We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lie back and enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Watamu
Moroto, Uganda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lie back and enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have been to Turtle Bay Beach Club numerous times and have seen our children grow up through the kids club and yet still we were all happy to return once again. Now our kids have basically left home, but one was still excited to join us at Turtle Bay over the Easter Holidays. I think the attraction is that you don't have to think about anything - food, drinks, sports, entertainments, etc, etc it is all just there for taking and it is all wonderful! Whether you are young or old, able or less able, the staff of Turtle Bay are always on hand to make sure that your particular need/want is met. It is a struggle to get up, but I would encourage you to do so... not only to work off a few of the accumulated calories through participating in the daily aqua-aerobics, but also to venture beyond the confines of the resort - perhaps a walk up the beach to Watamu village or a cycle down to the wildlife centres of A Rocha and the Turtle Watch Project (just opposite each other and perhaps 2km cycle ride from Turtle Bay. The reason I do not score 5 is because, although we did get a very attractive discount after some negotiation, the price is not the exceptional value it used to be, you have to pay extra for the wireless Wifi access and the evening entertainments seem to have got stuck in a time warp. Of course, only repeaters would know about such things, but when a good number of the resorts clients are repeaters - often residents of East Africa - then the hotel should never relax on its past laurels. We will return to Turtle Bay and have recommended the resort to numerous people and I do the same to you!

Room Tip: If you rest early then try and get a room further away from the entertainments area. The disco alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    148
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
214
262
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna,Bc
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, good food. Met people that had been here 20 times. We will certainly be back, we came from BC, Canada.The hotel is Eco friendly, supports local schools and a special school in Gede for children with disabilities. ARocha a Christian enviromental group close by, excellent bird watching.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lamu rooms more suitable for singles and couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with fantastic staff. Great service, people have complained about slow service at the pool side. This all depends on what fast looks like and as others have said there is no rush here: not expected, a small tip can over come your need for an instant top up for your drink.
No TV's in the room (and my wife would tell you I need a TV), this was not an issue at all, it makes for a better holiday and you then need to speak to your other half!!!!!!!!!

My only improvement suggestion would be to provide free Wi-Fi access, even if only in the lobby areas, we paid for access and had a number of issues, which whilst resolved, people are increasing becoming accustomed to having internet provided free of charge.

A great time and thanks to the staff!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had our first holiday at Turtle Bay Beach club returning to the UK 16.03.13 and have already booked to go back. The hotel staff are the best I have ever met, the hotel is very comfortable, the food superb, fantastic pools and beach, overall the best holiday ever, I can understand why people return year after year, went on safari and did several trips booked through the hotel also went on a couple of trips with the local lads from the beach, Mr small, Thomas and Anthony had a fantastic time with them as well. I can't praise this hotel highly enough well done all keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Positives: Wonderful wonderful staff who try very hard, beautiful grounds and very clean.
Negatives: majority of guests have created an atmosphere that is inappropriate.
Two thirds of the guests are elderly 60 (+) and at times it feels like a retirement village that you have inadvertently stumbled across, but with a perverted twist, due to the regular appearance of nervous young African women in the evening at meal times that would either join elderly (white) couples or old men. who clearly aren't comfortable at all but are glad of a meal. My husband thought they were just friends until he witnessed one couple stroking a girl's face and the husband then pushed his finger in her mouth. Wrong.
I understand that across the globe this kind of business operates in hotels, but it makes me very uncomfortable and angry.
Any trips booked through the hotel are too expensive; a trip to Gede cost us $50 but in reality it was only a taxi and 200 shillings to get in.
The rooms are tired as are many of the buildings and they need refreshing.
The setting, the staff and the beach make it a wonderful resort if you are doing lots of other things too and ignore the gangs of OAP'S

Room Tip: for privacy have a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor reviewer,
As a hotel we were most disturbed to read your report of 'nervous young African women' frequenting the hotel in the evenings as we are totally against this kind of tourism on our premises. We are a family hotel that prides itself on its wholesome values and we have rules and regulations in place to prevent such kinds of practice developing. We are also pro-actively involved in local campaigns within the community that aim to discourage the local youth from engaging in or encouraging such activities. In light of your comments and observations which we have investigated exhaustively we shall be stepping up our monitoring of guests that purchase passes to come into the hotel in the evenings.
Thank you for taking the time to point these issues out to us as this is not something we would ever wish to encourage nor is it something that has been a feature of Turtle Bay in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HORLEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a big game fishing holiday with 2 friends,great hotel,most friendly staff you could ever wish to meet, could not do enough for you, food excellent,good clean rooms,great gardens,pools and beach,all in all a great good value hotel,will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have just returned from TBBC, and what a place. Absolutely fantastic. Lovely, lovely people, fantastic food, fantastic location. I can't fault anything about my holiday. I can now fully understand why so many people return time and time again.

Room Tip: I had an ocean view room in "A" block, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.