We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what's written on the can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tembo Village Restaurant

Tembo Village Restaurant
Tourist Road | Tembo Village, Watamu 504, Kenya
+254 721 980840
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 25 restaurants in Watamu
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: African, European, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tembo Village Restaurant, is known many years for delicious Food. Our Specialities are Steaks and Seafood. The Restaurant is set in tropical Gardens, each Table with its own privacy. The African Style set up will give you the Holiday Atmosphaere while dinning and overlooking our Swimmingpool Pool.
Sligo, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not what's written on the can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Tembo Village over the New Year were disappointed that it did not live up to what their web site advertised.
While the accommodation and grounds are very nice. The restaurant has been closed for some time. Their web site still advertises a restaurant. They serve a minimal breakfast. For other meals you have to fend for yourself, which was difficult enough over the holiday. Hostess was not very helpful with information as to what were the attractions of the area. We got the impression that she would be happier if we just left her alone to look after herself and her family.

Brian O'Kelly
Ireland

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    20
    2
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Padre Island, Texas
1 review
“December Holiday 2012 - Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My Husband andi had such a wonderful time at Tembo Village resort - The accomodation is wonderful and the meals were wonderful. Peter and Bettina are such wonderful hosts - we will go back there again. this is a place worth visisting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Staying in Tembo has been such a fantastic experience accommodation was superb and to a high standard . each meal was cooked to perfection and not one bad word could be said .
The owners Peter and Bettina were superb hosts they were very friendly and gave their upmost to accommodate our needs . Peter , Bettina and their family ot only great hosts but became very good friends . We will return to Tembo in the near future and i strongly recommend this hotel to stay in .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great service and lovely restaurant. The staff are friendly and accommodating. It was a real pleasure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Can be really good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Been here a couple of times and sometimes the food can be excellent and sometimes.....however if you reserve for large groups to give them a chance to make a good impression, then this is a rather lovely place to have dinner.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tembo Village Restaurant also viewed

 
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Tembo Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tembo Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.