We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Beautiful Giriama Residence
Reception
Main Gate
Comfortable breezy verandas
Spacious Double Room
Watamu
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DessyP890
Middlesbrough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget Accommodation Near Watamu Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tthe facilities at this hotel were pretty basic but it suited me as a solo traveller to stay here for three weeks on a self catering basis because it was reasonably priced. I liked the design of the building, the beautiful garden with a large variety of plants and the fact that it was only a five minute walk to the beach. Although the kitchen is dated and needed a good clean on arrival, this was carried out by one member of the staff (thanks Christopher) to a higher standard immediately. Showing a great interest in each guest, he ensured that we were happy with the cleanliness of rooms etc and performed his duties in an exemplory fashion. The glory days of this establishment may be over (it used to have a restaurant) but the rooms are comfortable and adequate and I would recommend it to the low budget traveller.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AKenyanTr...
Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most amazing week of our lives !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived for a week stay with several friends. Staff and owner/host Linda are super hospitable, privacy and guest comfort is unrivalled and we are heading for a return visit in January ! The beach is bare metres from the front door and all our needs were perfectly met. No matter what else you do when at the Kenyan Coast, spare a few days to stay at the Giriama Residence, it will be the most memorable part of your holiday! Great for 2, 4 or 6 guests at a go and amazingly pocket friendly. Really, I cannot recommend this highly enough. Just book a room or two, kick back on the lovely seats on the balcony and when you feel the Watamu breeze wafting around you...you'll get it. Enjoy !!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DeepaSoms...
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful home..away from home :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for a couple of days at Giriama residence and we simply loved it!! The rooms are spacious with a very nice sit-out area, where we enjoyed the cool breeze and had our dinner under the stars. It is just a 2 mins walk to the Watamu beach and 15 mins ride to Gedi ruins. The staff took very good care of us and we were given the option to either cook or order for food. We chose the 1st option and felt absolutely safe when we went out in the dark to the beach or grocery shopping to Mama Lucy's supermarket. While you stay here, there are many activities to choose from...snorkelling at Watamu marine national park, canoeing at Mida creek, visit the turtle rehabilitation centre, shop for handicrafts or paintings. For pet-lovers, there are some really friendly dogs and a cat here.
We would highly recommend a stay at Giriama residence for a cozy stay and we plan to visit them for atleast a week next time!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Almost everything: service, location, price
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
LenOff
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is a dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

I recommend Watamu and Giriama Residence to all travellers!
I spent a hole week here but it isn't enough for such beautiful place as Watamu. There are very good beaches with white sand and light blue water. It is the best place for relax!
Giriama Residence is small and quiet guest house with cosy rooms. The staff is helpful and accommodating. After my holiday here, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Uganda
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JARMinnes...
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Giriama Residence is a very special place. The property is beautiful and the rooms are spacious with huge canopy beds. A gorgeous beach is just a three minute walk away. The staff and Giriama Residence will take wonderful care of you. I highly recommend this place to anyone!

Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Nairobi
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 4 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
Rates have not been provided for this property. Please contact the owner/manager for total price.
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Mrs L
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 119 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing