We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sala

La Sala
Koyao Bay Pavilions, Lom Lae Beach | Koyao Bay Pavilions, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
+66 76 597 441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located on the south-eastern tip of the island, Koyao Bay Pavilions' restaurant is open to only a happy few guests from outside the resort, so make sure you book a table in advance. Serving authentic Thai cuisine and the freshest seafood, all prepared by talented cooks. Decent selection of cocktails and wines. Excellent desserts and ice creams.
fremantle Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Super food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

in a beautiful setting, run by really nice people.....breakfast was excellent too! wish I could eat there tonight....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Once you get down the winding bumpy road the dining experience is sensational.

We had a seafood feast, all cooked to perfection.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food we had in the whole of Thailand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great great tasty authentic Thai food! We were here for Christmas and had an amazing feast on Chirtsmas eve! Giant prawns, calamari, lobster - all of it was amazing! Wish we were back there! Highly highly highly recommenced!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best meal of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After a rather wet and bumpy scooter ride down a dirt track, we were welcomed to La Sala by Olivier and his wife. We were the only people dining there that night, but we were made to feel very welcome. The restaurant is open air (like nearly all the restaurants in Koh Yao Noi), and we were surrounded by a chorus of frogs and crickets (we found a frog in my husband's shoe when we left!). Tiny lizards act as personal mosquito repellants.

We went with Olivier's recommendations for our menu, and were very glad we did. We had the fried chicken cakes, prawns in tamarind paste and the steamed fish with soy, ginger and other herbs. Everything was absolutely perfect - especially the fish. Steamed fish doesn't sound super-exciting, but trust me - you've never had it like this before.

It's one of the more expensive dining options on the island, but it was still unbelievably good value in comparison to what the same standard of meal would cost at home.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“There is nothing better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have seen the evolution of "La Sala" over the last 7 years of staying at the Koyao Bay Pavilions.
Throughout this time it has gone from a small inhouse dining room / lounge to an intimate restaurant which is frequented not only by resort guests but by other visitors to the island.
We have tried a few other eating venues on the island, but for the last couple of years, we have not ventured past La Sala as it provides everything one could desire.
Firstly the ambiance - surrounded by beautiful gardens, ponds and a large rice paddy, there is a small sala where you can enjoy pre dinner drinks and discuss the days fresh ingredients with Olivier, the manager.
There is an extensive drink listing and we have managed to work our way through most of the cocktails:). Pair these with yummy freshy roasted cashews with lime, chili and salt and you have the perfect start to your dining experience.
The menu has something to please everyone - plenty of Thai dishes along with western favourites. It is the fusion dishes that really stand out tho.
One of our latest tries and now a firm favourite is the Seafood Casoulet. A mixture of seafood, oild, basil, rosemary and vegies - it was to die for.
Another new favourite are the Thai Chicken Cakes with the delicious zing of lime. And of course we always have the local crab and mantis shrimp along with fresh morning glory sauted in the yummiest garlic butter you will find anywhere.
Take the time and plan ahead if you are going to visit. Just give them a ring and tell them what you would like and they will get it in for you straight from the fisherman or grower- cannot get fresher than that.
Otherwise, Olivier will make great suggestions based on what they already have on hand - still fresh for the day. The chefs there are great at making something special for you.
They will also set up a lovely intimate dinner on the beach if that is your desire.
Even better, book yourselves into one of the pavilions here and then you will have a memorable eating experience for breakfast, lunch and dinner - Just like we do:)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sala also viewed

Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to La Sala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.