We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Paradise Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Little Paradise Lodge to your Saves list
Little Paradise Lodge
2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have traveled all over the globe. From Argentina to Alaska, from Turkey to New Zealand... And many places in between.

In my years of travel, there is not a place on the planet that stands out to me more than this place.

In the review I only had the option to choose the year. 2013. In fact, if was a few years back that my wife and I stayed.

Years later, I find myself daydreaming of this magical place. I'm so pleased to see it hadn't been sold and is gone.

This is a MUST stay. Amazing artwork and craftsmanship. Perfect location.

I pray that I will visit here again. I miss this place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,616 reviews 2,616 reviews
215 hotel reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,160 helpful votes 1,160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We didn't stay here but passed it on a drive to Glenorchy. An absolutely wonderful English garden in such a pleasant location. If you are not a guest, they charge $14 to wander through the gardens and you will be amazed at the size of them.
Lynn almost felt that she was at the Chelsea Gardens - obviously so much love and passion here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stumbled onto this place on our way from Queenstown to Glenorchy. It caught our eye so on a whim we pulled in and are we glad we did. What we found was amazing art hand made by Thomas and his wife Chrissy. The art was so unusual and was surrounded by gorgeous gardens full of flowers, birds, peacocks etc...They have built all this art by hand and it is awe inspiring. They charge 10. to view the gardens and art and they throw in coffee, juice and cookies. It is worth that money and more. Do it! Chrissy then invited us in to see the house and we could not stop raving. Thomas has made everything there including the wood that is embedded for the floors, the sand and stone art on the walls, the handmade furniture that had us drooling and on top of that, the views out the windows were gorgeous! We were so happy and felt so lucky that we had found this place and really, you should not miss this stop.

Room Tip: You don't have to stay. You can just stop in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I are so fortunate to have stayed here. Words are so limited to describe this mystical & enchanting B&B. A fish tank just above the toilet bowl, pebble plastered decor wall/floor & the captivating ever-changing mountain-lake scenery during brekkie are some special highlights. Must check out the garden!!! Had organic berries & pears for breakfast. 30 mins drive from Queenstown is all worthwhile to escape all the busyness. Thank you Thomas & Kristy for your warm hospitality in the midst of the cold autumn May. Your 20 years of hardwork handbuilt garden & house is all worthwhile. We enjoy our 2 nights stay! 6 Stars & Highly Recommended :)

Paul & Phoebe

P.s. Thomas even cleaned the bird droppings that stained on our car with his hands just before our departure. Wow!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a talent Thomas has. This place is a must stop on your journey.15 Kms from queenstown on the glenorchy road, if you don't stop here and view the exquisite
gardens and craftsmanship of Thomas and Chrissy you are really missing out on something quite special. Best ten dollars ever spent and an awesome coffee thrown in as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

If you want an artistic, quirky and fun place to stay just out of Queenstown look no further than Little Paradise. Charming hosts Thomas n Christine and hand made, inspiring art and magical gardens grounds on 5 hectares created over many years together with uninterrupted lake views make this a must stay. This place is why you travel to discover and be inspired

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Dropped in with mum on a drive from Queenstown - amazing, utterly wonderful place. Needs to be seen to be believed. Looks like something out of a storybook! Magical, wonderful, wonderful place. Great for families, romantic couples or just by yourself. Great friendly hosts too. It has taken 20 years of painstaking work to create this genuine masterpiece, each room including the toilets are a work of art! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AS A MUST VISIT AND STAY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Paradise Lodge

Address: 2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mount Creighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Creighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost every day we hear from our visitors that this place really deserves its name "little paradise". The house and its surrounding were created by its Swiss owner with great passion for the beauty of nature and life. He used natural materials from the nearby environment to express his inspiration and ideas. If you want to escape the square world, absorb new dimensions in the fairytale garden of little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Paradise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Paradise Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.