We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"As good as it gets"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Albury, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"As good as it gets"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Firstly, we want to say thank you to all the wonderful staff at Paradise Koh Yao. In particular we would like to mention the ever present Nicole who time after time added to our whole experience. Tui, our amazing chef, was inspiring. The lovely lady who cooked our eggs with such enthusiasm, daily, it was infectious - great smile! Yang, the waiter who could make all things happen! Been, No and the other wonderful ladies who waited on us.
The resort itself, breathtaking, restful, well oiled, friendly and ever responsive to our needs. The activities were excellent and well worth the money. Also need to add that the complementary activities were also amazing!
Food was great - full of fresh and layered tastes. Good range of both Thai and Western for our needs.
The resort is located on the tip of a small island surrounded by jungle far away from the 'maddening crowd'. You can hire a long boat (skippered by a weathered local fisherman) to go to the other end of the island and make your way to the village.
The room - OMG! We had a villa on the beach with private plunge pool and all amenities were far above our expectations. (no mossie problem either). Massages were great too.
Thanks to everyone at Paradise for our 10/10 stay! Sean and Sally

Room Tip: If you can afford the upgrade go for the Villa, you are right on the beach. Other units are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sally P,

Thank you so much for this wondeful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is truly our greatest asset and we are so happy that you felt well taken care of.

Please come back soon as we would like to make your second stay as memorable as your first.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    165
    65
    42
    27
See reviews for
87
442
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in a plunge pool room. The view was unbeatable. We actually did a photo shoot here and the photos turned out amazing. I suggest that if you come here after visiting the mainland bring your supplies as its quite difficult to get access to the town as the resort is connected to the town by a dirt road only and the only way you can get to town is by boat or 4wd. Supplies and good are quite a lot dearing than the mainland but still acceptable. Their spa is very pretty but the massage is very substandard compared to the mainland especially when it's 3x the price!!
There's a whole lot to do if you want to join trips etc but at the resort itself there not much going on so if you are ok with lying around doing nothing all
Day that's perfect. But if you think you can walk to town and do some shopping everyday then think again this place is 100% for relaxing only.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Bellybellybelly,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I must agree with you, the scenery is amazing.

As we are a remote resort the prices here are a bit higher than you will find on the street in Phuket as everything has to be brought in by boat and this adds significantly to our costs. We, however do regular price surveys and we are on par and in many cases cheaper than other 4 star resorts on the islands and mainland.

We hope to see you back, maybe for another photo shoot.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had the best, best, best time at the Paradise Koh Yao. First impression was that the resort was a little "jaded" but as I looked a bit deeper I saw the hidden luxuries wherever I went. The beautifully folded hand-towels and the oil burner in the the public toilet behind the beach bar first caught my eye. Sounds silly, but that is what we women like! Our room wasn't ready, but no big deal. Drinks on the beach for us and I FINALLY was able to take a good look at the "Kohs' which I had only seen in pictures before. They reminded us of the Glasshouse Mountains on the Sunshine Coast, Qld. Our jacuzzi room was small but perfect. How we loved our warm bubbly bath. Our view looked out to the huge limestone cliff which I had seen on the website but that view was MINE! The people working there are the friendliest I have ever come across. Everyone greeted you with a beautiful smile which was so easy to return. Went on a few trips (and loved everyone one, especially the elephant trek) and met some amazing, interesting people on them. Every night we had dinner with other couples all who have now added to our life. We are very social people and loved the company but if that is not for you then so be it. Surreal doing a yoga class looking out to the ocean. I loved the snails, the frogs, the butterflies, the kayaking and the cocktails. I loved my lamp-lit walk back to our room. I loved my brekkie and the omelette lady. I loved the fact that a wedding took place on the beach the day we arrived and we were able to be part of it. All I can say is khob khun ka for a wonderful 9 days. If I have to have a negative, it is the rubbish that you find at low tide on and around the resort and the surrounding kohs. As I said to management I know it is not a fault of theirs, but all us Aussies would have been happy to have been given a plastic bag and helped do a bit of a clean up. I hope you love your stay there as much as we did. PS: Rainy season for us but it added to our wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites seem far more secluded than the standard rooms. Worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Carol F,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are most pleased that you had an unforgettable stay with us and that you especially enjoyed the hospitality received from our team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The only thing I could possibly find as a negative, would be the name of the place: "The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa". Surely "Paradise" would do as well. Partner & I spent a week & a bit there & had the best of times. Suites/villas are very well appointed, & even though there are a lot of them, somehow they seem to blend in with the landscape. Privacy was not a problem. We loved the indoor/outdoor shower arrangement & spent lots of time in the 'sala', fighting over who had the swing seat.
Food was plentiful & delicious. The breakfast buffet was simply amazing: think of something you might want for breakfast & chances are it was available. Standout would have to be the egg station. Have forgotten the lady's name but if visiting, having an omelet is a must do. Lunches & dinners were equally good, whether from the a la carte menu or one of the buffet style options. We mostly ate in the main restaurant, working our way through the fantastic Thai menu. We did however 'splash out' on our last night, at the Al Fresco restaurant. Food there was excellent. Have noticed some reviewers complaining of the prices – do think it a little unfair. Most of the Thai meals on the a la carte menu were around $10-12 Australian & even when we went to the pricier Al Fresco, my beautifully cooked steak & lobster dish was about $28 Australian: what we would expect to pay for a reasonable steak in a pub in Oz.
We can also put in a positive report on the activities. My gastric problems stopped me from attending the Island Hopping Tour but my partner went & she (& all the other attendees) raved about what a great time (& lunch) they had. I did participate in the Island Tour & that too was excellent: a great chance to get an insight into everyday Thai life. The lunch at the Seafood Restaurant (included in the package) was outstanding. Snorkelling was fun, as was the half day kayaking. Of course if you don't fancy leaving the resort, there is always the beautiful pool, & of course, the long stretch of beach. Oh. And the spa...
There was also the 'wildlife': the Oriental Pied hornbills flying in once or twice a day, the brilliant yellow & green frogs in (& on) the lily pond, skinks about the pool area, our 'resident' geckos, & the occasional sightings of the (extremely shy) monitor lizards. Even a hermit crab at the Beach Bar, determinedly on his way somewhere...
Best part though, in my opinion, would have to have been the people. From Nicole's initial greeting on the pontoon, right through the entire stay, we were made to feel so welcome. Everyone from the lovely Nicole, to the reception staff, the restaurant people, the spa staff, Yip & his compatriots at the activity centre – even to the gardeners & cleaning staff, there was always a ready smile & assistance if required.
No better example was shown when I managed to get a bit of 'Bangkok Belly' (well, Phuket more likely). There was a knock on the door & it was Nicole with some electrolytes, & the offer of anything else I might require. So typical & so deeply appreciated.
We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LordPeter,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. Once again the quality of our food, the setting and staff has made the difference and we have another happy customer.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything was perfect here, from the moment you are whisked away from the airport in a private speed boat, to the location, the beachside dining and the in room jacuzzi! We visited for Christmas 2012 and it was lovely to have a hot and sunny Christmas on the beach but with a hint of Christmas in the background with a Christmas Eve party and Turkey and the trimmings. The villa rooms are beautifully done, the restaurants have a good choice and are very good value for money. The pool is small but ideal (not too many kids here so no need for a large pool or slides etc). The private beach is the perfect size for the resort but we dod notice that once or twice there seemed a shortage of sun lounger beds given the amount of beach space. At low water the available swimming space in the sea is reduced by the rocks and shingle but that didn't really have much of an impact on our enjoyment; either swim at high to mid-tide or go in the swimming pool at low tide! The beach bar had a great atmosphere in the evening with a number of different singers/musicians that weren't too in your face, the selection of cocktails is pretty good and not over-priced. Bar service during the day is from a little shack by the pool or by the waiters who come along the beach to take orders. The Yoga hut at the far end of the beach is worth a visit even if you're not a Yoga regular, but those who are have a selection of classes they can attend. The Spa was very very nice and my wife went for 2 massages which she said were out of this world. There is quite a selection of tours to go on, we did the elephant ride (v good) and the cave kayaking (amazing). The Christmas Eve party saw a huge international buffet with live entertainment on the beach. I believe a similar thing happened for New Years Eve but we'd moved on by then. All in all, a fantastic hidden paradise and we'd love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear JamieFinlay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this very nice review. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed christmas with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile


We had an unforgettable time at the Paradise. After traveling all over Thailand, this was the highlight of our journey. The staff went out of their way and we felt welcome at all times. The food was delicious and the fruit shakes were just divine. Considering that they have to ship everything in and out, the prices for drinks and food are reasonable.

The Paradise offers remoteness and quietness. It’s the perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries. If you want to party, stay at Patong.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Flueck,

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor, it's so nice to hear that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us.

We hope to see you back at paradise in the future and hope you have many wonderful memories of your visit.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

See 'Loved it' 9 August. Agree with everything. Our stay surpassed our expectations. The setting is magical and pretty laid back. Meals great, yes more expensive than street stalls on the mainland but worth it. Thanks to all staff led by Swiss Hiotel management student Nicole who was everywhere keeping an eye on things and helping out when needed. Our island-hopping day with Yip and Mee was a highlight, as was the village excursion. Both highly recommended. The floral decoration on our bed wishing us a happy anniversary was very special and much appreciated. Despite some concerns from previous comments on Trip Advisor about gasto problems we were fine. I could go on and on. Don't go if you are after noisy nightlife or lots of shopping. Do go if you want an unforgettable experience in Paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise_Koh_Yao, General Manager at The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Jildi12,

Thank you very much for such an amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could surprise you with the bed decoration.

I will pass on your very kind comments to the staff.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards
Yanni Claassen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 24 Moo 4, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa is away from the crowds, peaceful and quiet, only 1 hour from Phuket or Krabi, Thailand. It's a laid-back and close to nature setting perfect to relax and unwind on the 400 meter private beach, in the tropical spa and while practising yoga and meditation. Koh Yao Noi is unspoiled, largely untouched, set in lush tropical forest with a wonderful remote feel. The resort has 69 rooms, two restaurants and two bars. All of the exquisite rooms and villas are nestled in the tropical forest. They are spacious and private featuring a Thai style semi-outdoor shower and hollywood swing in the open sala living area. There are Jacuzzi studios and plunge pool deluxe rooms. The Pool Villas are just meters from the sea with a private pool and beach front garden. Or treat your self to the luxury of the Hilltop Pool Villa that has a large infinity pool with a spectacular view over Phang Nga Bay.The main restaurant of the Paradise Koh Yao is nestled in a covered area among palm trees with additional seating on the open beach, looking out on the beautiful bay. In this wonderful tropical setting you will enjoy outstanding Thai and Western cuisine. The restaurant offers a great variety of fresh seafood as well as changing buffets and a tasty a la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Koh Yao Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Paradise Koh Yao Noi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paradise Koh Yao Boutique Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.