We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four nights in soisson” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Soissons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Soissons to your Saves list
Campanile Soissons
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Jacques Brel Zac De Chevreux, 02200 Soissons, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Soissons
northeast england
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“four nights in soisson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived to find the campanile wasnt as close to the city as we expected, and isnt a stones throw from a very busy and noisy main road. We found that although it had a restaurant it had tno bar to be able to have a drink in on a night. And one would have to get a taxi into soisson to a bar if you wanted that. We did try the restaurant, but was very disappointed by the meal itself.
It being entracote steak, which was tougher than it should have been. we had a room on the ground floor, which was convenient, but the people who were staying in the room above were very noisy, moving furniture about ets..The bathroom tiles had a thick layer of scale that had not been touched for quite some time, and it seem`d the the desk clerk was only there for the job, and wasnt interested in very much else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    14
    23
    7
See reviews for
13
16
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I've stayed in Campanile group many times before and can only assume they are going through hard times. Over the years they have become sadder and sadder, until all hope expired on Saturday May 18th. We arrived tired and decided to eat in the restaurant because although unremarkable, they had always proved reliable. It was terrible. The normally generous starter buffet, looked like it must have done in the Great War. A few sad vegetable sticks, some old dried up Pate, similar charcuterie and a hard boiled egg. Main course was the Plat du jour, of Lamb: at least the bits around the gristle tasted a bit like it! Dessert buffet was fine.

And so to bed! But not for long. Firstly the air conditioning/ heating system was banging out plenty of noise, but nothing else. Our attempts to switch it off, involving every electrical looking contact in the place, failed miserably. Accepting failure, we tried to block out the noise and to a degree succeeded. The itching of the many bites we received took our minds off the noise remarkably well! We were not alone in bed! Got up to go to see the "24hr reception", as advertised, only to find that their idea of 24hr isn't the same as mine. We went to sleep in the car! On reporting our unwelcome bedmates in the morning, there was no element of surprise or questioning on the part of the management; just immediate cancelling of the room from the Bill. Their attitude was such that it led me to believe this was such a regular occurrence that it no longer caused any reaction. We skipped the 10 Euro breakfast for the identical 4.5 Euro breakfast next door. Sorry; no more good morning campanilers for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Soissons hotels

Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have just returned from Campanile Soissons and an honest update on Tripadvisor seems the right thing to do.

Pros;
Local super market, fuel, McDonalds, shoe & clothes shops etc only 2 mins walk / clean sheets / Towels / Bathroom / decent size LCD TV (all French Channels) / friendly staff especially the accomodating room maids who supplied extra towels, milk, tea, coffee etc - PLEASE TIP THEM THEY WORK REALLY HARD FOR NOT MUCH MONEY AND THEY DO GO THAT EXTRA YARD!

Con's;
Hotel on a retail park / room view was the back of a a local Go Sports building wall which was about 25 ft high, front view was a 70 ft crane on a building site / room temperature extremely warm (very poor air con) / rooms a little tired (ok for money) / no bar / no local night life / miles from main towns / could hear next door discussions & baby crying through room walls (not insulated well).

If you want somewhere to rest your head for a night or 2 its fine. We spent 6 nights there but we were out early a.m. till late evening so it suited us. Not for families, small children etc.


Summary;
Budget hotel where you can rest your head and get a good breakfast!
More of a pass through set-up 1/2 nights.
Would stay again but not during warmer months, perhaps 2 nights maximum - overall rating 6 out10.

Room Tip: Take top floor room, below rooms will be affected by noise from upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barkisland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Four of us had been following the 1914 British Expeditionary Force's Retreat From Mons to The Marne. We'd finished that and arrived at Campanile-Soissons in the early evening just a bit too crackered to follow our normal practice of disappearing into town to eat. Our tempers were just a little frayed because we kept on cocking up our approach to the hotel.

Once we got there, reception was smooth and quick and we noted the option to eat in the Campanile's own restaurant. We decided we'd eat there after checking the rooms out. Bothe our rooms were fine save for the temperature control. Despite turning the thermometer right down, and eventually turning the AC off, the room temperature remained oppressive in both rooms. Windows were left open all night and sleep was fine.

But dinner was excellent and wines were reasonably priced. I doubt we'd have eaten as well for less in town so we finished the night off in good spirits - made the better by meeting up with a bunch of Scousers who were on a similar sort of trip as ourselves and who proved to be good company.

Overall, my party enjoyed their stay here at Campanile-Soissons and I'll certainly look for a deal there when I'm next on a similar trip.

Thanks to everybody there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

For the price, this hotel is pretty good. This hotel is on a retail estate and there isn't much around in terms of eateries and entertainment. We were told the nearest town is a 10-15 minute drive away.

Rooms are well furnished and maintained to a good standard. The only thing that let this room down was the temperature. We couldn't get the aircon to keep the temperature below what felt like 30 degrees. We didn't complain and just opened the windows, so not really an issue.

The restaurant, although pricey, offered a pretty decent meal. 16 of us arrived unannounced and they managed to get all the meals out with no fuss at all. They did run out of beer though!

Breakfast was excellent. Fresh coffee and juices and a large selection of food to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Soissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Soissons

Address: Rue Jacques Brel Zac De Chevreux, 02200 Soissons, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Soissons
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Soissons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Soissons 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Campanile Soissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Soissons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.