We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort
Save
You added Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Watamu Coast Road | Watamu National Marine Park, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Gurgaon, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I am completely taken aback with this wonderful stay of mine in Watamu Aqurius Beach Resort.
Amazing and very friendly Staff with the right ambience and great food at the restaurants.
More touched with the beautiful people there greeting you all the time you are there.
Enjoyed the creativity of the staff and how they entertain the guests.
Am happy to share my experince since it is a memorable trip of my life.
Surely recommend the resort for more travellers to experience the wonderful part of kenya.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Pool near Sea Beach are quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    469
    160
    71
    40
See reviews for
104
564
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Castelfiorentino, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything one can dream off for a romantic dinner out in Kenya! Great food (we had the mixed grill), lovely atmosphere, right on the beach. Staff is really nice and do their best to make you feel comfortable. One of our best dining expereinces in Watamu!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Targoviste, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I can say that the maasais on the beach speak more english than the staff of the hotel. So if you don't speak italian don;t go there. The food is ok, also if you're an italian. very few african dishes or even iternational.
The major problem was with the sleep. You can't get any because it's always noisy. People come and go all the time and the maids wake up at 3-4 am to clean after those who just left.
The bar closes at 11 pm and they don't even let the water supply for the night, that's pretty cheap of them considering we paid 800 euros/person.
The animators always have better things to do, like lazing around and if they see you don't speak italian they don't really bother.
The only personas who kept us company were the masais who act as watch guards on the beach, they have low education, but they speak better english :))
Overall we got home more tired than we arrived, the hotel is a fiasco, impressive when you come along but the sopa bubble burst as soon as you get installed.
The rooms are ok, clean, the AC works only when in the room (they have a thing attached on the entrance key and that makes the AC work) so if you leave for the day you come back to a very hot room.
The beach is ok, clean, too little space for how big the hotel is.
I don;t recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Room 3, the AC works without the little key trick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had to pay R2000.00 more per person as it was "High season" what a lie. 2/3 of the hotel was closed. No bars open, one pool & a very basic restaurant. No TV, No internet. We paid for all inclusive which was to cover local drinks & cool drinks. We could get a local beer during means, no wine & no spirits. Nothing bottled was allowed so we were left with water from a cooler & flat coke from a 2l bottle. When I asked for coke light - not available. South African wines that cost R30.00 in SA were offered for R170.00. Local beers were 5x the price from a supermarket nearby. They have signs saying that you may not bring your own drinks into the room. The ice machines were switched off. They had a list of cocktails available but could not make any as they did not have the stock. They advertise that it is a private beach - well it was covered by locals all trying to sell you drugs & their local junk. I asked about them and was told that they were 7th Day Adventists from the Hotel next door - absolute rubbish as it was closed. A sugar supplement was not available nor was tea or coffee available all day. They advertise entertainment - there was not even a bar open - no music ever. All the guests complained but all we got was "We are closing soon". All the guests complained about the sewerage smell but nothing was done. All signs are in Italian. The food was the same stuff everyday & the same grilled steaks and fish were out for 4 days. No cereal for breakfast, never any sweets at supper - no fridges no ice-cream. A lot of the guests ended up with stomach problems because the same food was kept for days - even fish, pork & chicken. No pizza was available as the oven was used to warm & cook the food. This made all the food smell the same & of wood. We lived on pasta for the week. They had no idea how to make a omelet and if you asked for fried eggs they were rock hard and brown. So breakfast was breads & fruit. Coffee from a urn that was topped up at lunch time & supper - boiled old coffee beans. There was NO manager available for the week

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I will start with the simple words: we have been ROBBED in the room WHILE WE ARE SLEEPING.
The management dont give any support and the prefer to hide this problem because they couldnt manage.
We have been stolen following: laptop, photo camera , money aprox 300 eur and our bag with beach little things.
hotel management did not try to make the slightest effort, police or both, the resort is guarded in their opinion, but in reality could come anybody.In same evening it was robbed at the same floor, another room near ours, were stolen mobilephones.
Our vacation was a total fiasco, all employees of the reception and event management tried to hide it and did not pay any compensation, and they did not receive our complaint.
If you want a quiet and leasant holiday DONT CHOOSE AQUARIUS BEACH RESORT WATAMU!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquebrune Cap Martin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

The hotel and rooms were properly cleaned every day as well as outside, gardens, beach and swimming pools. Concerning the food, the buffet was different every day and very good taste. Staff friendly and helpful.
January and Frebruary are the best months to visit kenya. Be informed that during these month, dry seasons, you do not really need to take Malarone treatment. Repellent is enough as there are not so much mosquitoes.
If you are interested in doing a Safari you can contact Thomas Mboya on facebook, we had a wonderful time with him!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Italian mass tourism at its worse, you feel like you are in the outskirts of Rome. We were moved around by the owner and ended up in the staff quarters over the electric generator. the owners were so rude. What a shame! The location is stunning, the beach is wonderful. The staff are all locals who have been trained to speak in Italian to the tourists, so they always speak Italian, quite surreal. If youwant to see Kenya avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort

Address: Watamu Coast Road | Watamu National Marine Park, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Watamu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Aquarius Watamu Beach Hotel Watamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.