We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in one word = great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Valbelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meyreuil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Valbelle
Save
You added Villa Valbelle to your Saves list
8, chemin de Guiramande, 13590 Meyreuil, Aix-en-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Meyreuil B&B and Inns
Jerusalem
1 review
“in one word = great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

During our stay our rented car broke down, the help and support from both Cathy and Jacques was really extra ordinary! they where on the phone for hours and saved us from a big hassle. the room was perfect, and the overall hospitality superb. with a car it is a 7min drive to the center, most convenient.
Orna & Eran

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Meadow, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Villa Valbelle is a small family-run B&B outside of Aix-en-Provence. Once we got there (it was a little tricky to find the right driveway at first) and settled in, we found it to be comfortable, and the owners are very nice, making you feel right at home. The room had all of the amenities. We didn't want to eat out for every meal (aside from breakfast which is served right there), so we went to a nearby market and made meals in our room.

The location is very good, and the value is excellent. Just one note--have cash ready for checkout. That was the easiest way to settle up. But with the low price, we needed no more cash than what we normally carried around for day-to-day spending money to settle our bill.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We feel very fortunate to have chosen this b & b, not only for it's beautiful garden and surroundings, but because my wife was ill during our entire visit, the innkeeper, who is a nurse, took excellent care to nurse her back to some semblance of health. One couldn't have expected such service and kindness.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We chose to base ourselves in Aix due to its central location within Provence. I would recommend this to others too.

The room: Siroco room was small but cosy. The room has its own private entrance.

The B&B: I think there are a total of three rooms here, all comprising the lower floor of the two storey house (owners live on top). There is secure off-street parking and you can come and go as you please without feeling like you’re disturbing anyone. By far the best breakfast served in our six week trip; pancakes, fresh fruit, baguette, tea/coffee, home made spreads (the really good type) and fresh orange juice. There is a standalone communal kitchen/dining room and if the weather is good, breakfast is served in the beautiful garden. There is also a big pool with pool lounges. Free WiFi too.

The service: Cathy and Jacques (owners) were warm and friendly without being too much. Another French B&B we stayed at, the owners would enter our rooms when we weren’t there and would tidy up and move all our things, not move but totally rearrange our things. None of this here! Very good English was spoken here too.

The location: About 2.5km from the town centre, the B&B is on a quiet road. I wouldn’t want to walk in to town, nor would I choose to stay here without a car.

The conclusion: a lovely B&B with truly lovely hosts. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Most of the attraction of staying in a chambre d'hôte is meeting the locals. And nothing could have been more agreeable than staying with the happy French family of Madame Cathy Loubère who runs the Villa Valbelle, her husband and their three children. Cathy Loubière could not have been more charming, and took the greatest pains to make us feel welcome. We flatter ourselves that she was especially glad to meet anglo-saxons who could speak French.
We stayed four nights in the studio, a large comfortable room with a kitchen at one end. A second bedside table and lamp would have made it perfect.
The house has a pool and about an acre of garden from the top of which are views over Aix and the Saint-Victoire hill.
The breakfast, in a pleasant outhouse or under the trees, features home-made jams and yogurt as well as such local exotica as lavender syrup.
The Valbelle house is between a scented pine wood and the river Arc about 10 minutes walk from the ancient Trois Sautets bridge where there are a few shops, food stalls and a bar. The number 3 bus leaving at 28 and 58 minutes past the hour, takes you from there to the Centre of Aix, about 3 km away. The service is more frequent from the next stop towards Aix.
We found it an ideal location from which to explore the countryside by car and foot, and with easy access to the heart of Aix.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed for two nights, traveling without a car. The location, about 30-40 minutes walk outside of Aix, is a bit difficult to reach on foot the first time when coming from the train station. However, like a previous reviewer, once we'd settled in we sometimes walked to or from Aix, and sometimes took the bus. The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk from Villa Valbelle.

The biggest plus for Villa Valbelle is having Cathy and Jacques for hosts. They are/were extremely helpful and could not have been nicer. Perhaps more importantly, they made a genuine effort to get to know us and make us feel at home. They seem to truly love Aix and were happy to recommend restaurants, provide directions, and suggest things to do. In addition they went out of their way to help us (e.g., one morning we needed to go into town quite early and Cathy therefore prepared our breakfast well before 7AM; on another occasion they let us share a ride with them into town when they were running an errand).

Our room was clean and quiet. Breakfasts were well prepared and served in a charming shared dining room with a large glass wall on one side, giving the effect of being outdoors and close to nature. The pool looked very nice although we were unable, or at least unwilling to use it, because the weather was unseasonably cool while we were there.

We found Villa Valbelle to be a good home base as we explored Aix. The location wasn't ideal but the personal touch, the price, and the peaceful atmosphere made the trade off well worth it for us. We especially think that anyone traveling on a budget will be quite satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I highly recommend this great B&B! The house is beautifuly decorated, extremely clean, and the owners Cathy and Jacques are increadibly nice and helpful. Breakfast was homemade and delicious!!! Wish we could have stayed longer. There's a pool, hammocks and lounge chairs. The property is about a 5-10 minute drive from the center of aix. But it's a straight shot and there is easy parking. It's a very tranquil location very close to a lively and beautiful town. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Valbelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Valbelle

Address: 8, chemin de Guiramande, 13590 Meyreuil, Aix-en-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence > Meyreuil
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Meyreuil
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Villa Valbelle Provence/Meyreuil, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Valbelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.