We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update - Construction Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sharanam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sharanam to your Saves list
Hotel Sharanam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sharanam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastern Express Highway Service Road | (Near New R.T.O, Opp. Ramkrishna Nagar), Thane 400604, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Thane
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Update - Construction Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here in March, December 2012 and complained about the construction noise. I returned November 2013, only stayed because of friends nearby, The room construction is now complete and I can say I am very pleased with the new modern room upgrades. Free wifi is included in the room and worked good for the most part, it did seem to do down in the evenings. Breakfast is just ok...I do hope they consider modernizing the public spaces, lobby, dinning, etc. to match their lovely rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
13
5
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Good rooms with decent interiors. Excellent delicious food. Best for pure vegetarians.

We stayed there for 2 nights. Got the room with king size bed with all the basic animities. Like the food very much.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited this place on 05 August we enjoyed our stay with them there newly renovated rooms are very nice & beautiful decor even when we tried their meal in restaurant it is wonderful & the hotel staff is also very courteous previously the managers & staff was different now i think staff is been changed & they are mannered in short we enjoyed a lot with family.

Pranay Kadwe

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We checked into the hotel for 2 days. We made the booking through booking.com. First of all the hotel is is currently under scaffolding and construction activity is quite a bit. The rooms are leaking with water entering through the glass. It is noisy, the room though not bad has activities outside making it more noisy. The hotel management should inform guests that the hotel is under construction activity it is unfair to dupe customers in this fashion.

The service is extremely rude and the arrogance of the staff is quite appalling considering the poor condition of the hotel, the food is not bad and the breakfast is decent. The hotel charges exorbitantly for vehicle service and should be avoided all-together.

We would not recommend staying here and would certainly not stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Do yourselves a favor and avoid staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had booked at this place for 2 days. The room was average though relatively clean, but there was construction activity right next to our room and also party going on right outside. so peace and quite was out of question. There was scaffolding and water leaking into the room from the glass windows. The hotel should be closed during refurbishment or at least the management should have the honesty and decency to provide this information so guests can opt for other places to stay. No on is interested in being put up in a hotel which is in condition worse than a residential building.

the service though not bad was in poor taste and the staff especially the person who booked our transportation was exceptionally rude, never book any car/vehicle through the hotel they over charge even for short distances and the vehicle was late. they did not have the courtesy to apologize. Exceptionally poor sense of service, the food was alright though nothing to rave about.

We would never dream of staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I booked a room at Sharanam for 2 nights (checked in on 1st June and had it till 3rd morning), 2013 through cleartrip.com.

I'll start with the not-so-bad:

1) The room was neat and clean.
2) The food was delivered pretty early to the room.
3) The dinner wasn't half bad.

The horrible:

1) Construction was on and there was constant disturbance in the room.
2) Apparently the hotel hadn't paid their internet bill (according to the front-desk) and WiFi was available only in the hotel lobby and not in the rooms.
3) This takes the cake: I asked for water on 1st night and had to call room service 3 times before someone got me a bottle of goddamned water. The next morning, I requested water again. Every time the operator said 5 minutes and I was left without any water for 4 hours (not kidding). Due to ill health, I couldn't go down and take care of things myself.
4) The breakfast buffet was extremely unimpressive.
5) The television kept getting switched off (perhaps due to a auto-sleep mode). I called the house-keeping to fix this but the TV remote batteries had dried up and they weren't changed. Instead, I was asked by the attending technician to use the physical buttons on the TV to keep the TV from going into auto-sleep.
6) When I was checking out, I mentioned my grievances to a very *very* nonchalant and un-courteous chap. Unfortunately, I wasn't in the best state to demand anything back from the management.
7) I vacated the room one day early, forfeiting the amount, just to get out of the place.

This place reeks of unprofessionalism and is really best avoided. If you absolutely must stay in that area, kindly opt for an alternative.

Room Tip: Please avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Restaurant food was good, needs to spruce up responsiveness to service. Need to bring in new dishes to attract more people. Portion size was small. The only slightly upmarket Veg Resto. Old menu card was published on the net and had to literally convince the manager otherwise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sharanam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sharanam

Address: Eastern Express Highway Service Road | (Near New R.T.O, Opp. Ramkrishna Nagar), Thane 400604, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Thane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sharanam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sharanam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sharanam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.