – you will arrive directly at the east pier. There is also a taxi option thru the jungle… but the driving time is about 45 min on a very “outback” style road.
We had another great week here – and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Bjoern R,

Thank you so much for your feedback here on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests in Paradise again.

We are delighted to hear that you liked the improvements we made. We are endeavored to constantly improve ourselves so that we could offer our guests, you, a even better service.

It would be a pleasure for us to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We asked our tour operator (Andaman Adventures) for a hotel with views of Phang Nga Bay and they definitely delivered with The Paradise. We stayed for four nights at the end of February 2015. The hotel grounds are lovely, providing a castaway island feel. We loved the beach bar and the variety of seating options here. Although there were many guests at the resort, the beach never felt crowded and plenty of sunbeds, hammocks and bean bags are provided. The island is very tidal, so there is a big difference in the appearance of the beach at high tide and low tide. This did not matter to us, as we were constantly gazing past the beach to the amazing views beyond.

We had a plunge pool deluxe room (251) and woke to stunning sunrises over the bay every day. The room had been tastefully refurbished and was spacious with a good sized deck and plunge pool. There were steps leading up to the room, but these were not excessive. I think that some of the other rooms have many more steps judging from the reviews on here.

The staff were very friendly and although many did not speak much English we had no issues at all. Most would just fetch someone else who could understand us. Their English was certainly better than my Thai! Prime, in particular, was lovely and very helpful and hardworking.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful, so if you are wanting a party then go elsewhere. Live music was provided on a few nights in the bar. There are a variety of excursions possible. We had arranged our own through our tour operator so did not try any through the hotel. We enjoyed a couples massage as part of our package.

Expect Western prices for the food (though cheaper than most places in England). The food was very good on some nights and just okay on others. There is a themed buffet every night or you can choose a la carte. I tried the curry buffet, which was excellent and a real variety of options. At lunchtime you can eat in the main restaurant or there is a cooking station by the pool bar serving up soup or noodles etc, a different meal every day. We thought this was great. Cocktails were a bit hit and miss. Some were tasty, some were not great.

Overall we had an excellent stay here. Loved the room and really miss waking up to that view!

Room Tip: Room 251 is a plunge pool deluxe with excellent views of the bay but only one flight of steps to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MJ_Donaldson,

Thank you for your wonderfully detailed review here on Tripadvsior.

We are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food, the bar, the rooms and our entertainment.

We are very glad to hear that our staff was so friendly and accommodating to your needs.

We hope you carry many fond memories of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

already staying in koh yoa noi, my partner and I rented a scooter and went for a drive, down a dirt track for 10-15mins we found this amazing place. obviously upmarket. the beach was amazing the pool was lush, the staff couldn't do more for us despite us not staying at the hotel.
we did overhear new guests paying their transfer bill which we thought was steep, so I would recommend hiring a scooter in the town (especially as everything from here is 10-15mins away)
but if you want paradise it does exactly what it says, if you want a party, shopping and restaurants go to Phuket not a tiny island!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Natasha B,

Thank you so much for your review. It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guests.

We hope that your stay at our resort has left you with lasting memories and would be pleased to welcome you back in paradise soon.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll begin by saying amazing!! My partner and another couple spent 5 days here and I could have easily spent 5 more!
After reading plenty of reviews on Paradise one of the main things I prepared myself for was super expensive food - but I found it to be very reasonable. Yes of course it seems expensive compared to Patong, but it was cheaper than certain Aussie pubs and clubs. $15 (aus) for a delicious grilled salmon - I'm not complaining! I never had a bad meal, all the food was of amazing standards.
The buffet dinners each night were a bit pricey but we indulged one night for the BBQ seafood buffet. I think i ate my weight in rock lobster ($40 aus but so worth it). Oh and the cocktails - to die for!
I loved every element of nature. I remember reading a review of someone saying how a hornbill landed right outside their bedroom window - yeah like that would happen! What do you know, first day; hornbill landed in a tree right outside our window. My day was made! Caught a glimpse of a few monitor lizards around the resort, including the one who went for a dip in the pool! Mozzies were a pain but that's expected, just go prepared with plenty of repellent and keep the net around the bed down at all costs.

Day trips - yes they're expensive but we were lucky enough to do all our day trips from Phuket prior to arriving at Koh Yao. I much preferred lounging by the pool or beach with a good book, the relaxed vibe is too great to bother going elsewhere. They do have some cheap half day trips to the village or small islands close by (about $10 aus) which was plenty for us.

Staff were amazing! They were so attentive, kind, most spoke English quite well and if they didn't have very good English skills they definitely tried. We never encountered any communication errors. Shout out to the yoga instructor (I wish I remembered her name!).

All in all I was very pleased with the Paradise, it exceeded my expectations. Quiet, secluded - a very nice change from the hustle and bustle of Phuket. I think it helped going in what appeared to low season too. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Plunge pool suite. The steps are worth the amazing view from our room, and a plunge pool of your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Emma T,

Sunny regards from Paradise. It was a great pleasure for us to host you.

We really appreciated your feedback on our food prices. Yes it is more expensive than a food stall in Patong but compared to any other beachfront restaurant our prices are still reasonable.

Because we are on an island the food and drinks have to be transported here by boat. When you compare the prices in a food stall for example on Phi Phi island to our prices you would be surprised how expensive they are.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay including our activities. Also here you can find cheaper excursions available somewhere but don't be surprised to find you with about forty other people squeezed on a single speedboat normally without insurance or other safety equipment, which we have. We only go with small groups of about six to ten people.

We would love to welcome you back in paradise soon.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent five days with our 3 children at this beautiful and peaceful place and were more than happy with our choice. Great value for the price!
This is really a perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature (we saw so many hornbill birds!!). The pool and the restaurant are also much above standard and the bungalows are just gorgeous with their beautiful and well furnished terraces.
The trips to the different limestone islands are also great but rather expensive. The same is true for the transfer costs to the hotel from Phuket or Krabi. Since the hotel is on the beautiful but isolated northern top of Koh Yao Noi, it is quite difficult to avoid the monopolistic price premium. However, we would nevertheless go back to this hotel anytime.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at Paradise @ Koh Yao, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Martin,

Sunny regards from Paradise & thank you very much for your review of our resort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our food & your overall stay with us so much. It was our pleasure to host you & we would love to welcome you back to Paradise in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise @ Koh Yao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise @ Koh Yao

Address: 24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand (Formerly The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise @ Koh Yao 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa is away from the crowds, peaceful and quiet, only 1 hour from Phuket or Krabi, Thailand. It's a laid-back and close to nature setting perfect to relax and unwind on the 400 meter private beach, in the tropical spa and while practising yoga and meditation. Koh Yao Noi is unspoiled, largely untouched, set in lush tropical forest with a wonderful remote feel. The resort has 69 rooms, two restaurants and two bars. All of the exquisite rooms and villas are nestled in the tropical forest. They are spacious and private featuring a Thai style semi-outdoor shower and hollywood swing in the open sala living area. There are Jacuzzi studios and plunge pool deluxe rooms. The Pool Villas are just meters from the sea with a private pool and beach front garden. Or treat your self to the luxury of the Hilltop Pool Villa that has a large infinity pool with a spectacular view over Phang Nga Bay.The main restaurant of the Paradise Koh Yao is nestled in a covered area among palm trees with additional seating on the open beach, looking out on the beautiful bay. In this wonderful tropical setting you will enjoy outstanding Thai and Western cuisine. The restaurant offers a great variety of fresh seafood as well as changing buffets and a tasty a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Paradise @ Koh Yao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Koh Yao Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Paradise Koh Yao Noi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise @ Koh Yao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.