We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on wonderful, quiet island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort

Save Saved
You added Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   52/3 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place on wonderful, quiet island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The bungalows here aren't fancy, but ours was comfy, clean, the beds/sheets were the most comfortable we had in Thailand, and the management is super nice. Your opinion will likely depend on your reference point. We were coming from Phi Phi, where we paid twice as much for a worse bungalow. There are cheaper places on the island for sure, but they didn't look nearly as nice.

It's true that Koh Yao Noi does not have Phi Phi's beaches, but we thought the island more than made up for this in several ways: amazing views of the karst scenery in Pha Nga Bay; access to Pha Nga Bay on tours that, because of your proximity, let you beat the crowds coming there from Phuket (but start early! We started at 8am); the lack of crowds on the island; the friendliness of the people; the ability to rent a moto and drive all around the island, which is very pretty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff was extremely helpfull and kind in this medium class bungalow place.
Rent a moped and discover the island. And hire a longtail for seeing the surroundings.

Unfortunately the food at Chukit was more than boring. Luckily there are plenty of good restaurants at the island, so you don't have to eat at the hotel.

The island itself is located in a very interesting area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The island
We read some reviews of koa yao and thought it sounded worthy of a visit. If you don't like beaches then this is the place for you. A very chilled out island with not a lot to do but relax. If you type in "kao yao" beach into google you see beaches which you won't be able to access. These are on the north of the island and on a private resort. The beach outside the hotel is dirty, muddy and the sea is very uninviting and murky. There is also a lot of litter floating in the water as well as leaves. The best thing to do is go exploring on a moped. There is an amazing road which follows the west coast up to the north which offers some amazing views of the bay and a peaceful shoreline at the end of the road.

The hotel
Our first impressions for a hotel we paid £45 a night for were not good. Being valentines day I decided to treat my girlfriend and I to a deluxe room instead of a standard. If this was the deluxe I dread to think what the standard was like. The thing that annoyed me most was the quality of room for the price. This was the same price we paid for an amazing 4 star hotel along phuket's mai khoa beach, and the differences were very clear.

Everything in the room seemed to be roughly moulded from chunks of concrete which made the room look very odd. The television didn't work and the minibar was just a battered old fridge. The broshure also stated there was a room safe which was not to be found in a broken wardrobe. The bathroom was situated at the back of the room with no window or ventilation so the whole place smelt, with the bad lighting illuminating a very unwelcoming shower.

Because the beach was covered in litter we thought the pool may be our saving grace but it was tiny. Considering the hotel has well over 30 rooms a pool the size of one you'd expect in someone's garden was unacceptable.

Other reviews have mentioned how friendly the staff were and this was very true. The man at reception was more than happy to help and tell us about the island, but this happy outlook on life is probably due to him laughing all the way to the bank after we pay our room bill.

Overall the room was totally unacceptable for the price we paid, we even had to check we hadn't made a mistake by asking another couple how much they paid. We definately wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Not much mid line accommodation here in Koh Tao Noi., so this place fits a niche. Room was clean, Thai style bath. Separate bungalow with porch is nice. The electricity was variable so the lights flickered a bit and the a/c strained during the day.
Good food and tours available nearby.
Recommend if within your budget.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location on Pasai Beach is probably the best on Koh Yao Noi, with easy access to an OK beach, several beach-front places to eat, and access to a whole island of other great stuff. Plan on renting a motor scooter (B300/day, rides 2 people) to explore the island and have more eating options.

The staff at the front desk are great.

However, the cement bungalows are a bit utilitarian -- I suppose they're more resistant to bugs and rot, but there's no charm. We got a 'deluxe' which has the advantage of a bit of privacy (and is worth it if the price isn't off-putting). The beach is pretty good for sitting, not great for swimming (but you can usually walk up the road 20-30 m for more sand); there should be more beach chairs on the beach (3 wasn't really enough), and the pool is useful only for getting wet -- after that, there's no shade (and the sun is hot).

The breakfast (included in the room rate) is just bad (eggs, a couple pieces of fruit, air-toast, a hot dog and a slice of is-it-ham) -- at least there should be an option for rice (it's Thailand) instead of air-toast, and some way to not have the saccharine-hotdog and slice-of-spam show up on the plate. For the size of the restaurant, no one eats dinner there -- probably for good reason.

Chukit needs new ideas for the restaurant/breakfast; otherwise it would be OK except for the value -- it's just not nice enough to be a luxury place, and the price is much higher than more simple bungalows on the island. Come with tempered expectations, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romilly70
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Koi Yao Noi is the most incredible place, so much slower in pace to neighbouring phuket; 4 days there felt like a month - in a good way!

We loved the resort, immaculately clean with manicured gardens. We had a superior garden bungalow near the back, so we were not overlooked.

The beach is across the road. It is not perfect white sand, but the views across the anadaman coastline make it a fantastic place to enjoy eating your breakfast or lunch. (We had breakfast - included - in the hotel and lunch across the road) Dinner was just down the street in Paradise cottages.

Initially you can feel a bit bored when you arrive as the pace of life is so slow. It is worh hiring a scooter, just to explore, but soon, you get into "Island Time".

Also did a boat trip to visit 3 of the neighbouring islands. I would recommend some kind of diving bootee / shoe as it is very rocky, but you can stand knee deep in water and feed the fish!

We travelled with our 2 year-old son and he had a brilliant time

Room Tip: Superior Bungalow with garden view, is not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the huts towards the back of the resort. Very clean and comfortable. The location isn't bad as the island is small enough and hiring a scooter is an enjoyable way to get around. Very peaceful and relaxing beach opposite the front. Pool was clean. Internet at reception. Didn't eat at the resort but there are some great local spots along the beach and around the way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort

Address: 52/3 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty lodging in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute boat ride from Hong Island, home to a beautiful sandy beach, Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort features private and comfortable bungalows with balconies. It boasts an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Lading Island is within a 10-minute boat ride from Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort. James Bond Island and Phuket Town can be reached in a 1-hour boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Yao Chukit Dachanan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.