We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A point of reference in Waskesiu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Ridge Resort

Save Saved
You added Elk Ridge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk Ridge Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Hwy 264, Waskesiu, Saskatchewan S0J 2Y0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Waskesiu
Prince Albert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A point of reference in Waskesiu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Its a really nice 4 stars resort in the heart of North Prince Albert National Park in Waskesiu. It offers you almost any kind of facility all the year.
I first went there on September 2011 and I keep returning often since then. Every time I have a quest its my first choice to go with. In the heart of a forest you can experience everything according to the season you will visit.
Spring and summer golfing, biking or walking in the forest having deers and squirrels running around you, fall and winter skating, curling, cross country skiing, snowshoeing, and tobogganing!!!
You can have a nice meal in the restaurant for you and your quests with reasonable prices and for sure you will enjoy every second in there.
A good choice!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    22
    26
    18
    5
See reviews for
38
46
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Pros:
- self parking at no cost
- many activities to do
- great restaurant with great food and service
- very inexpensive for big groups staying (for 5 of us we paid CA$270 for three rooms)
- our lodge had a fully equipped kitchen,,,you can bring your groceries and save by cooking yourself

CONS
- the lodge we rented had two floors, 4 bedrooms, 6 beds....but only 1 shower and two bathrooms. It is just very uncomfortable...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed 3rd week of November. We have stayed here before 5 years or so during the autumn season.

We phoned ahead and found out the toboggan hill would not be ready {even though we've had a ton of snow for the last 5 weeks. Plus the skating rink would not be ready. So much for outdoor activity for the kids.

We arrived at out cabin at 4 pm in time for check in. None of the deck had any snow removed...in fact it was not shoveled out till the next day.
The cabin was the 3 bedroom unit #12.
Cozy......but
> toilet always ran in main floor.
>we stayed in the main floor bedroom and our headboard was right against the window. The window is warped. Cool air was blowing in as the insulation is torn in some areas. The next day I closed it as tight as I possibly could and it was better.
>the oven was horribly weak and food took much longer to prepare.
>the carpet was hideous on the main floor. Very dirty and soiled. Apparently needed to be changed a long time ago.However if that wasnt enough...the subfloor underneath was warped {where ever there is carpet} to the point where you could actually hear the wood snap and crack underneath your feet. I'm in construction and to get this floor to this point it takes years of negligence. I'm sure this has been brought to the attention of the management or reviewed about here on Travelocity...but nothing has been done.
> Poor lighting. We played games after supper. With all the lights hanging on the wall it provides very poor lighting.

We did not a get cabin with a hot tub.We were going to, but changed our minds. Glad we did..When the upkeep is this bad in so many areas who knows how fresh the water is in the tubs. Or how clean the linen is?

Overpriced. If there was some care and attention with obvious then fine. Worth every penny. Other than that these cabins are nothing more than the type of cabins hunters would stay in further up north in Saskatchewan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Z, Manager at Elk Ridge Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi geolumon,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Elk Ridge.

Both the skating rink and the sledding hill are on ponds. Even though we've had a lot of snow, the ice underneath is not thick enough to be safe to play on. We take every measure possible to ensure the safety of our guests, even if it means that we wait to open our snowy season activities.

As for the snow removal and the conditions of the cabins, we will forward this to the proper managers to make sure that these issues are looked after. After every check out, we clean all our accommodations, change the linens, and if the hot tubs were used, replace the water.

If you have further comments or suggestions, please forward them to our Director of Operations, Ryan Danberg: ryan.danberg@elkridgeresort.com or 800.510.1824.

Thanks for staying at Elk Ridge and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Let's get this straight - it's Wednesday evening in Saskatchewan. We are staying at a remote resort where you are a captive audience. There's a small convention going on here. That's it. The parking lot is 3/4ths empty. There's only one place to have supper - the Copper Ridge Dining Room in the resort. It's not very big. Their website does not state reservations are suggested/requested or even required, nor is there a sign in front of the dining room stating either or. Yet when my wife and I went there tonight, and even though there were at least two empty tables (I think three actually), we were told we needed reservations. Okay, thanks for the heads up - since there's NO place else to eat within 70 km, but then to not even ASK if we'd like a reservations or tell us if we could wait 20 minutes, 30 minutes, etc.? No, just told "sorry, you needed reservations". Wait, it gets better...last night, we went down to eat and hostess asked if we had a reservation - we said "no, did we need one?". She said "no, just asking" and seated us.

So where are we supposed to eat? Did I mention there's no place else around to eat for 70 km to our knowledge? Thank goodness my wife picked up some cheese and crackers in Prince Albert. Would we stay again? No.... very over-rated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Z, Manager at Elk Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi RA J,

Thank you for your review and I apologize that we could not find a place for you at Copper Ridge during your visit. We did have a conference in that night and we were completely booked up, the tables that you saw open were reserved.

I will forward your comments to the appropriate managers so we can avoid these issues in the future. We will make it make more clear on the website, offer to make reservations in Copper Ridge when customers are making room reservations, and notify guests when checking in.

We hope to see you again and please contact us at 800.510.1824 if you have any other comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Just yesterday I was married at Elk Ridge. The whole experience was magical and perfect, where to begin. We booked the executive suite which pictures do not justify, it is very fancy and was perfect for my bridal suite, there were about 10 ladies getting ready. We had the most beautiful view from our bedroom window. I also was in several cabins that family was staying in and they are all very nice and the house keeping staff for both cabins and lodge were extremely accommodating. My guests were very pleased with the service. The pool was great, the only downside being it has no shallow or deep end, it's all chest deep. The spa staff were very nice and I enjoyed my services. The hand massage at the end of the blueberry detox wrap was incredible. I also got my wedding makeup done there and it was perfect. The front desk staff were great and the restraunt/bar servers were amazing! They remembered me throughout our stay and made me feel welcome. In regards to the wedding/catering staff I cannot express my great fullness. When we arrived Jenn Brunning greeted us at the front desk (who I emailed and called frequently to plan our day) without us saying anything and welcomed us making us feel very special. Then Rona and the catering staff catered to my every need and request from a different dish for a grandfather with allergies, to non traditional wedding requests, to setting out pitchers of water and cups to guests playing cards in te lobby, they were truly amazing and worth every single penny. Most people say that wedding are a bunch of planning for a single day but I felt our entire stay was an amazing wedding experience that was completely worth the time and money spent planning. We had our rehearsal supper at Waleyes them went swimming with my bridal party after, and the day after the wedding we all went tubing down the wonderful snow hill. Just a beautiful experience i would highly reccomend to anyone, not to mention the grand and gorgeous exterior and landscape looking like a winter wonderland that only exists in dreams. Wow, just wow!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Z, Manager at Elk Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi AlanaHyrtle,

Thank you so much for choosing Elk Ridge for your wedding! We are so happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your visit! The wedding was beautiful and we are honored that we could make your special day perfect!

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

One of the best trips we've ever had. Purchased the "Romance package" and couldn't as for much more. Great value when you break down the trip (food, hotel, spa). Great walking trails on site but even more in Waskesui. Will definitely be visiting next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Z, Manager at Elk Ridge Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi MGJK,

Thanks so much for the response! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Elk Ridge and had a great Romance Package experience!

We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The resort is set in a tranquil and beautiful area of the forest. However, it seems to have taken a turn for the worst since its opening. If you are looking for a luxurious getaway this is not the place for you. The exterior has an awe-inspiring design that exudes brilliance but this slowly eroded for us as the stay went on. The interior is run down with many things broken that simply have just been ignored. The restaurant is by far the worst part of the resort which is unfortunate because there isnt much else to do there. The staff are incredibly rude, the tables and chairs are dirty and look like they have been through a war. I also found out after numerous people asked for capuccino's that the machine had been broken for a while and just simply wasn't fixed. Even though it's a simple task, it goes with the theme of ignoring things as they break. The "spa" which my wife was so excited about was a small closet unable to accomodate her for the entire stay without any windows and looks more like a closet........maybe my expectations were too high but after spending $350 dollars on a room I expected much better. This is NOT a Bessbourough or Fairmont!

Room Tip: For an additional $20 you can get a pond view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Z, Manager at Elk Ridge Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi jordon e,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We have notified to appropriate managers of your stay and your experience to resolve these issues.

Please contact Ryan Danberg, our Director of Operations, at 800.510.1824 ext. 555 or email him at ryan.danberg@elkridgeresort.com to discuss your stay at Elk Ridge Resort. Your input would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Ridge Resort

Address: Hwy 264, Waskesiu, Saskatchewan S0J 2Y0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Waskesiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Waskesiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elk Ridge Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk Ridge Resort is a four-star destination/lifestyle resort located in the province of Saskatchewan, Canada, deep in the heart of the boreal forest. The nearest city, Prince Albert, is 40 minutes by car.Recognized by the Audubon Society and under consideration for its Golf Course Accreditation Program, Elk Ridge has taken great care in the use and management of the forest to build its championship golf course and resort.Elk Ridge Resort has earned a reputation as a four season paradise. Nature and outdoor experiences are abundant at Elk Ridge and in the surrounding areas of the Lakeland region and Prince Albert National Park.For visitors who want to make a permanent move into nature, real estate is available at Elk Ridge in the form of luxury villas or residential building lots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Elk Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Ridge Hotel Waskesiu
Elk Ridge Resort Waskesiu, Saskatchewan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Ridge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.