We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at TBBC and spent 3 days during the stay on safari.

Main resort - we felt that the layout of the resort was good and the grounds were well maintained.

Rooms - we stayed in oceanfront rooms which were advertised as recently renovated. We did not feel this was the case.. Accommodation overall is basic which is fine because let's face it you aren't there to stay in your room all day.

Beach - a plus for the resort is that there is a private beach that leads onto the public beach. This prevents the beach boys hassling you all day long as they are not allowed access to the private beach.

Sunbeds - well, where do I start ! We were completely and utterly embarrassed by the behaviour of individuals , mainly returners, regarding sunbeds ! Firstly , there are plenty of sunbeds and the hotel has a clear policy that they cannot be reserved yet people leave items on the beds at night and early morning ( we are talking 6am,) in order to reserve them. On our first full day we went out fairly early( to use not reserve beds) and both us and our friends used sunbeds outside the oceanfront rooms that did not have any items on them...........the commotion this caused was unbelievable and more to the point were we're embarrassed by the behaviour (loud comments etc) of the British guests that had 'lost' their sunbeds and the other guests joined in the 'loud comments' and 'dirty looks'! This then resulted in beds being reserved and people being up extra early to make see they didn't lose them the next day! We were in Kenya not Spain !!! We can't be doing with behaviour like that so moved to another area the beach . Through talking to others this was not the only 'incident' and there was a general feeling the returners thought they were above all the rules .

Restaurant - food was ok, nothing special and not very varied. The salads and rolls were put out well in advance of the evening meal which concerned us as it meant flies were all over it. We stopped eating it once we realised and stuck to the hot food that was covered. We ate in the pizza restaurant and blue turtle both of which were good and a nice change to the main restaurant.

Service - in general the staff cannot do enough for you however restaurant service for drinks was very slow on most days.

Pools- 2 pools both of which are good and well maintained. The first week there were a few families with children so the main pool was in use quite a bit but once they had gone the main pool was fairly quiet. The adult pool is very quiet but had the same issue with people 'reserving sunbeds'.

People are clearly attracted to this resort given the large number of returners who have been going back for years and years - just observing whilst we were there we would put the average age of the majority of guests at 60yrs plus - clearly no issue with that but it does impact on the feel and experience of the resort. Very few younger couples.

Overall we would rate the holiday as average in terms of the accommodation and overall experience (excluding the safari which was fabulous).. It won't stand out as a holiday for us and we won't become returners. We have returned to other resorts before but this one just did not have anything special that would draw us back and to be honest the behaviour we witnessed was just embarrassing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    157
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
224
272
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We returned this Christmas and New year for our 15th visit in 19 years! Didn't make it last year and were amazed at how many staff have noticed our absence and sort us out to check we were ok and happy to be back. We have been lucky enough to holiday throughout the world but here the friendly staff, good food and excellent dive centre make this one of our favourite places to return to. Don't be put off by the transfer time it is well worth it.
Like going to family for christmas without the arguments, cooking and washing up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I spend about six months of the year living at Turtle Bay Beach Club, need I say any more !!! Staff are all out personal friends and they are just fantastic. Please also get out and about during your stay, don,t listen to the silly people who will tell you it is not safe, it is more safe than most of the places in the UK. You haven,t been to Kenya if you just spend your time in the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first visit and first time all inclusive. The welcome drink and flannel were very much appreciated by all. The General Manager, Damian, was on hand to welcome us and made sure we were taken to our rooms and given an overview of the hotel. We were in a Lama room as I had requested no stairs due to a knee problem. Fantastic room and right by the quiet pool. We spent the Christmas week either on the loungers, laid out every day with fresh towels by Harrah, or in the pool. Having read various Trip Advisor reports we booked a Dolphin spotting and snorkeling trip with "Cyrus" on the beach. He was determined we would see dolphins and persevered until we did!! The hotel did the same trip on the same day and gave up looking so we were pleased to go with a local. Food was great and so much!! Wide choice and i especially loved the barbecued lobsters. All the staff were there to help and any problems were sorted asap. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant are noisy due to the disco. However it does stop at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Drove from Mombasa city all the way to Watamu where the hotel is located.The entire road is a tarmac all -weather road and so there is no issue of dust,etc.The Watamu area is a tourist beach destination with several hotels and lies approx 100 kilometers from Mombasa City.One does get a feel of security from the main gate of the hotel with adequate sentries posted.This was the same at the hotels beach frontage to ward of harrasment from beachboys selling their curios or wanting to sell game parks safaris to hotel guests.I was impressed with the porters who were quick to serve us from the vehicle parking bay before check in .The welcome drink was served at check in time and within a few minutes we were done .Staff were cheerful,courteous and gave you a feeling of "being at home".We checked in under the "all inclusive" arrangement which was quite reasonable compared to the hotels standard and in a peak season.The charge was approx USD 220 double a night. I realised later this all inclusive arrangement will push to the limits guests who are on diet resistance to temptation:the poolside beach bar served unrestricted food and drinks throughout! With the friendly waiters urging you to have some more !The room was spotlessly clean,with airconditioning and a balcony facing the beach.A safe deposit box was provided in the room.Toilets were clean and toiletries,shampooes,etc well stocked.The room had a fridge ,with a hot water machine with coffee/tea satchets provided.The bed had a mosquito net provided although we never got to see any mosquitoes.What was lacking in the rooms was a flatscreen TV. The hotel boasts of 2 beach side swimming pools large enough to accomodate guests considering that bookings were full.What impressed me most was that the hotel entertainment staff had various games for the kids throughout the day and early evening.The kids games were done in a separate area thus not disturbing the tranquility of the adult guests.All meals were buffet with a wide range to choose from and it was delicious.The beach frontage has sunbeds for those wishing to sunbath. In the evenings there was local entertainment.One thing that stands out is that the children can not be bored in this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms next to the beach give a better seaview and proximity to the swimming pool ,bar and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the turtle bay over christmas and new year.

We all had a great time,the food is excellent and management and staff are amazing.

Right from the General manager Damian who is ever smiling, front office staff to the chefs,house keeping,and other staff all always try their best to make their guests comfortable.

We forgot a bunch of keys in the safe of the room and called Moses who straight away courioured it to us to Nairobi.

The Sundowner dhow was also an amazing experience, i would highly recommend it to anybody visiting Watamu.

All in all we had a pleasant stay at the Turtle Bay Beach Club and would definitely go back.

Alimohamed Family... Nairobi

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited Turtle Bay Beach Club in November / December 2012. This was our second visit (first visited last year) and we had a fabulous holiday. It was every bit as good as last year.

We travelled with Thomson this time - the flight was better than we expected! We arrived at Mombasa rather tired and then had to endure the usual 2 1/2 hour journey to Turtle Bay. We had forgotten how bad the journey actually is (hot and bumpy) although as soon as you arrive, you forget.

We were welcomed by Damian, the general manager and staff with a chilled orange juice and cold towel. Check in is swift and easy - no hanging around in queues here as there are enough staff to welcome everyone and complete the process.

As repeaters, we were upgraded to a Lamu room - lovely location overlooking the gardens and quiet pool, with a great view of the sea from the balcony. The room was fresh and spotlessly clean. If we're being picky, we'd say that the bathroom could do with some updating and renovation, but it was pefectly acceptable and also spotlessly clean.

All rooms have a free safe - we left ours open one day and Joseph, our housekeeper, searched around high and low for us to tell us. Thank you Joseph.

Some of the staff remembered us from last year and within minutes we felt totally at home. The food was excellent - a good variety for all tastes - and if you didn't fancy anything on offer, they'd prepare you something else. The cocktails were also excellent, a good variety and all included in the deal. If you so wish, you could eat and drink from the time you get up to the time you go to bed!

The hotel is beautifully kept - it's spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout the pool and public areas. It was incredibly hot when we were there and we very much welcomed the pool guys preparing our sunbeds every day in the shade under the trees.

This year, we went out and about a bit more than last year - down to see Julius, the wood carver, and also out into Watamu. We felt totally safe everywhere we went.

The beach boys were better this year, not quite as 'intrusive' as our last visit. One really sad thing is the story about the shops down on the beach. The story we were told is that they were bulldozed because the management of the new apartments next door thought they were an eyesore. You should hang your heads in shame!

The hotel is really fantastic, the food is good, you'd never go hungry! But what really makes this place are the staff. Every single one of them, from the gardeners, the chefs, the boutique, the cashier, reception, housekeeping, pool boys and waiters to the management team - nothing was ever too much trouble. All they want is for you to enjoy your holiday so that you can recommend to others or come back yourselves.

Turtle Bay is our new home from home. Thank you for an amzing holiday. See you next time!

Alison and Mark

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#7 Family Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.