We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smyros Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poulithra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smyros Resort
Poulithra 223 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Poulithra
Reigate
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at Smyros for a week (July 2012), and couldn't have been made more welcome. The standard of the hotel was excellent, very clean, good sized rooms and great views. The hotel setting was idylic, and the views from the pool just couldn't be better. Very little English spoken at the hotel but all the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel did lack a decent guide of things to do locally & where to go, but it didn't take us long to work this out. The chef is very good, try the scorpion fish, the kitchen was spotless and wines reasonable. Just down in the local beach area there is a good choice of places to eat, all of them good. We would love to return in the not too distant future. Kevin & Dawn (London, England)

Room Tip: All rooms looked good but we stayed on the top floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Beautiful located hotel in a wild mountainous and genuine greek area.
Very pleasent personnel.
Newly build hotel well integrated in the area and site.
Small harbour just next to it.
The village of Leonidio with its charming shops and traditional local products,as well as modern facilities, is 5 minutes a way by car.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited the resort with a large group of friends from Athens and our young children. The resort is not close to Athens and the road to Poulithra has a lot of turns. Hence, the place may not be an ideal destination for short (weekend) breaks. The resort itself is excellent. The location is beautiful, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the kids loved the swimming pool. The prices were reasonable and breakfast was good but not exceptional. On the negative side, the beaches close to the hotel are below average by Greek standards and the hotel was probably understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful view, very nice spacious rooms, excellent services, very clean, lovely staff.
The restaurant is very nice, too
The owner is a wonderful person, totally repsects his guests. .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A hard-to-get blend of friendly and professional staff, got to know everybody else in that small hotel, and in a couple of days we all became a group of friends. Great good price restaurant with local chef, expert in the local main product ("eggplant var. "tsakonili"). Nearby town of Leonidio worth visiting, 1st ever traditional settlement dessignated in Greece, heart of the local dialect (tsakoniki). Nice pool and pool bar, just above the waves, ideal for a night drink. Wonderful and pure Mediterranean landscape.

Room Tip: All rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a lovely place to stay - though it is a 4 hour car journey from Athens :-( Reasonably priced rooms (a double cost around £100 per night with breakfast).
The breakfast here is not entirely inspiring - though fabulous greek yoghurt with honey saved the day. It is a pity as the food at this hotel is excellent. I ate a cheese stuffed burger for dinner whilst there. It was home made and one of the best burgers I've ever had. Ditto my friends dinners were also excellent.
The hotel owner is a lovely man who puts himself out to help his guests.
The real treat at this hotel is that it stands on the edge of a bay with the most stunning coastline and transluscent sea below. A small jetty allows you to enter the sea if you are brave enough to negotiate a ladder. That wasn't for me but some people swam and it looked glorious. I stuck to the very pretty, clean and well catered pool. The pool staff were great - bringing little nibbles/bread/cheese with the beer to keep me sober! Top tip, go to the pool area after dinner for drinks, the moon lights up the bay. Romantic for couples and very nice for friends sharing a drink.
Overall this resort has a good and well deserved reputation in Leonidio as a great place to stay. There are small things which would make it even better (wifi, a boat connection from Athens, an easier route into the sea, a little more cooked items for breakfast), save for these I wouldn't change a thing!

Room Tip: Speak to the owner - lovely man who is incredibly helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a wonderful experience. It's in a perfect location - at the end of a long road, within walking distance of delicious eateries, with views of the Aegean from every guest room. The architecture and design are authentic and elegant. A generous buffet breakfast on the big porch every morning started the day perfectly. Try the yogurt with honey!! The pool has lovely terraces overlooking the Aegean, and a "secret" path down to a private watering hole. Diving into the sea will be one of our favorite memories. The staff is friendly, and we managed to make our language differences work. Smyros Resort feels like a Greek Bed and Breakfast: personal, intimate, beautiful, and relaxing.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same, but we liked the second floor - nice tall loft ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smyros Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smyros Resort

Address: Poulithra 223 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Poulithra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Poulithra
Also Known As:
Smyros Hotel Poulithra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smyros Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Smyros Resort to your Saves list