We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Chenes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pujols
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel des Chenes
Save
You added Hotel des Chenes to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lieu-dit Bel Air, 47300 Pujols, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This had to be the least welcoming reception I've had in more than 40 years of staying in hotels. After ringing a bell reception at 4pm a gentleman (the proprietor) finally appeared looking very surly. No 'hello' or 'did you have a good trip' just ......'nom'.
We asked whether it was possible to book for dinner at the restaurant which shares the same site - answer 'NON!!'
The hotel was obviously quite something in it's day but is now very dated. The lovely location deserves so much better.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not get a connecting room - they are far from soundproof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    4
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
17
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This hotel is in a lovely location, with a great view and adequate rooms. If you stayed here without incident then I am sure you would feel your stay to have been fine. However problems arise over the breakfast and, more importantly to us, the management’s attitude to any queries. Breakfast is 11 euro per person and is nothing more than croissants and yoghurts (eggs or ham cost extra!). We had indicated to the management when we arrived that we were not sure whether we would have breakfast on both days. He wrote us a voucher for 2 days, and we assumed that whether we were charged would depend whether we handed it in or not. We only had breakfast on one day so when we came to check out we mentioned this. He threw the book at us (literally!) and refused to have any discussion on the matter. We were appalled at his attitude – we had clearly said we might not have breakfast both days, and he didn’t dispute whether or not we had eaten, he was just intransigent on the fact that we had a voucher and that meant we must pay. After half an hour or so of arguing, we finally settled midway, but left shell-shocked from his attitude and his rudeness (and fed up from paying 33 euros for 2 croissants, 2 yoghurts, 2 orange juices and 2 coffees). If you do stay here, I recommend avoiding breakfast and being crystal clear about this when you arrive – or better still stay somewhere else, as everyone else we met in the area were friendly and helpful to us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Nice views over countryside and village in a quiet environment.. The room was certainly dated, perhaps circa 1970s. Could do with more attention to cleaning and there was a lack of personal touch to the communal places especially, no flower pots, ash trays unemptied etc: Breakfasts were copious with a good spread to cater for all choices.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I'm amazed at some of the reviews suggesting that this hotel leaves anything to be desired. It's run by a really lovely couple who are prepared to put themselves out to help. It's extremely clean, efficiently run, very quiet and - for an expensive part of France - very good value. We enjoyed it so much that we have now stayed there twice this year; the second time we were met by the woman who runs the hotel carrying presents for our two children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

I SPENT THE MONTH OF MARCH 2007 IN THIS CHARMING,CONFORTABLE HOTEL
The hotel was highly recommended by my "Agent immobilier" while I was looking for property in the area.
The welcome was warm, the room confortably elegant with "a view to kill for" and what I enjoyed as well was the "petit dejeuner" always tasty (with those French country-specialties!!) and plentiful ( I loved their coffee as well!!!)
I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL..IT IS BEAUTIFULLY SITUATED, QUIET!!!,and JUST PLAIN WELCOMING...
Josiane H. Goslinga
7270 Della Drive
Orlando, Florida 32819 USA
Implementation International

  • Liked — The welcome, confort, above all the view
  • Disliked — leaving it
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding that was taking place in Pujols, and I must say that the hotel management seems not to know what customer service is. We phoned to say that we would be arriving around 10 pm (the reception closes at 10:30...usually one of the benefits of staying at a hotel as opposed to a B&B/private residence is the 24/7 access surely?) and got a long spiel about making sure we were not late. We had some other friends whose flight was arriving later into Toulouse and the hotel management basically said that we would have to figure out how to let them into the main door. None of this was done with any kind of reference to the fact that we were *paying* to stay there! Several of us were also speaking in (good) French so it was definitely not a case of our not trying to show respect to the French culture, but we definitely did not get much respect back. Although the guest services book in the room says they can provide "snacks and drinks" as room service, when I asked about whether they did anything other than drinks the answer I got was to go to Pujols or Villeneuve where there are restaurants. Asking to use the iron was another issue - with a bit of reluctance they agreed to set the iron up for us in the breakfast room. On the day of our checkout (and also the wedding day of our friend who was also staying there), the staff made sure we were aware of the 11:00 a.m. checkout time "because the cleaning staff are only there in the morning and other guests were coming". I really didn't need the condescending reminder - having stayed in many hotels in my life, I understand what a checkout time is and means.
On the positive side, the views are lovely and the pool would probably be welcome in the summer. Just next door is the Michelin-starred La Torque Blanche, which we didn't go to. I imagine there are many equally or more pleasant places to stay in the area where as a paying guest you would not have to feel as you are an imposition on the staff. Go somewhere else is my advice.

  • Liked — Pretty view from the pool
  • Disliked — Unfriendly/unhelpful staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chenes, Propriétaire at Hotel des Chenes, responded to this review, February 21, 2008
Before any things I am anxious to apologize for my bad English and all the mistakes that I have makes.....I answer you, I respect your opinion but some of your assertions are based, it seems to me, on an evident incomprehension. We are a " small very comfortable hotel ", three stars and relays of the silence, but we are a small structure far from the idea of " big important staffs " of the big city hotels No night watchman as in most of the hotels deprived in France, but a code of entrance (and recently one electronic pass) to enter after the schedules of closure, effectively the Reception closes at 10:30 pm (but more often at 11 pm in high period), we manage the hotel my husband and myself and are 24h / 24h there we have effectively 2 cleaning ladies Which are the morning there as soon as we welcome a customer we explain our functioning (departure time, schedules of breakfasts, etc.), in high period with our structure we have to be rigorous, because we have to can offer to the hosts who arrive what we offered to the hosts who leave our hotel: a room lends... We know what is the service and let us put all our heart and all our professionalism in the service of our Hosts! As you say it we provided you with to iron a table and an iron in the room of breakfasts, but it was able to be only made when all the customers had ended and as we put the room back in place But the service was returned with pleasure and you had all the liberties to go and come and prepare so your dresses …. Most hotel, and I speak by experience, give their room to return this kind of service, most make you this service by charging you the service, we are gracefully made it as if we were " in family "..."... It seems to me that your waits did not correspond to our style of hotel, a comfortable but not luxurious place, A family atmospherebut not " big stereotypical staffs " of the image that the big French hotellerie can convey, we have the humility to say that we are a small team which offers beautiful services ! I regret sincerely that you did not perceive our real identity and that it logically in caused this lack of understanding and what we are crossed next to something more pleasant, very cordially, Patrizia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Chenes for two nights at 98 for 2 per night incl breakfast (free parking on premises) The hotel is situated perfectly looking out on rolling hills and the charming village of Pujols (5 minutes from the seemingly dull Villeneuve Sur Lot)

We very much enjoyed our stay. The room was pleasantly decorated, maybe not quite to our taste, but it was comfortable and the view simply wonderful. Ok, the bathroom and building where a bit dated, but that is hardly worth mentioning. Room has minibar, a/c and the hotel has a swimming pool as well as a reading room with a panoramic view of the green hills.

Adjacent to the hotel is the Michelin starred restaurant La Toque Blanche. For a cheaper alternative the owners of Toque B. have a restaurant on the edge of Pujols at 5-10 min walk – panoramic view of Villeneuve, good food and friendly service. There is also an Italian restaurant in the village (nice main dining room, average food)

The typically French breakfast buffet is of good quality with a few nice extras.

The hotel makes a perfect base for a stay in a lovely part of France quieter than the nearby Dordogne valley. Besides Pujols there are a number of other small villages worth visiting e.g. Saint Cirque Lapopie (nice but very touristy). The windy roads along the river between Saint C. and Figeac are lovely for a scenic drive or kayaking. (Villeneuve and Cahors are not really worth a visit)

In summary the hotel’s location and the amenities make for a very pleasant stay at a very good price – it felt like quite a find one of the best of our trip to the area!

  • Liked — Views and quiet location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Chenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Chenes

Address: Lieu-dit Bel Air, 47300 Pujols, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Pujols
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Chenes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Des Chenes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Chenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.