We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely board walk & a dhow cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mida Dhow

Mida Dhow
Mida Creek | Creek Road, Watamu 802020, Kenya
+254713662999
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Watamu
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Mida Dhow, is a unique fine dining experience aboard a floating restaurant. Sundowners - includes delicious bitings and cocktails as the sun goes down. Lunch safaris - sail along the mangrove lined Mida Creek and moor up for a swim until lunch when a superb menu of local seafood, upcountry meats and fresh fruit and Kenyan coffee is served. Dinner cruise - enjoy the spectacular sunset on Mida creek sipping a sundowner, then sit down to a delicious dinner under the East African night sky.
Malindi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely board walk & a dhow cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I love the numerous birds life at the mida creek and the lovely work that the community around this area that are involved in nature conservation,....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked the dhow for sundowners and nibbles on the occasion of my mums special birthday. The team looked after us so well and the setting could not have been more stunning or perfect. I would highly recommend a trip on this Dhow. Our family had a lot of fun and it truly is an incredible experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a great evening out on Mida Creek on this wonderful dhow. The only way to get a true African coastal sailing experience! We saw the most fantastic sunset and this was topped of by great service and wonderful food all at a very reasonable cost.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mangroves of the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had never seen a mangrove forest, and this is the place i got to see such and had the added privilege of riding on a dhow to move from "island to island" of mangroves. the sands there are pure white. very beautiful for holding a barbeque

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A romantic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is just an incredible experience, though make sure you ae well covered as mosquitos are a bit rampant, wonderful african adventure

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mida Dhow also viewed

 
Watamu, Coast Province
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Mida Dhow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mida Dhow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.