We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food/service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Point Resort to your Saves list
Temple Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marine Park Rd, Watamu 80202, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor food/service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went there on the 31st December 2013 for 7 nights, the list is very long but all I will say the place is disappointing in every way apart from their animation team they were good as gold especially Judy, John and Toby.
First even though they are selling their rooms with as bathrooms but there are only shower rooms with need or serious modernisation, no mirror in the bedroom, no iron or iron board.
Food is very repetitive and 100% no chicken at evening meal, just mainly beef or lamb.
Breakfast nothing exciting just egg n pan cakes.
Talk about the management I found them arrogant and lacking people skills. They have a reserved table just for them selves and if anyone sits expected to be relocated, we saw 4 different guests sat there and got removed, only reason is that table is near the buffet.
Very disappointing, wouldn't be going there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Point R, Guest Relations Manager at Temple Point Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Hellojeee,
We feel sorry Hellojeee that we could not fulfill your expectations of a wonderful holiday.
First we appreciate that our animation team gave you a good time.
We kindly ask you to let us take a stand about the issues raised. At the moment we are doing more renovations and already finished with all of our bay view rooms. About the mirrors in the bedroom its a point noted and we promise to install them.

For the ironing we have our laundry staff who are always glad to give you the service needed.

Concerning our meals its a pity that we could not satisfy your expectation. The chef serves our guests with a huge diversity of different dishes on the buffets everyday......For example in the morning we serve a full English breakfast which also includes a variety of fresh fruits,cereals,sausages,toast,baked beans,sweet potatoes,arrow roots etc.

For dinner its live cooking everyday. Its unfortunate that you did not realize eg the tropical pineapple chicken, chicken curry,spicy grill chicken and many others among the different styles of cooking.

We apologize about the reserved table in the club house restaurant. At that time we had special guests who had requested to sit on that table next to the buffet.

We promise that all the above mentioned is given all the attention and all the necessary precautions taken. We look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely.
Guest relations manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    114
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
47
144
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sea view rooms does not meet the expectation. I guess I am used to an open balcony overlooking the sea and maybe sand around. Other standard rooms are much better value for money compared to what I was moved to as sea view. The grounds near the sea view rooms could do with some attention. Entertainment and food was good during our stay

Room Tip: No need to book sea view rooms...not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

There are a few places that can strike a balance between the service available against the needs of the client. Temple Point Resort is one of such places. During our stay, it was a cosy place with a range of outdoor activities in the lagoon and in the hotel. Just don't get into an argument with Mwikali during breakfast!. Watamu is a relatively quiet town. So for those who would like a break from the fast lane that other cities like Mombasa would offer, Watamu is the place. Gede Ruins is also a must see site - so full of history!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Everything in this resort was designed to make it one of the best hotels on the Kenyan coast (or may be it was some time in the past, I don't know) but now it gives an impression of abandonment. The rooms (the ones I saw) are big and comfortable but need small repairwork here and there, the grounds are not taken proper care of, rubbish everywhere, poolside beds are old, breakfast and dinner were good, cannot complain, staff is O.K. Located more on the Mida Creek side with access to a small beach, which dries out at low tide, making one walk pretty far to the ocean front with its magnificent long white sand beach. The nearby marine park is worth visiting as the creek with mangrove trees and smaltime fishing. There is an old moslem Temple on the grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms above are better then below. (The guesthouses all have two stories)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel was good except the food which is monotonous. They need to improve! The environment, location,facilities, rooms, staff etc is very good. Value for money if ur on bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed in temple point resort two times: first time on honeymoon. It was like arriving to paradise...the garden was so tidy, flowers and plants everywhere, everything so clean, everyone very kind, always someone taking care of us and our needs. the buffet-restaurant was delicious, with italian and world cousine, and the possibility to have the dinner on the beach, so romantic!! this time, nine years later, we retirned with our kids...the rooms where quite the same, but everything was old, consumed, the garden was savage and dry, the bathroom in the room was broken and dirty...the restaurant had every night the same dishes rice-rice-rice-meat-meat-meat a and fish, salad, but not variety like the previous time. there were three persons thata should have been the activities staff but they didn't organize a thing. last time, on the contrary, we were quite pissed off because the staff was always calling us to do something: a football match, playing cards,, dance, sing the karaoke... Talking to the workers there they said thata before the resort was owned by "viaggi del ventaglio" and everything was better, but now the owner is a german society and they don't care so much of it...you can see it. But africa is africa, and when you leave it you suffer anyway, also if the hotel wasn't so good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are probably fancier hotels on the coast north of Mombasa, but I am very happy here at Temple Point. We just sent snorkeling with the hotel's Captain Ferdinand and had a great time with a great variety of beautiful fish, much like Hawaii. This is a picturesque location, with a lot to do or a great place to relax. It has a big nice pool, tennis, archery, volleyball, billiards, a nearby IBA and other great places to view birds (have local guide David take you through Arabuko Sokoke Forest for birds like Sokoke Pipit and Scops Owl), bikes to use, etc. We are finishing a month long Kenya trip to see wildlife, and the seafood and other local food is a nice change from the standard faire at other lodges. A couple of words of advice - if you have laundry for this hotel to wash, make sure that you tell them when you need it - don't assume same day delivery and don't expect the wifi to always work (like much of Kenya). It is working now as I am writing this. It is warm at night here, but there is air conditioning for the huge rooms. Too bad I have to return home for work!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Point Resort

Address: Marine Park Rd, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temple Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Temple Point Resort is a premier holiday beach resort located at the end of a headland between the Indian Ocean and Mida Creek. Surrounded by tropical gardens and the Mida Creek lagoon, the hotel is situated right inside the Watamu Marine National Park. Conveying the atmosphere of a delightful private home with luxurious accommodation, the resort standards are designed to provide the highest quality venue for both individual holiday makers and corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Point Hotel Watamu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.