We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jambo!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Watamu
croydon
1 review
“Jambo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I returned a couple of weeks ago from a 2 week stay with my fiance, dad and 10 year old daughter. This is not a 5 star plus hotel but then i dont have Simon Cowells money. What you do get is value for money. After reading some of these reviews I am wandering if we stayed in the same hotel. The staff are fantastic here I am not a returning customer was made to feel as special, big mention to Eric, Denis, James, Mumbo Jambo Rambo, Hamish and Daniel etc. The food here is of good quality, there isnt hundreds of dishes but there is choice and it tastes like food at home. The hotel is clean and offers tea and coffee 24hours.
I never stay in the same place twice as there is so much of the world to see but i would mind if i hate to stay here again.
The only negatives I had ere the transfer time from hotel and the fact that there is no tv or fridge in the rooms.
You will enjoy we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    409
    134
    39
    10
    8
See reviews for
195
245
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

TBBC is set on a lovely beach, has really friendly staff with the occasional sourpuss. We had a lovely complimentary anniv dinner at the ala carte restaurant, service was great and they were very accommodating of our 2 under 5s. Buffet is outstanding for its meats but otherwise nothing to write home about. Desserts ok no appropriate serving equipment for cake,so there's always a gooey messy fork which guests are expected to use to slice and serve cake. The pizza restaurant is great be sure to try it. On the other hand I had issues with the following housekeeping though friendly are not thorough at all, we had to call them back on day one. On the second day room was not cleaned because according to reception priority was rooms where new guests were checking in that day.On day three our little boy woke up to a drenched bed thanks to AC breaking down. It took three calls before maintenance finally showed up to tinker with it. Repair held up to 6th night when luckily I had the sound of dripping and took my son out of his bed and escaped with only a wet sleeve. The thing that clouded our stay the most was the near drowning incidence. Hotel had no lifeguards that day but sure enough they showed up the next day. Even worse they have no oxygen or equipment to perform cpr i.e. a mask and bag. I understand that these are legal requirements by the ministry of tourism in Kenya.TBBC are you waiting to be reported before taking appropriate action? Irrespective of how far away the doctor or ambulance is, first responders are trained to offer life support for as long as necessary until help arrives or patient passes on. This hotel has no facilities to do this,its a miracle the little boy did not die especially because he was submerged for more than 5minutes before a guest accidentally noticed him. Safety is an issue at turtle bay and I would not recommend it for this reason,also beware of the playground, the slide has no barrier at the top and a fall of 4-5 feet fair enough onto sand but injury still likely. There's a kids activity center with jugged broken drawer. TBBC I really think you ought to pull up your socks and get with it,you have a responsibility to ensure guest safety. Even the most careful can have accidents. I won't be returning unless I see some positive improvements and comments on safety via tripadvisor

Room Tip: Ground floor great if you have little ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We have noted your comments and contructive observations about certain aspects of our food and beverage service and we should look to improve on these as a result. Regarding your air conditioner problem we are very sorry that it took three calls before the technician came to your assistance and what is more that you had the problem in the first place.

With regards to the unfortunate incident with the young boy, who has by the way made a complete recovery, following his near drowning there are a few things that we should clarify. We do not provide lifeguards at the pool and have large signs up to advise all clientele to this effect. As a result of this incident we detailed additional Kids Club and fun base staff to assist in monitoring the children's behaviour in and around the pool. The responsibility for the children in the pool still remains that of their primary carer. The reason for extra personnel was that the child involved had eaten from the afternoon pancake buffet and jumped straight into the pool which was, in part, the cause of the accident, We therefore realised that we must take greater control of the childrens behaviour around the pool. These would be the staff you referred to as the " life guards who showed up the next day".
With regards to having no staff trained in CPR etc. there were at least 7 members of staff at the scene who had been trained in basic CPR as recently as October 2012. At the time of the incident the two first responders who took control were however vastly more experienced than any trained first aider from our staff as one was a medic on a fire crew from Jersey and the other was crew from a helicopter rescue team and both had multiple practical experiences in dealing with such incidences and they were subsequently joined by two US naval medics. In such a situation my staff would obviously defer to a more experienced individual. In addition the hotel provided much of the equipment provided although our oxygen bottle was, at the time of the incident, being used elsewhere and we had to procur another bottle from a neighbouring hotel. As an additional precaution we have now made additional bottles and oxygen delivery equipment available at the pool side as well as re-equipping the trauma kit that was already in position. We have also noted the two other items in the funbase and the playgound that you mentioned and we will look to ensure that these are safe for the children. We hope this allays your concerns as we do wish to offer the safest possible environment for our guests and we apprecaite your feedback. Thank you and we hope to see you back at the Hotel for a sfae and pleasant stay at some stage in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went to Turtle Bay in July 2012 and again now in December. We enjoyed it so much the first time, we didn't waste any time in going back again - this time for a little bit longer. The service is always excellent from everyone including food and beverage staff around the pool to friendly room attendants. The food is truly delicious and varied but I would think that after a week it would start getting repetitious. My husband is vegetarian and there was always something for him to eat. The kids club is excellent at rounding up kids and encouraging them to take part in varied activities from Marco Polo in the pool to sandcastle competitions on the beach. And the points that you (kids and adults!) are given for taking part in activities seems to be a good incentive!
The heat in December is is probably the only reason I wouldnt return again at this time of year, and in fact it is sooo relaxing, that I found 7 days just perfect and wouldn't stay for longer. We did a snorkelling and dolphin watching excursion which we booked through one of the beach boys and it was really really excellent. The snorkelling was top quality and we were so lucky to see dolphins and actually get a chance to swim with them. We all loved it.
We witnessesd a few very grumpy guests who were trying to get checked in pre-lunch time on both occassions we were there. So this is clearly an area that needs to be worked on. But this didn't affect us at all, so doesn't impact my personal review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are just back after a 3 week stay at TBBC, 24/11/12 - 15/12/12.

I still think this is the best of the best in Kenya, it's only rated as a 3 star because it is a club hotel, without the word 'club' it would more than likely get a 4 star rating.

We stayed in a Lamu room L26 this time which was fine, the Lamu rooms are getting upgraded in May 2013.

I did check the room out for a rusty shower curtain rail or cracks in the wall plaster and fluff under the bed which seems to 'ruin' so many moaning Brits holidays - trip advisor is a magnet for the mentally unstable British holiday makers who shouldn't be allowed out of the house never mind into a country so lovely as Kenya.

We met a lot of old friends and a couple of new ones - Sue and Paul who seemed to love TBBC so much that they wrote a reveiw while they were still there.

The staff at TBBC are superb as is the management.

Our third week saw an implosion of Kenyan guests, the schools are on holiday now, these people both African Kenyans and Asian Kenyans love to have fun and try to take part in all the activities and their kids are so well behaved - not at all like the British Brats.

If you go to Kenya even though the goverment is totally corrupt and rip tourists off left, right and centre then go to TBBC and have a superb holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was a return visitor to Turtle Bay this December after a 5 year break and was very excited to be back. The whole experience turned out to be a complete disappointment however. Average rooms, a monotonous menu (terrible dessert!), less than helpful staff and little choice by way of entertainment (a clichéd offering of traditional dancers and off-key bands playing music from 3 decades ago)! Worst of all, a young boy nearly drowned on our last evening there and the resort was COMPLETELY unprepared to respond to the situation - no doctor on call, no basic first aid / emergency kit, no ambulance on standby etc. Were it not for the intervention (and equipment) of two doctors and some US military personnel among the guests, that little boy would surely be dead. As the parent to two children under 5, I was horrified at the ineptness (and helplessness) of hotel staff. I WILL NOT BE RETURNING!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDGM63, Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Contributor,
We are sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations and we shall review closely the specific areas that you have highlighted as substandard. On the matter of the incident with the young boy who nearly drowned we do need to clarify a few of the points you raised.
'no doctor on call' there was a doctor on call who came and administered drugs however he had to come from Malindi where he was at the time of the incident which occured on a Sunday at 5 pm. Similarly the Ambulance which was called had to come from Malindi which it did and, after the child had been stabilised he was transferred by the Ambulance to hospital. We do have several members of staff in the area of the pool who have been trained in CPR as recently as October and we do have First Aid equipment on site which was used in the course of the boys treatment however the guests who were the first responders were far more experienced and therefore took control of the situation as were the Military personnel who also carried a very comprehensive medical kit with them. We will be reviewing our procedures and first aid inventory in relation to such incidences and upgrading them accordingly and additional training will be given to our staff. In such situations however we would always defer to the most experienced responder at the time. Once again we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I traveled with my family first at Hemingways (next door) then here at Turtle Bay. I regret "wasting" my time at Hemigways because here I got value for my money and the kids had so much fun. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I are currently staying in Room 322 in the Turtle Bay Beach Hotel and we wanted to write about our holiday experience so far since arriving on Saturday, 8th December.
Having travelled to Kenya many times over the past twelve years, for us this is the best experience we have had yet, upon our arrival with a welcome drink and cool flannel and the expeditious way we were checked in. Our room is the standard type, but so spacious and kept very clean, and has the bonus of a bath. The buffet style meals are all of a high standard with a wide selection for all tastes and the chefs are always willing to explain any dishes we are not sure of. All members of staff are so polite and helpful and they seem to have a gift for remembering guests' names. The General Manager - Damian - also introduced himself and we both found him friendly, engaging and was interested in hearing about our holiday experience so far.
All in all we highly recommend the Turtle Bay Beach Hotel and will add to this review on our return to the UK on 22nd December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#6 Family Hotel in Watamu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.