We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Watamu
Nanyuki, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been to this hotel twice now and it is fantastic for families. The rooms are spacious and clean and the facilities are super for all the families. The buffet meals are plentiful for hungry teenagers and the activities are never ending, all a must when travelling with a teenage family. The private beach area is beautiful and the hotel bar service excellent. The all inclusive option is wonderful on this sort of holiday and we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    147
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
213
262
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Staff were wonderful food was lovely plenty of it . Hotel was very clean. If you want a lovely place to stay close to tsavo west safari I would suggest sovereign camp it was wonderful a great experience .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a lovely hotel the staff so welcoming and helpful always smiling faces. The rooms excellent in all aspects. The beach beautiful with lovely sand. A few beach sellers trying to make a living and sometimes very pushy but they're entitled to live as best they can.
Almost constant warm wind keeping you cool under the canopy of Palm trees.
The manager is respected and liked by his staff nothing is too much trouble he had a conscientious attitude to his customers with people returning year on year because it is so good.
Book the hotel and flights seperate Kenya airways will do transfers to a little local airport from Nairobi or a two hour bus journey from Mombasa.
The dive school on the beach is very respectable and the staff more than helpful. A little on the expensive side when you have to pay the marine park tax of twenty dollars per day on top or dive cost. Not the clearest of water because of the wind but always warm at 27deg
Yes I will definately go back and do a safari whilst there only a two hour flight to the Masai Mara and well worth the extra

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our 1st visit to TBBC with friends who have been several times before. Other reviews say plenty about the lovely staff and good points about the Hotel and surroundings which lived upto and beyond all expectations. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first stop of 6 different hotels on this holiday and chosen by our travel company as the main purpose of our visit here was scuba diving, After a 2 hour journey from mombasa was greeted at 2am with refreshing towels and a drink by very friendly staff and taken to our rooms although we requested a ground floor room was given a first floor room after pointing out the error they apologised and said would move us first thing in the morning but we were happy with the room so stayed put. the service from the staff was first class with them knowing your names after 1 day, we loved the quiet pool and waiters came round frequently to check if you required drinks or needed you sunbed moving !! The food was superb with the soups outstanding and plenty of choice. The entertainment put on by the hotel was excellent and the gardens were well maintained and beautiful. The dive school was very well run and onsite and the diving was brilliant with pristine reefs and huge shoals of fish and only our dive boat out there and after going to the red sea for 15 years and seeing it decline rapidly this is the place for diving and very easy with the boat pulling up to the beach for you to get on. In conclusion I would say this is a superb hotel but if you want 5 * luxury and upmarket rooms then look elsewhere but if you are happy go lucky travellers like us you will love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We have just returned for our second visit to TBBC after a period of 8 years. The hotel has not changed from its very good/very friendly resort standards that we remembered. The friendly staff are one of the hotels best assets, and would bend over backwards to help. We found that the lunches in the buffet were better than the evening dinners there,as they tried to have better cuts of meat etc. at dinners and we are more used to light meals. The only drawback that we found from the previous holiday were the disco nights, which thankfully stopped at midnight. We found the boom boom of the bass very annoying if you wanted an early night.
Our holiday was for bird watching [localy],snorkeling and relaxing.In the village behind the resort, we found that from our previous holiday that a lot of building has been going on [mansions -not local houses] and that they have built right up to the "Wishing Rock" in the village [ not the piddly one on the beach] . This meant that a good birding area was lost. However, on the snorkeling side, we found some good spots for coral and big fish which we did not find on our last holiday.
On the whole we might not consider returning and the only reason is the "disco" noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lamu room as they are less noisy from 11 to 12 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Don't be put off by the 3 1/2 to 4 star rating of this hotel. Well deserving of a 4 star.
Food was freshly prepared, a wide variety to suit all tastes - far superior to the usual all inclusive fodder. Bananas to die for!!!!
Staff were attentive, but not pushy. All genuinely friendly.
We only used the main pool, which was clean, not too busy or noisy . We took advantage of the free aqua aerobics & water polo.
We had an ocean front room - well worth the extra - stunning beach and ocean. Attentive waiter service to the sun beds.
Overall, a lovely relaxing stay. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean front - the sunrise over the Indian Ocean is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.