We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort to your Saves list
Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   52/3 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
3.5 of 5 stars 23 Reviews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised at the good reviews for this place -- perhaps we had a different experience because we arrived at the start of the down season. The bungalows are in a great location with spectacular views (not from the bungalows themselves), but they have the appearance of an American motel as they are all lined up. In the dark, I did not realize that they were in fact separate structures. We got one of the deluxe bungalows, and while basic and not at all charming, it would have been fine except that there were roaches (big ones and babies), mouse droppings over all the surfaces in the room, and as others have mentioned, the room was not very clean. One thing I love about many places in Asia is that the linens are crisp and clean, but the linens at Chukit felt and smelled as though they had not been washed. When I pulled back the covers, a little bug ran across the sheets. We would not have stayed except that we had arrived late, and I should stresd that we are not squeamish people. There are much better, more charming bungalows on the island for the same price or cheaper, and most are real bungalows. But, on the positive side, the AC was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's a basic place to stay. If you don't expect luxury than it's a good place for you.
The cleaning could be better but it was ok.

You get every day fresh water bottles.
They don't have beach towels but when we arrived we asked some extra towels and they didn't make a problem of it.
The staff is really helpful.

There are only 2 sockets and there's a gap under the door but we never were bitten by mosquito's.

We've stayed at the deluxe room with an extra bed for a 4 year old and I found the price of 2500 bath a bit overpriced for what it is.
But, I had looked for other places to stay at the island and if you want a swimming pool than it was the best place I could find that was not to expensive.

We hired a scooter (300 bath for 24 hours) and found this area the best on the island to stay at so we were happy with our resort choice.

There are a lot of restaurants and beach restaurants on walking distance with good prices (even open during low season).
At the beach restaurants you pay 60 bath for a Chang and 30 bath for a big bottle of water.
We didn't ate at the resort but the prices were like the other restaurants, 100-200 bath per dish and 120 bath for a big singha.

As others already said, breakfast is totaly not interesting.

We've paid 80 bath per person from the pier to the resort and when we left the staff gave us a ride back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms are nice and the cleaning is perfect and efficient. The Beds are good.

Breakfast is not really interesting.

There is a small pool which was a hit with our children, in spite of the small size.

The beach is much more beautiful if you go north. But the hotels up there are so much more expensive.

If you are in Koh Yao Noi for a resort experience, maybe it is not the best but if you are on the island to go around, I believe that Chukit is the best value, when travelling with kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night (Mar 12). Really nice people! Basically, I forgot my back pack in the speed boat that dropped us in Ko Yao Noi from Ao Nang. That bag had my passport! So you can imagine my stress! But the manger here was so nice that he called the boat company, made sure my bag was safe and went to the pier and picked it up on the boat's way back. He did this for free. Given that this place is quite cheap compared to other places on the island, don't expect many frills but the rooms are well equipped with all amenities including AC. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The bungalows here aren't fancy, but ours was comfy, clean, the beds/sheets were the most comfortable we had in Thailand, and the management is super nice. Your opinion will likely depend on your reference point. We were coming from Phi Phi, where we paid twice as much for a worse bungalow. There are cheaper places on the island for sure, but they didn't look nearly as nice.

It's true that Koh Yao Noi does not have Phi Phi's beaches, but we thought the island more than made up for this in several ways: amazing views of the karst scenery in Pha Nga Bay; access to Pha Nga Bay on tours that, because of your proximity, let you beat the crowds coming there from Phuket (but start early! We started at 8am); the lack of crowds on the island; the friendliness of the people; the ability to rent a moto and drive all around the island, which is very pretty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was extremely helpfull and kind in this medium class bungalow place.
Rent a moped and discover the island. And hire a longtail for seeing the surroundings.

Unfortunately the food at Chukit was more than boring. Luckily there are plenty of good restaurants at the island, so you don't have to eat at the hotel.

The island itself is located in a very interesting area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The island
We read some reviews of koa yao and thought it sounded worthy of a visit. If you don't like beaches then this is the place for you. A very chilled out island with not a lot to do but relax. If you type in "kao yao" beach into google you see beaches which you won't be able to access. These are on the north of the island and on a private resort. The beach outside the hotel is dirty, muddy and the sea is very uninviting and murky. There is also a lot of litter floating in the water as well as leaves. The best thing to do is go exploring on a moped. There is an amazing road which follows the west coast up to the north which offers some amazing views of the bay and a peaceful shoreline at the end of the road.

The hotel
Our first impressions for a hotel we paid £45 a night for were not good. Being valentines day I decided to treat my girlfriend and I to a deluxe room instead of a standard. If this was the deluxe I dread to think what the standard was like. The thing that annoyed me most was the quality of room for the price. This was the same price we paid for an amazing 4 star hotel along phuket's mai khoa beach, and the differences were very clear.

Everything in the room seemed to be roughly moulded from chunks of concrete which made the room look very odd. The television didn't work and the minibar was just a battered old fridge. The broshure also stated there was a room safe which was not to be found in a broken wardrobe. The bathroom was situated at the back of the room with no window or ventilation so the whole place smelt, with the bad lighting illuminating a very unwelcoming shower.

Because the beach was covered in litter we thought the pool may be our saving grace but it was tiny. Considering the hotel has well over 30 rooms a pool the size of one you'd expect in someone's garden was unacceptable.

Other reviews have mentioned how friendly the staff were and this was very true. The man at reception was more than happy to help and tell us about the island, but this happy outlook on life is probably due to him laughing all the way to the bank after we pay our room bill.

Overall the room was totally unacceptable for the price we paid, we even had to check we hadn't made a mistake by asking another couple how much they paid. We definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort

Address: 52/3 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute boat ride from Hong Island, home to a beautiful sandy beach, Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort features private and comfortable bungalows with balconies. It boasts an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Lading Island is within a 10-minute boat ride from Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort. James Bond Island and Phuket Town can be reached in a 1-hour boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.