We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel
Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya (Formerly Mawe Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Bransgore Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

spent new year here ...fantastic resort with exceptional staff and service The food was great varied and well presented Only 12 rooms gives a real sense of personal service and nothing was too much trouble.
A truly great place to relax

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
82
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 12 room boutique hotel makes it very unique. The serene create an Ambiance that will make u feel on top of the world.
The view, the swimming pool that doubles up for a Jacuzzi, the massage parlour , will u b breathless n so relaxed. ..

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just spent 16 nights at Mawe and we loved every second. Tina and her crew are amazing. Lucky met us with a very warm welcome at the airport and his joy and friendliness only increased.
Eric took his office (pool area) very seriously and is the most delightful and helpful man.
Our room was excellent and beautiful little touches like writing messages in twigs on our bed!
We had a beautiful veranda with a stunning view where there was always a nice refreshing breeze.
I really got the feeling that no request would be too much for this special team of people.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Proprietario at St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mariatreloar,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to learn of your great experience with us in Watamu, specially knowing that our staff service and professionalism helped making your stay impeccable. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

An fantastic place to relax, rewind and just enjoy the quiet atmosphere overlooking the Indian Ocean. The staff have infectious smiles and very pleasant. The Boutique hotel is within distance of town centre has little restaurants and entertainment places. St. Thomas Mawe has its own night entertainment that is really good. A place worth a visit.

Room Tip: You experience an excellent view of the Ocean on the first floor rooms. All rooms have very good ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Proprietario at St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mary
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the time with us, it is for a great reward knowing that we were able to make your stay exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trip to Watamu.

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mawe on the recommendation of a friend and it was more than we expected. Staff are super helpful, rooms very clean and being next to the ocean you get some scenes to die for.
The restaurant food is also really good, very homely.
The owner took really good care of us, would totally recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Proprietario at St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Stevie
Thank you for your recent post on Tripadvisor, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your high expectations were met by our team and that everyone took great care of you. We do look forward to welcoming you back at the St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel Watamu very soon.

Gilberto Pezzotta
CEO
St. Thomas Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 via mobile

Realy a wonderful place. It was our first trip to Kenia (not planned at all, but because of a change in the flight schedule of Meridiana we were forced to look for an alternative destination) and we didn't regret it. Original plan was Zanzibar. Arriving at the little resort, there was a warm welcom (Kenian style) and a refreshing welcome cocktail. All people at the ttresort speak italian, what wondered me at first, but it din't took us long to find out that this whole region is "the Kenian Italian zone". We booked our trip at easyafrica (these people were realy helpful with our change of destination after the cancelled flight), since we live in Milano, so after all not so strange that we landed in this "italian community" since alot of italians still have problems speaking foreign languages.
The rooms are very clean and stylish, beautiful simple design and if you are located on the front side, wonderful seaview. The staff and the (he Italian, she British) realy do their best to make you feel at home. At home means Italy unfortunately, so focaccia and pasta for lunch, focaccia and pasta for dinner. Our idea of visiting foreign cultures however is also enjoying the food of the region. After a remark from our side, they realy did their best, for the rest of the stay the chef and his staff cooked the most wonderful Kenian dishes. Unfortunately the resort is located on a beach that is full of "beachboys". Local guys that start friendly conversations, but have only one goal.......get your money, and the friendly atmosphere can change in a more aggressive one within seconds. I must say that the staff realy good anticipates on these situations. Also at night, the security is on the beach side to prevent the guests from unwanted visitors. We booked a 2 day Safari also from the resort. Picked up at 5.00 am, for a 5 hour drive on what they call the highway, passing immense holes in the road, terrible car accidents and villages with the poorest people I have ever seen, destination Nguti Lodge. A private owned area, part of the Tsavo East National Park. Our driver, Mohammed, is the best guide you can imagine. This guy is capable to see the animals even before they know theirselves they have arrived in the region. We had 5 tours in the area, even one at night, and were able to see almost all we wanted. Zebras, Elephants, lot of Antilopes and their relatives, Turtles, Hawks and Eagles and Giraffes. And in the end, coming out of nothing, 5 lions.........first very relaxing, but also in full action chasing and........catching a little porc. Real wildlife, and only 3 meters away from our little Toyota van. Amazing........speachless........what an experience. Mohammed is clever, he uses his walky-talkie only if he is sure that the people in his van have taken the best pictures to warn the other vans in the neighbourhood. So they are always too late. Smart guy.
Resuming: very positive are the clean rooms, great restaurant and kitchen staff, barkeeper and most of all Eric, the man responsible for the pool and the garden. He has service in his genes, friendly, helpfull. A great guy. Negative aspects: apart from the hot water supply in the room that didn't work (and they didn't manage to solve this problem during our stay) and the CD of Sade playing day and night (I suppose the only one they have) there are no remarks. This resort is realy the number 1 in Wantamu.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful week in St Thomas Mawe. In spite of three days of rain, it was pretty much paradise. Staff were fantastic, the views stunning and rooms clean and comfortable. We only did the B&B option as it was nice to explore the town. Definitely recommend and thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel

Address: Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya (Formerly Mawe Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design, St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms (8 Superiors and 4 Deluxe). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.