We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Geared towards Yoga” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ulmar's Nature Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Yao Noi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ulmar's Nature Lodge
Save
You added Ulmar's Nature Lodge to your Saves list
Hat Tha Khao, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Geared towards Yoga”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ulmar's Nature Lodge is better known as Island Yoga, we hardly met anyone who knew what "Ulmar" or "Nature Lodge" was but knew what "Island Yoga" was.

We ended up here based on recommendations by Andaman Adventures (aka Andaman Sky travel company). All the rooms are individual bungalows, which is nice. Would recommend getting one with A/C. The rooms are basic, very basic. Towels, toilet paper, and drinking water is what is supplied. Bathrooms do not have AC (even in bungalows with AC), the concrete walls have slits in them with no screen or netting which allows bugs and lots of mosquitoes in. Highly recommend bringing mosquito spray/coils just for the bathrooms. Don't expect a fancy sink, nice toilet, or great water pressure--we're talking basics here--shower shoes might be a good idea. Linens in our bungalow were really old and stained but clean. The bungalows themselves are sturdy, well made, and roomy. They have their own porch and hammock, absolutely adorable. Bed was painfully rock hard, extra extra firm. The property is well maintained, lots of lovely foliage. The yoga studio is very very pretty. Overall think college-back packer style not over-packed suitcase tourist. No internet in the bungalows but very fast internet is available in the lounge/restaurant/office area.

Ulmars is definitely geared towards yoga guests as such even though breakfast is buffet style and runs from 7-10am or there abouts none of the main foods (french toasts, thai dishes, rice, etc.) are brought out until after 930am when the morning class ends. Before that only basics (bread, boiled and fried eggs, fruit, oatmeal, and coffee) are available. Not a big deal in general but it's a downer when all the tours require you to be ready at 9 or 9:30am.

Ning and her staff are kind and helpful. During our time there, Ning was the one who handled managing our day tours which was nice.

Ulmars is maybe a little less than a kilometer from La Luna (Italian restaurant). It is over 5km from the area of town called the Market (where 7-11, souvenir shops, etc.). It is less than 500 meters from one of the ports that you can conveniently take longtail tours out of.

Mopeds are the way to travel on island much more convenient and cheaper to rent from Ning each day to get around. Although no one seems to wear a helmet, get one. There was a very very bad moped accident during our time there and the person was not wearing a helmet...

Room Tip: Get a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Bungalows are spacious if basic. Bathrooms are a bit iffy.
The best part of this resort is Ning the owner who also cooks an amazing breakfast.
The main reason for staying here is the Yoga Studio, which has two classes a day and is amazing!
Overall we found the Yoga to be the best part, and eventually moved on and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

These are simple, inexpensive bungalows with a terraced area that has a deckchair and hammock. The larger bungalows have air conditioning. We booked a kayaking trip through Andaman Adventures and they met us at Phuket Airport and drove us to the ferry and brought us to the Lodge. Ning, the owner seemed to do all the organising from then on for our kayaking trips and she was very friendly and efficient. She and her sister are really lovely people. They also provided the delicious Thai food for our packed lunches when kayaking and for a truly amazing sunset barbeque. We were picked up at 5pm and taken to a longtail boat that sailed us off to a totally deserted island and set up a beach picnic for us. The guides then brought us barbequed prawns, chicken, fish and crab as well as desert in succession while we watched the sun go down and the moon rise seemingly just for us on our own island. We asked for properly spicy Thai food and Ning and her sister did not disappoint - it was delicious.

We weren't able to take part in the yoga classes because we were there in December and they were fully booked so they weren't accepting drop ins. The people we spoke to though seemed to be thoroughly enjoying them and we did join them for a "family meal" one night.

The island is quite hard to get around if you don't want to hire a motor scooter - Ning has them for hire. She will organise taxis for you though and most restaurants will call taxis for you too but they can get pricey. The restaurant with the view over the bay (don't know it's name but go to the top of the lane, turn right and it's on your left up some steep steps) was very good and friendly and serves alcohol. Ulmar Nature Lodge doesn't because Ning is Muslim (as are many of the island's residents).

The beach by the Lodge is good but the sea goes out quite far for most of the day and is shallow when it is in but it's a lovely spot for just sitting and gazing out to sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Best of both worlds - simple inexpensive friendly with aircon and ensuite. Ning is lovely and you feel part of the family; she will organise trips- the 3 of us had a longtail plus guide plus all food to take us around the islands all-day trip for about £36 . If you like yoga you can join the drop in classes . The beach here is mainly for walking - mangroves - but no less beautiful, especially at sunrise. Rent bikes and good swimming is 5 minutes away. If you want a lively bar go to the Pyramid bar along the next beach. To eat- Sea Gipsy and the restaurant up a slope opposite the turn for UNL were both great value and with lovely service. It's only a 1 hour boat ride from Phuket but its an escape from the brash commercialism to a way of life I feared had disappeared from Thailand Islands. There is some beach development on this stretch of coast but it seems mainly new bungalows . Go now before the hotels pop up .

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed at ulmar's nature lodge for 7 nights including the island yoga experience. I stayed in a delux bungalo looking out towards the beach. I was greated so warmly and immediatly fell into the pattern of things that ulmar's soonfelt like home. All the food is amazing. The muslie for breakfast is a favourite. The island is small and basic, as is ulmar's. it is truely a part of nature here. The yoga is a life enhancing experience. As long as you are open and free this is the best place to be.

Room Tip: If you do not enjoy a very basic lifestyle where there are limited shops near you and nature all aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ms. Ning was very helpful, get the air-con room unless you are really accustomed to the heat and humidity in Thailand. The rooms were nice and breakfast each morning was pretty good. I booked my tour through Andaman Sky and it was nice to have the guides meet me at the lodge each morning, the rock climbing and Deep water solo excursions were excellent on Koh Yao Noi. The island is quiet and a very relaxing place to be and a good location to head out on a variety of excursions.

Room Tip: Get air-con rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Ko Yao Noi was a great place - tranquil and beautiful island, very close to Ao Phang Nga national park.

Thai personnel at Ulmar was very kind - everyday they prepared us a excellent Thai breakfast (Pad Thai and delicious variations of sticky rice and local fruits). Since we traveled a lot, they always provided us with huge portions and bananas for snack.

The only minus is that we are not big "yoga and meditation fans" unlike all other guests in the resort. Yet we still had a lot to see on this lovely island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ulmar's Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulmar's Nature Lodge

Address: Hat Tha Khao, Ko Yao Noi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Ko Yao Noi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulmar's Nature Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.