We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but nice little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaguna Residence Restaurant

Villaguna Residence Restaurant
29/6 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand
+66 76 454 221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Ko Yao Noi
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet but nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We walked to villaguna from our hotel, we were the only people there so it was very quiet.

Huge menu, the pad Thai was pretty good. Chicken cashew stir fry was pretty average. We had a small lobster which cost close to $40, which was definitely overpriced and very overcooked.

Reccomend trying the Villaguna Special cocktail - packs a punch!

Staff very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced food, not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent the equivalent of 22 Australian dollars for lunch there. Let's just say that is the most we ever spent in Thailand or South East Asia for food. The quality / taste of the food was not worth it. The clear vegetable glass noodle soup was not fresh : the broth was made with instant powder. The papaya salad was average.
Much better food in the village. Just saying.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Villaguna is both a hotel and a restaurant but we thought it was one of our favorite restaurants even though we did not stay at this hotel. The food is fresh, delicious, there is a good variety of seafood and Thai specialties. We found items on the menu like papaya salad and mango sticky rice that were not served in other restaurants. The fish was swimming around in a tank just minutes before being served. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and the cocktails were quite good as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Dine on the beach with great views, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one week at Villaguna Residences, the name is a little confusing as it's more like a boutique resort. Breakfast was included at Villaguna Restaurant next door. The restaurant is owned and managed by Tung, a quiet man who is always at hand to ensure things run smoothly. We came to know the barmen, Tum and Anek quite well. The cocktails always a big hit. Anek never stopped smiling and is an absolute delight. Na, our waitress, was always there to make sure we were well looked after, from breakfast to after dinner drinks.
The food was always lovely but it's the genuinely friendly and welcoming feeling you get as soon as you walk into the restaurant that makes this place special.
They have tables overlooking the beach, we booked for dinner and the staff actually set up a beautiful candle lit table right on the sand.
Thank you Tung, Katay, Tum, Anek, Na and Kiki for maing us feel so special. It was sad to say goodbye.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoy the view, enjoy thai local food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Charming restaurant to enjoy the view with delicious dishes to consume without moderation, the cocktails are pretty good too

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villaguna Residence Restaurant also viewed

Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Villaguna Residence Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaguna Residence Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.