We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place for you if you want to feel spoiled and happy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel
Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya (Formerly Mawe Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best place for you if you want to feel spoiled and happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

During our first travel to Kenya, we came on recommendation of our friend to spend five days on the coast to this hotel situated directly over the coral rocks of the ocean. We heard only superlatives from our friend, but the hotel, it's management and staff widely did overpass any expectations we had. Family-like milieu, amazing unobtrusive service, great food and the luxurious but very simple designy rooms will make you want to stay for ever. Our stay was spiced by perfectly prepared trips we wished to undertake, like safari, dolphins watching, archelogical site visit. Thanks to Tina, the manager and Mohammed, our guide, we had an unforgettable stay...

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
90
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in February, after a 4 days Safari. We felt home right from the beginning.
Intimate place, few rooms and a dedicated Service with very friendly staff. Try the beach walk with Lucky :-)
Everything was excellent: the hotel, the people, the food, the managers.
We couldn't expect it any better, a small corner of paradise, so perfect that we could have stayed forever.

We can't wait to come back!!

Tina, Carlo: A big thank you for your warm welcome, for your kindness and for your availability all along the stay.

See you soon.

Nadine & Gerardo

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best hotel we have ever been so far, after 2 weeks here we felt like being part of a big family! The hotel is managed by Tina and Carlo, an Italian couple, they have been able to blend the Italian culture with the local one.. The room (#3 Tatu) was nice and very clean. I really loved the bed which was a king size and you could come out of the bedroom and have a nice couch with a coffee table to enjoy the stunning view of the Indian Ocean. The fact that the hotel has only 12 rooms and it was almost empty made us feel like we were very exclusive customers. I'd recommend to all the couples to go for a romantic night in the jacuzzi, which is above the restaurant. The food was very tasty and the staff has been trained to Italian standards, so they can't go wrong! The pool area was near the bar, so we've enjoyed drinking our Mojitos while in the pool. From the hotel you can easily access the beach below using the stairs when the tide is low. I'd also recommend to let the hotel organise your activities, such a riding the ATVs or going on a Safari, as you can get very good rates and make sure that the activity won't be a rip-off, as from my past experience in Thailand... Well done to Tina, Carlo and all the staff who made us feel like at home, hopefully we'll come back in the next few years!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once the doors opened, we went 'WOOOW' and felt like in an other world. A very beautiful, quiet hotel with great friendly staff! When entering the Room (no 3/TATU) we went once again 'WOOOW'! Perfectly clean, very nice design, huge bed, lot of space surrounded by an extremly large terrace and a lovely view over the Indian Ocean!
After 4 nights in that lovely hotel, we felt so comfortable, just like a home away from home that we decided to extend our stay by another 4 nights.
Many activities and attractions around. We went diving, wind surfing, and did a beautiful safari organized by the hotel at a very attractive price.
Since the hotel is rather small (12 rooms only), the atmosphere is extremely cosy, thanks to the staff and the managers Tina and Carlo who are always there for you and looking after you. It felt like nothing would have been impossible for them to make us feel good.
The food at the restaurant is very good offering a large choice of cold an hot dishes. Mainly italian and african food.
We would definately come back when visiting that awesome country again!

A big thanks to Tina, Carlo as well as their great staff for having made our stay unforgettable!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for 5 days over Christmas and enjoyed every minute. Beautiful location up on the rocks just a short walk from the sandy cove, fantastic food, really friendly staff and management, great pool, and very relaxing atmosphere. The best view in the house is sunset from the hot tub in the upstairs spa. If you are going on the quad bike safari, prepare to get very dirty!

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room - Veranda Ocean View Suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I do not rate a lot of hotels we've been to, but this one definitely deserves it... We stayed here with my parents and our two young children and it was great! Great rooms, stylish interiors, tasty food, good spa and very reasonable prices. We'll definitely come again and/or visit your other hotel in Watamu.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

I recently spent two nights at this amazing hotel peaceful lovely food really attentive polite and helpful staff . Amazing views highly recommend I will be going back for a much longer stay. Transport from Malindi Airport

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya (Formerly Mawe Resort)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design, St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms (8 Superiors and 4 Deluxe). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.