We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying outside Queenstown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Paradise Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Little Paradise Lodge to your Saves list
Little Paradise Lodge
2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Deutschland
1 review
“Worth staying outside Queenstown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We did search for a nice place near Queenstown and weren't too sure first if Little Paradise wasn't too far out. As it turned out it was the best we could do - stay away from the commerce driven QT city and choose a relaxing and beautiful place right near the lake instead. Welcome to little paradise!
Christie and Thomas took great care of us, we were free to use their kitchen facilities but also took the opportunity to get one of Christies delicious Philippine Dinners - a must when staying there.
Of course there is nothing more to say about the beautiful gardens and spectacular indoor architecture. All self-made by Thomas - you need to see yourself.
In case you book online or via phone - be patient, sometimes communication can be difficult out there. But it should not hinder you to have a great time in Little Paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Found this little gem 30km outside of the hype and noise of Queenstown and stayed two nights. Little Paradise is completely original, due to owner Thomas who built the house from scratch, with incredible carvings and mosaics covering the walls. Every inch of this place is beautiful, from the splendid rose garden and ponds to the unique and whimsical construction of his gorgeous home. He is a gracious and charming host, full of suggestions of out-of-the way places to visit around the area. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated..and you can rent a kayak and go for a paddle on the lake which is across the road. Breakfast and dinner are available, although I did not avail myself of this option. Highly recommended! One of the most unique and beautiful places I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This one of the most unique places we have ever stayed. We loved it. The gardens were spectacular, and the morning view from my bed looking over the gardens to the lake was amazing. Our hosts were very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a wonderful and very unusual place for a little retreat, the type of place that you would think does not exist, except in your imagination.
But Thomas, the Swiss owner and artist, built it. The garden is huge, contains many many species of flowers, frogs, ducks, trouts, ponds, eccletic statues and things to discover. Even if you do not stay there, just stop and drink a tee, served by his kind wife, Christy. The stop is worthwhile and inspiring.
The house is even more surprising. The tub is made of stone, the floor out of wood, fur on the sofa, furniture made of huge pieces of wood. Everything is very natural. You just feel so close to nature.
We had an unforgettable time there. Location, place and people, everything was unusally good!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We found this place totally randomly and were very pleasantly surprised. As soon as you enter the garden you feel real peace around you, while making you want to explore the whole place immediately. The house is just as good, with everything made out of natural products by the owner. You can spend hours just wandering around the house and the garden looking at everything! This place is a piece of art in itself, and the prices are really good for such a nice place (90 dollars for a bedroom for 2). Loved it! :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Paradise Lodge

Address: 2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mount Creighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Creighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost every day we hear from our visitors that this place really deserves its name "little paradise". The house and its surrounding were created by its Swiss owner with great passion for the beauty of nature and life. He used natural materials from the nearby environment to express his inspiration and ideas. If you want to escape the square world, absorb new dimensions in the fairytale garden of little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Paradise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Paradise Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.