We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tembo Village Resort Watamu to your Saves list
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Watamu B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value for money B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a very good B&B for travellers who want their money well spent. We stayed in the rooms detached from the main building and these were clean and neat and rather aesthetically pleasing. Being a small B&B, the pool is not crowded and the gardens provide a lovely ambience.

Pros: The food is simply superb. Make sure you choose at the very minimum the Half Board option. I strongly recommend the crab bisque and the ginger fish. Bettina and her family add a personal touch to your stay and make you feel welcome. Their son went out of his way to arrange a snorkeling excursion for us.

Cons: A 10 min walk from the beach but a rather long walk from the nearest supermarket/grocery store. Salt water in the taps - terrible when you want a nice hot shower.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms in the main house. In addition, Tembo village seems to have recently added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    1
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
40
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

After three days on safari in Laikipia, we arrived in Watamu and Tembo Village on the 29th of dec. We stayed four days and four nights. The hotel was nice, and the staff kind and helpfull. We had a very nice room, with aircon. Lovely swimmingpool and great food. A truly lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Tembo Village is a lovely place to stay, It is run by Bettina who is German and her Kenyan husband Peter who are both absolutely lovely and excellent hosts. Their older children also help out.
I am not sure how many rooms there are but I believe that the capacity is about 25 people which is quite small but perfect if this is what you want. We arrived just before Christmas and for some of the days we were in fact the only guests which was quite good fun to have the whole place to ourselves.
The food at Tembo is excellent. I would describe it as really good home cooking, The Tiramisui we had on Christmas day was the best I had ever had. There is also a small but reasonably priced wine list.
The room we had was on the small side but this didn't matter as we were out most of the time. The rooms are very tastefully decorated. Our room didn't have air conditioning but the overhead fan was fine and we slept realy well. Tembo is in a really peacful location.
Tembo is about a 10-12 minute walk from the main village. The advantage if this is that you are away from the noise of the village and the walk in to town isn't unpleasant.
You can also walk to the nearest beach in about 10 minutes. You can shorten this is you can persuade the guard on the Alba hotel to let you through the hotel grounds! Just tell him you want to go to the dive centre and you will be allowed through!
Do remember that their are in fact several beaches at Watamu. The nearest to Tembo is Watamu beach but there is also Blue Lagoon Beach and Turtle Bay beach which really must be visisted as they are beautiful. It is s longish walk to Turtle Bay so you can get a tuk tuk for about 100 to 200 schillings.
Watamu village has a good little Itallian run supermarket and lots of little souveneir stalls. There are several ATM's but there only seems to be one that works for international credit cards and it sometimes runs out of money so make sure you have enough money. Don't get down to you last schilling before deciding to go to the bank! There is also an excellent ice cream shop and a couple of small Italian cafes and a few night clubs. There doesn't seem to be a "restaurant culture" in Watamu and I think this is because most people eat in their hotels.
I used two dive centres and would highly recommend Aqua Sports who are based at the Ocean Sports Hotel. They are a little bit more expensive than the others but are very professional and safety conscious.
Watamu felt very safe generally and the people are very friendly. Like any where thought just be street wise.
Anyway, back to Tembo. We had a really lovely time and I would definitely go back, It is as I siad a quiet and peaceful hotel and a lovely place to just chill out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

A great place for people who want to be away from all the hustle and bustle of the coast. Well trimmed garden, great service and good food. A little bit far from an access to the beach but excellent address for couples or large groups...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This resort for some reason is unknown to folks in the US. It is very popular with Italians however. I was the only person there at the time from the US. I believe most of the others were from Italy. They have a very nice pool. There is a nice beach on the Indian Ocean, but it is not very large. It is however private. The food was good served buffet style with usually three meat selections usually including at least one fish. One night I tried the Octopus. It is the first time I had ever eaten Octopus when it did not taste like rubber bands. There is both red and white wine and Tusker beer available on the buffet. During dinner there is live entertainment consisting of a guitar player or perhaps a clarinet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Tembo Village during the low season, in May 2011. Having a one-year old baby with us, we chose to go self-catering. The apartment was nice, very spacious, with two balconies - one overlooking the amazing swimming pool and the other at the entrance into the apartment overlooking an expanse of trees - and both had places to relax, from tables and chairs to a nice Swahili style day bed on the big balcony. The beds were super comfortable, the overhead fans made the nights cooler, and both bathrooms were quite nice. The master bathroom had a window with an amazing view. The kitchen had basic equipment, though some of the pots were quite old, and it was not well set up for coffee making (we are fine with boiled coffee, but none of the pots worked well for the purpose and there was no french press). The owner was very helpful, always pleasant and accommodating. A baby cot was provided at our request, which made us very happy. When we didn't feel like cooking, we ordered the food at the restaurant. The food was quite good. We ate dinners on our balcony a couple of times. The restaurant setting was very charming and had great ambiance.

Due to the low season, we were the only tenants most of our stay and the only other people that stayed there for a couple of days at the same time were our friends from Kisumu. We had the swimming pool to ourselves! It rained in the morning a couple of times - a warm gentle rain - and it was fun to swim in the pool even in the rain. The nearest beach was about 10 minutes away.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tembo Village and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Family run, very close to the best beach of Watamu, excellent food and a deep pool! Tembo village is a green resort with yellow rooms, and a high-standard restaurant, decorated nicely in the african style. If you search for a medium-size hotel, beautiful, with friendly staff and top class cuisine, Tembo Village is the place. Honestly, the area is full of gigantic hotels, with armies of tourists...who would enjoy factory-style accomodation in Kenya? Prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tembo Village Resort Watamu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.