We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
4.0 of 5 stars 703 Reviews
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

It takes a bit more effort to get here compared to some of the other beaches/resorts, which is why it is so relaxing and beautiful. The beach is not crowded. the food is excellent, the rooms are beautiful. Outdoor showers that are private is a wonderful touch. The service is unobtrusive but takes care of all your needs. Well worth traveling to this gem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear SFS53538,

Thank you very much for your kind words here on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the remoteness of the resort, our facilities and food that much.

We wish you many fond memories from your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    165
    65
    42
    28
See reviews for
88
443
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We organized our own travel from Phuket to the Paradise. We opted for the high-speed ferry at 200bht/pp, and arrived at the pier on the other side of the island from the Paradise. We hired a bakkie/pickup to take us to the resort. We climbed into the payload area of the truck along with our luggage and another family, and off we went. The road is extremely dusty, and you will want a shower after the journey, and it was a rather rough ride... but we still enjoyed the experience! Upon arrival, we went to our room, cleaned up a bit, and we took our son to the pool for a swim before dinner. The setting for the pool is spectacular, you are surrounded by lush vegetation, and in breaks through the foliage you see the sea. Gorgeous. Now imagine swimming in a pool like this, when a giant monitor lizard quietly slips into the water and swims across the pool next to you!! AMAZING! One of the coolest things I have experienced; in fact, over our stay this happened twice to us.

The food was consistently good. Our room could use updating, and the bed was uncomfortably hard. Our room came with a jacuzzi tub, but it sure could have used a solid cleaning - we never used it so this didn't affect us. I am sure the staff would have cleaned it if we had asked, still, maybe the staff should have been proactive and cleaned it sometime during our 5night stay? But the view from our room was superb. We have fond memories of sitting in the creaky wooden swing/chair while sipping wine, watching the hornbills flit around, and the tide slowly pull out along the beach. Sigh. It is -20C and snowy in Canada, as I write this review I desperately want to go back...

Regarding service. I know this is a prickly point with the management and guests. The management hire locals for 95% of the operations. They teach them english, and introduce them to the service industry. As a result, do not expect streamlined European-style service. The staff are definitely friendly and helpful, but you will probably encounter language issues on occasion, and they won't have a sixth-sense for anticipating your comfort needs. This didn't bother us at all, in fact it was somewhat charming - at times. I think there is room for improvement here. Continued effort to improve service is needed if they want to approach 4* service, as you might expect in Phuket or Bangkok. Again, I need to stress this didn't affect our enjoyment. We did witness a couple frustrated and vocal European travellers... clearly they hadn't learned to relax yet :)

The setting is spectacular. The wildlife diverse. Tokay geckos on the walls at night, flying lizards leaping from palm trees in the day, monitor lizard living next to the pool, stunning butterflies floating through the air all day, hornbills, etcetc Wonderful. Regarding the sea: at first I was disappointed that, when the tide is out, the beach is unusable for swimming. We just used the pool when the sea was inconveniently out. And soon enough, the tide pushed the water back in and we swam in the warm, warm water. Don't expect to snorkel here - the clarity is poor; and if you do make the effort to swim to some rock outcrops, you will not see any exotic fish. We did take a longtail out to a "snorkelling" beach. This was a bit of a disappointment; that beach was overcrowded with tourists from other resorts, and again, the visibility was poor and variety of sea life limited. It was a nice trip out for a change of scenery, anyway.

We opted to pay the expensive 2500bht/pp fare to get back to the Phuket airport. By organizing transport ourselves too the resort, we ended up paying about 700bht/pp (two adults, one child). We decided to pay the resort's transfer fee on our return trip reasoning that we wanted to maximize our time at the resort and not stress over our return. If you are arriving at the Phuket airport I think the transfer fee is reasonable as they take care of you and your luggage the full trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear mskullcap,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write these kind and detailed words here on Tripadvisor.

It is delightful to read how much you enjoyed the nature in and around our resort and we are very happy that you were able to relax and enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you many fond memories from your Paradise-experience and send you many warm and sunny greetings from Koh Yao Noi.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing, from the moment we arrived I've never felt so happy and relaxed.

It's a bit of a trek from the UK, but it's worth it.

Food is amazing and service is great.

Get a room with a plunge pool at least, makes all the difference

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Gordon H,

Many thanks for your kind words here on Tripadvisor.

We are more than happy to read that you can relax to the fullest and that you are enjoying your stay with us that much.

Thank you again for the nice feedback and we wish you many more happy experiences at our resort.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

The location is what you imagine the paradise looks like. The combination of beach, sun, forest and fresh air allows you to find always the perfect place to be. Since the hotel cares about everything, you can absolutely relax. I you look for activities, the hotel offers you a bunch of excursions, wellness, yoga classes and even a thai cooking class.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Andreas L,

Thank you very much for your kind words here on Tripadvisor.

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed the service, weather and surroundings of our resort that much.

We hope to welcome you back at The Paradise in the close future and wish you many fond memories from your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We spent 3 days here at the end of Jan 14, and had a fantastic time. Our room, which was a standard studio had the view to die for, and to wake up to each morning. Not sure I would give it 5 stars as it is a bit, naturally, on the rustic side, but the charm of the place is definitely 5 star. It has all the amenities you need, cocktails on the beach, yoga, a pool for when the tide is out, room fully equipped and two good restaurants. Breakfast is up there with the best. They employ a lot of local staff so there's not a lot of polish, certainly in the meet and greet and you might think it is not that friendly. But it certainly turns out well. It is off the beaten track, but you can take a cab(dusty), or the boat as we did to the nearest village jetty and took a cab then. 800 baht for a 5 hour ride around the island , was well worth it. Or hire a scooter if you are there long enough.

Room Tip: Room 353 if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Richard G,

Thank you very much for your nice review here on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the view from your room that much but also that you were happy with your overall experience at The Paradise.

We wish you many fond memories of your stay with us and hope to welcome you back at the resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Five days of pure natural beauty. My first trip to Thailand did not disappoint. The hotel is lovely, Spa is very good, food is excellent. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient.

The room lacked a little something, I thought it was dated and too small for a family of four. Try to book a cabin high on the hill or right on the beech. There are too restaurants, one Thai and one western. The western one is overpriced and a lot of what they offer is available from the Thai restaurant at half the price. Avoid the buffet night, its pricy and the food is better in the Thai rest. Hotel beech is great when the tide is in, when its out they organise a boat trip to a better beech 20 min away (its fun)

Take the day trip to the caves in the Kayaks, it was beyond words. DO IT. Bring your good camera.

We hired quads from the hotel and drove around the island. The roads are challenging but not impossible. I taught my 12 yr old to drive them (me on the back) and he LOVED it. Go to je t'aime for lunch or even better dinner, its cheap and seafood is wow.

The landscapes in this area are just out of this world. Its exactly like its shown in the movie 'the Beech'. I could quite happily live there and just forget about the world (and I'm hyper active):-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the beech are pricy, try to book a top floor cabin on the hill behind the hotel. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Frankascanbe,

Thank you very much for reviewing here on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay at our resort that much and that we could provide a great first impression of Thailand. But also have to mention that most of our rooms do provide a king size bed and are designed for two people, some are with queensize bed and singlebed, designed for three people. Of course it is possible to put an additional daybed in but then the rooms are not that spacious anymore.

We wish you many fond memories of your vacation at the Paradise.

Kind regards,

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We loved this hotel for many reasons, as follows:-

Location - it is set on the edge of a jungle (where you can take a fantastic guided hike from the hotel) in beautiful terraced gardens, full of exotic flowers, trees and shrubs where hornbills fly and cicadas hum.
Note - It is far from the madding crowds, neon lights and commercialisation.

Views - across the garden terraces, through the palm trees to the beach and out to the azure blue waters of Phang Nga Bay with its unusual rock formations is absolutely breathtaking.

Rooms - Our room was at the top of the hill and we loved the walk up the many steps through the garden terraces. It had panoramic sliding windows, was large, light, beautifully tiled and with all modern comforts and a beautiful shady outdoor private terrace.
Note - for people who don't want an uphill walk there are many other beautiful rooms on the level or beside the beach and some with their own pools.

Restaurants - there are two, both set a little back from the beach in a magical setting, beautifully lit amongst the trees, overhead roof, open sides. One is the main restaurant with the most wonderful selection of everything imaginable for the breakfast buffet. This restaurant is open all day with an extremely extensive menu covering all tastes Thai and Western. The other restaurant has some amazing meat (Australian imported beef which my husband said was the best steak he'd ever had - Uk prices) and fresh sea food too. This restaurant had a more intimate setting with some individual rondavels for a more private/romantic dinner.

Beach - the beach is beautiful and there are plenty of sun loungers which are set amongst the palm trees, affording privacy and shade. The tide does go in and out obviously, but we always had a large part of the day with the tide in when it is lovely for swimming - clear warm blue water and sandy bottom. When the tide was out we enjoyed the beautiful swimming pool, or wandered amongst the fascinating rocky bed of the sea, rock pooling.
Note - if neither of these activities appeal, the hotel have a boat to take guests to other beaches in the bay.

Beach Bar - again in a dreamy setting with a happy hour between 5 - 6.00pm for cocktails, wine and beer - also with some superb live music on some evenings.

Transfer to the hotel - we made our own way there and thoroughly enjoyed the adventure by taxi from Khlong Jilad pier near Krabi to Thalen Pier, which was a very scenic journey. Then long tail boat from Thalen Pier to Tha Kao pier on Ko Yao Noi (again a scenic boat ride through Phang Nga bay) and then taxi (this is an open sided mini van) which first dropped some locals off in various villages and then took us to the Paradise hotel along the long dirt track. We loved this journey, we saw local villages, beautiful unspoilt countryside, rice paddy fields where buffalo and Ibis wandered and then the dirt track was comparable to a fun jeep safari, through rubber plantations and the edge of the jungle which was absolutely fascinating. It is a bit bumpy in places and we were covered in a light dust or bronzing powder as we called it, when we arrived, but it was worth it and soon washed off in the shower.

Note - we could have taken a long tail boat from Tha Kao pier to the Paradise hotel, but we wanted to see the interior of the island.

If this journey doesn't appeal then the hotel will collect guests from the nearest pier to their arrival airport and transfer them directly to the hotel by super swift speed boat. We chose to return to the airport by speed boat and what a wonderful experience that was - we zipped across the beautiful sea, past the limestone karsts, surveying the coast of Ko Yao Noi. It was an exhilarating, fabulously scenic trip which took us from the Paradise hotel jetty to the airport in Phuket in little over an hour and was worth every baht of the 2,500, for pure enjoyment and time saving efficiency.

Excursions - we took the island explorer and had a superb day boating around Phang Nga Bay visiting five different beaches/lagoon locations. Our guide Burs was a true professional taking care to point out all places of interest and got us to beaches before others arrived, so we could experience deserted islands and swim and snorkel in the most beautiful spots. Wherever we stopped he laid out beach mats and drinks and later a delicious picnic.

We also took the jungle hike with Burs and found ourselves on trails in the thick of the jungle surrounded by a maze of trees and plants we'd never seen before. it is a really fascinating walk which ends on a gorgeous sandy beach.

Staff - last but not least, I cannot rave enough about the staff. Before even booking our holiday we had such a warm feeling about the place from the Guest Relations Officer who was so helpful in answering my many questions.
Note - the hotel web site is extremely comprehensive with pictures of all room types and details of the various options for boat transfers and prices.

On arrival we were given such a warm welcome by the General Manager and his team of receptionists and porters and throughout our holiday every staff member we had the pleasure to meet was smiling, friendly and helpful.

This hotel certainly comes at the top of our list in hotel experiences and having stayed on many Caribbean and Maldivian islands, the magical location and views from this hotel top them all.

Thank you to all of the team at the Paradise for making our holiday such a memorable one.

Room Tip: We loved our room at the top of the hill, we enjoyed the walk up the steps and the spell binding vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Holidaymaker805,

Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review.

It was delightful to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you liked our facilities and services but also the surroundings of Phang Nga Bay.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back at The Paradise in the close future and wish you many fond memories of your stay with us.

Kind regards

Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa is away from the crowds, peaceful and quiet, only 1 hour from Phuket or Krabi, Thailand. It's a laid-back and close to nature setting perfect to relax and unwind on the 400 meter private beach, in the tropical spa and while practising yoga and meditation. Koh Yao Noi is unspoiled, largely untouched, set in lush tropical forest with a wonderful remote feel. The resort has 69 rooms, two restaurants and two bars. All of the exquisite rooms and villas are nestled in the tropical forest. They are spacious and private featuring a Thai style semi-outdoor shower and hollywood swing in the open sala living area. There are Jacuzzi studios and plunge pool deluxe rooms. The Pool Villas are just meters from the sea with a private pool and beach front garden. Or treat your self to the luxury of the Hilltop Pool Villa that has a large infinity pool with a spectacular view over Phang Nga Bay.The main restaurant of the Paradise Koh Yao is nestled in a covered area among palm trees with additional seating on the open beach, looking out on the beautiful bay. In this wonderful tropical setting you will enjoy outstanding Thai and Western cuisine. The restaurant offers a great variety of fresh seafood as well as changing buffets and a tasty a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Koh Yao Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Paradise Koh Yao Noi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.