We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not child/family friendly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hemingways Resort

Save Saved
You added Hemingways Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hemingways Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 267, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Watamu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not child/family friendly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Below average place, not half the hype I'd been given before coming. If you want a holiday with children, definitely NOT the place to come. Hemmingways is not a child friendly hotel. It is however romantic so recommended for honeymooners.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Kwanjohi,

Thank you for your remarks. We appreciate your review and comment.

We do not have a children's club, but we ensure that all activities in the hotel such as snorkelling and excursions to Gede ruins and the dhow cruise, are interactive and can accommodate families as well. We regret that we did not meet your expectitions as far as the children's engagement is concerned.

Thank you for recommending us as a perfect holiday destination for honeymooners.

Let me know if there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us memorable.

Kind regards,
Anne
anne.murungi@hemingways-collection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    35
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
57
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

In a Marine Park where anchoring is controlled. Also if you visit during the period when the beach is covered in ankle deep seaweed it cannot be removed. During the season it is in the top 5 for deep sea fishing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Duck41,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

The Watamu beach is one of the most facsinating beach in the world. it was recently voted the best beach in Africa by CNN Travel.

During the Kuzi monsoon period between April and August; Watamu experiences stronger than normal winds and receives sea grass deposits on the beach. As this area is a United nations biosphere and National Marine Park, removal of the grass deposits from the beach is not possible. However, there are always clear areas dependent upon the wind and tides and Hemingways Watamu's water based activities such as snorkeling and canoeing are still scheduled. The dhow cruise as well as beach activites at Mida Creek are not interrupted either.

The beach is on the Marine park thus it is the best snorkeling spots on the Kenyan coast, and the fishing experience is remarkable.

I hope we are hosting you again soon.

Thanks and regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed at the Hemingways Resort june this year.

Staff was very friendly and kind, the restaurant offers great á la carte menues, which are changes every day. Breakfast was very tasty, you had multiple options in creating your own omelettes etc.

Sadly the beach was covered with a knee-deep layer of seaweed. But fortunatly you can go on a snorkeling trip offshore, with some fantastic corals and many colourfull fish.

I would definately stay at the Hemingways again.

Ps. You MUST taste their club-sandwich! It's the most tasty grilled sandwhich I've ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Phillip,

Thank you for the wonderful review.

Chef Omar is all smiles and guess what, I have having the club-sandwich for lunch today!

Your comment about the beach is very true. The Watamu beach is one of the most facsinating beach in the world. it was recently voted the best beach in Africa by CNN Travel.

During the Kuzi monsoon period between April and August; Watamu experiences stronger than normal winds and receives sea grass deposits on the beach. As this area is a United nations biosphere and National Marine Park, removal of the grass deposits from the beach is not possible. However, there are always clear areas dependent upon the wind and tides and Hemingways Watamu's water based activities such as snorkeling and canoeing are still scheduled. The dhow cruise as well as beach activites at Mida Creek are not interrupted either.

I hope we are hosting you and your friends again soon.

Thanks and regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falsterbo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was at Hemingways one week in October- November with my entire family.
We were 14, and we think we had the most wonderful week one can dream of.
The hotel is not less than perfect in every detail.
Tastefully made, expertedly run, friendly, clever staff, big beutiful rooms, wonderful food.
Dinner outdoor at the terass by the sea, still the best meal was the breakfast.
Comfortable sun chairs by the pool in the shade of parasolls or palm trees, every morning made ready for us, nice pools, swims in the sea even during low tide,
Never crowdy, never cueing for anything, nice fellow guests.
Calm family hotel
And the organized activities so good, the sunset on the dow was out of this world.
Yes, we were all in heaven that week
And we will go back as soon as possible !
Highly recommended
Gunilla Skarman

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the pool or the sea. Perfect service, flowers,aircondition always on ( if need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Gullina,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression, and made your holiday a lasting memory.

We look forward to hosting you again soon, and this time round, not only to Hemingways Watamu but also to Hemingways Nairobi, our 45 all suite boutique hotel in Karen area, Nairobi and Ol Seki Hemingways Mara, our 10 tents camp in the private Naboisho Conservancy.

Have a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our first trip to Africa, but not our last! This resort was every bit as good as I was told by friends who visited last year. The location is unbeatable, right on the beach, with stunning views onto the Indian Ocean, and a short beach walk to the village of Watamu and a superb ice cream parlour. The staff are the friendliest, and most helpfull we could have hoped for. Richard and George, stand out as perfect barstaff, but everyone was so helpfull. Three nights each week we had Kenyan groups entertain us in the restaurant and they were stunning! The swimming in the pools was always relaxing, and snorkelling off the rocks was superb, but beware the "beach boy's " wanting to show you around. They can be persistent, but a stern "no thank you" usually sees them off! An evening trip on the resorts own Dhow was memorable and the sunsets are every bit as memorable as we had read. We were lucky enough to visit Ol Seki safari lodge, and were amazed at how a camp can attain as high a standard as this.
If every holiday we took was as good as this we would consider ourselves lucky indeed!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the North Wing, but all rooms overlook the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Terry,

Thank you so much for the kind remarks about Ol Seki Hemingways Mara and Hemingways Watamu. We are glad we made a lasting impression on African hospitality on your first trip to Africa.

We shared your kind remarks to George and Richard. they have very fond memories of you! Let us know when you are planning your next trip to Kenya and we will be delighted to host you again.

Happy Holidays, and a prosperous 2013!!

Kind regards,

Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Indian Ocean on your door step - literally - two huge swimming pools - a fitness centre - a business centre - a fleet of beautifully equipped deep sea fishing boats - snorkeling in the coral gardens - sundowner cruises on an old Arab Dhow - wonderful staff - comfortable rooms - simple wholesome food - all for an acceptable price - all in the African sunshine just 3 degrees south of the equator - what more could you possibly want for the perfect beach holiday.
I have lost track of the number of times I have stayed here over the years, but Hemingways never fails to delight me.
Sure this IS Africa and not everything works perfectly all the time and sometimes even the best members of staff do not understand first time what is is you want, but everyone cares about your comfort and tries their hardest to give you a great time.
So chill out those of you with your trivial moans, let the relaxing atmosphere wash over you.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms in the new North Wing are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Grandtone,

We are always delighted to have you back. Thank you for the wonderful review.

Melinda, George, Jeff and Om have passed their warm regards and have shared your review with the team.

We look foward to having you back again. Happy Holidays!

Kind regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We just returned from our 4th trip to Hemingways. As usual it was a wonderfully relaxing trip. It was great to see the familiar faces of the staff and to catch up with some old acquaintances and make new ones.
The breakfast buffet is always good, lunch menu too. The evening dinner menus always carry great selections and the buffet evenings truly spoil you for choice.
Having fished most days and brought back dinner, the preparation in the kitchen, whether sashimi, grilled or blacked was superb, compliments to the chef and his staff as usual.
A special mention for the Dhow cruise which we only discovered on our last trip - a beautiful trip up Mida Creek, under sail, to witness the glorious burning sunset whilst being served the local specialty drink "Dawa" (you have to go to experience it so I wont spoil it for you here), and food grilled over coal on the move - and how they manage to produce such lovely snacks on an old barbecue, on the boat, continues to amaze me.
My thanks to all the staff and management that take such special care of us on every trip.
Thanks to Capt. Jackson who managed to allow me to play caveman and bring back dinner every night and also managed to give Seb his 18kg Wahoo, Emily her 25kg yellowfin tuna and Lauren her first sailfish - and no I dont mind being out-fished by the kids!
So, thanks all round for a truly great time, again and look forward to seeing you again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemingways C, Director of Sales at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
It was an honor to have you back at Hemingways Watamu.

We are glad you had a wonderful time and will pass your kind remarks and appreciation to Jackson as well.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks and regards,
Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hemingways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Resort

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hemingways Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hemingways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hemingways Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.