We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anothere great xmas and new year at TBBC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Watamu
yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Anothere great xmas and new year at TBBC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Not long back from two weeks to TBBC our 3rd visit over Xmas and new year
having not been back for 3 years and it is still as good as ever
it was nice to meet all our friends again from repeat guests to the staff and also, the lads on the beach.and friends in watamu.
once again we made use of the bicycles at TBBC visiting mida creek .watamu village .timboni and gedi this helps to work off some of that lovely food,
a big thanks to john and Alex chefs also Ratibu, Hamishi, Ali and Christine drinks waiters derrick and harry sun beds not forgetting wendo 1st class barman
we also went on safari to the goveners camp Masai Mara a fantastic camp seeing lots of game
we booked this back in England using again Raymond kingi from kingi safaris.com excellent service right down to our request for room 35 Savannah view
thanks a lot again turtle bay we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    148
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
214
262
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Its popularity with East African expats says it all, as they should know best. Well run, efficient and amazing for a three star hotel. Friendly German run diving although being in a marine reserve means that snorkelling off the beach is also pretty good if you know where to go.

Room Tip: The main block nearest the beach and evening entertainment can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the staff and given refreshments along with a cold flannel which was great after our long transfer on the coach! The reception area is wonderful and has a real African atmosphere to it which I loved. Staff members carried our luggage up to our room. They were friendly but they then hang around waiting for a tip which I wasn't so keen on..I found this happened a lot on the safari too. Even if you don't want your bag carried they are still adament to take them.

The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. They get cleaned every day and they always did a fantastic job. We were on the 3rd floor and had a balcony overlooking the pool area/ocean view which was great.

I personally thought the food was above average. I liked the buffet style at the poolside restaurant. Always a different variety each night. The deserts however weren't that great and I avoided them.

I would 100% recommend the blue turtle a la carte restaurant. We booked it for the night of my 21st bday and it was such a treat! Lobster was to die for. My boyfriend had the prawns which were freshly caught that morning..no words can describe how big they were!

The poolside staff make extra special effort to get to know you. Always making sure your drinks are topped up and that you are enjoying your day- Hamish, Ratibu, Kadenge but especially Ali... A very hard working, friendly and attentive colleague who is a credit to turtle bay.

Overall amazing holiday :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

my wife and I, my son, daughter and two friends who have a farm stc !! stayed at this hotel for 10 days 22nd December to 1st January 2014. we had 3 lamu rooms. they were very clean and the beds very comfortable, the rooms were cleaned every day. it was nice to see the manager taking a hands on role, he was to be seen every day of our stay and was very approachable and helpful. it is unusual to see the manager of a hotel of this size at all. well done Damien keep up the good work. several of the guests had stayed at the hotel previously, some several times which is a good sign. the other good sign is that some of the staff have been there for 20 years.
the food of which there is plenty, is excellent and lots of choice. there is two pools, one a large family pool the other an adults (quiet pool ? ). the pools were cleaned every day and were always clean, the waiters would take your orders and serve you with drinks by the pool on a regular basis. the beach and sea was clean with security guards always on patrol. there were beach sellers but they didn't bother us too much.
the staff at this hotel were a credit to it they couldn't have made our stay anymore enjoyable. from Damien the manager who was always on hand, we had derrick the pool man, ali the waiter (keep him Damien ), ratibu and hamish the waiters and sabine in marketing.
during our stay we all went out on quad bikes and also ventured out into the town in a tuk tuk we all felt safe and enjoyed our experience. we all loved this hotel and would recommend it and return to it as soon as we can.

Room Tip: lamu rooms are very good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We first visited Turtle Bay in 2006. It was going to be a one off holiday. After the first week I knew we would be back sooner and returned the following year. In 2008 our holiday was cancelled due to problems after the elections but thankfully all became peaceful again and we returned later in that year. This year we decided not to go but missed it so much that we have just booked for 2 weeks in July, I'm told there is more rain then but I'll be home that's more important than the weather to us. This is down to the hotel or rather the staff, it's the only place that I truly can relax in. So thank you, everyone we'll see you in July.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We returned on 17/12 from our 2 week stay at the TBBC and have had a fantastic time. Can't say enough good things about this hotel!

We were welcomed on our first afternoon by Damien, the GM, who gave us a quick rundown of the hotel layout, tours and answered any of our questions. We then bumped into Damien every couple of days and he always stopped for a chat and to see how our holiday was going.

We stayed in one of the standard rooms, which was more than adequate for our stay, plenty of room, nice balcony overlooking the pool area and kept spotlessly clean.

We did a couple of trips during our stay, as well as a 3 day safari (booked with JT safaris). The 'Sundowner' Dow trip, booked through the hotel, was very relaxing and a good way to wind down from a hard days sunbathing.

We visited all 3 restaurants, and the food was great in all off them. There was a great variety of food at both lunch and dinner buffets, with soups to die for. I didn't expect to be in 30+ degrees and wanting soup everyday, but they were all delicious and a must have every day. The Blue Turtle restaurant served absolutely stunning seafood (top marks for the lobster bisque and seafood chowder), so good we visited 3 times - each time equally as delicious.

The beach is beautiful, (a bit too much seaweed for my liking, but this is only down to the tides and the time of year), with the usual beach boys trying to make a living! They do take no for an answer and are happy just to chat and learn from you.

However, the best thing about this hotel is the staff! They are the friendliest,happiest bunch of people who will do anything to make your holiday better! This was our first visit to TBBC, but we were made to feel like old friends...our names had been learnt within hours of us arriving. We often came back from a dip in the sea/pool to find drinks waiting for us.

The fun base team work hard to make your holiday enjoyable, and their enthusiasm make you want to join in with them - we looked forward to our daily aqua aerobics, water polo and volleyball. High praise indeed from a couple who usually spend 2 weeks glued to our sun beds!

All in all, this turned out to be one of our best holidays! We can't wait to return, and will definitely be looking to book again next year. Damien, you should be very proud of your hotel and your excellent staff!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We arrived at TBBC expecting a brilliant holiday as we have been reading the reviews for several months and all (except a very few hard to please people) were great. Needless to say, we were not disappointed. We went for my 50th birthday and the staff made it extra special. The resort was really lovely especially the beach area. We had drinks brought to us whenever we wanted them and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We knew that there is quite high number of re-visitors but even though it was our first time at TBBC we were treated just as special. A special thanks to Hammish who looked after us at the restaurant and on the beach, Maurice who cleaned our room and not to forget Hare who made sure we had our sunbeds every morning. Tipping is appreciated but by no means expected. The food was of a high standand with a very good choice, catering for every taste. Even though the Blue Turtle Restaurant is not in the all inclusive package it is very reasonable and worth every penny. All in all, we had an amazing holiday and can't wait to go back hopefully in the very near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.