We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agri Tourism at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarpa (Sawe) Farms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarpa (Sawe) Farms
Save
You added Tarpa (Sawe) Farms to your Saves list
Post Gholwad, Thane 401702, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Thane
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Agri Tourism at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Well looking for a quick, eco-friendly, affordable yet luxurious getaway ... Look no further Sawe Farms is the place to be. You feel really proud when you look at what Mr. Prabhakar Sawe has done to this piece of land with his sheer determination and hard work. His son Aditya Sawe is bringing in his innovations like zip lines, rope climbing etc. which adds up to the vacation experience.

The food here is of the best quality, served Hot and on time. There are several activities that you can do here like visiting the farm (35 acres of it), seeing the inhouse tribal museum, read books with their library, have fun with friends with their tree top machans or just relax in the hammocks. For people wanting to go for sight seeing you have Bordi beach and the Jain Temple closeby. For kids there are several animals like Ducks, Swans, Hens, Rabbits, Emu, Turtles and a one big St. Bernard.

The rooms are very neat and clean, hot water is available mostly in the mornings and the food is delicious with something of chickoo everyday (pickels, halwa etc) :-). They also sell fresh farm products like chickoos, carrots, leafy vegetables, cabbage, chickoo products etc. The USP of this place is that it is hardly 2 hours from Mumbai on the Mumbai Ahemdabad highway and yet you feel so far away from the crowd. During winters they ensure that they have a fire lit outside your room so that you can enjoy that experience post your dinner with friends and family.

Looking forward to our next quick vacation to Sawe Farms.

Room Tip: If you are a group of more than 4 people then choose the Deluxe rooms as it can accomodate 6- people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andheri,Mumbai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were a family of 17 persons, seniors youths and children. All of us enjoyed our stay, food and roaming in the farm. The cottages accommodate 2 to 5 persons in a cottage. The cottages are neat and clean. bathroom and toilet too as per city standard. Hot water for a limited period but very warm. The food is simple but fresh and tasty.
In evening, we visited nearby Bordi Beach.
In a cool night , we had a good camp-fire.
Next day we had a tour of the farm with Mr. Anil Sawe, who took us around the farm and explained us all about eco-agriculture. Adventure activities like, river-crossing, tree-climbing, fishing and swimming took a good time of young members of our family.
In Lunch we had aamras, frozen and stored but taste like fresh. .After a/n tea we departed from there with all of us pleased with our wk.end outing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Save farms is located in the quiet, quaint chickoo growing district of Gholvad that is based on the concept of Agri Eco tourism. It's a great place to unwind, away from the hustle and bustle of the city where one can get their hands on farming experience. The butterfly park, plant nursery of some medicinal plants and herbs, indigenously developed dehydrating unit for fruits and vegetables, bee-keeping etc are some of it's highlights. Visitors are taken around their 50 acre farm that's largely based on sustainable agriculture.
Other activities like valley crossing, flying fox, rope course etc. are very well maintained and child friendly. The package here includes breakfast and lunch which is simple, homely and fresh. Dehydrated chickoos, pure mango pulp, fresh farm produce are sold at their counter.
It's very important that you wear comfortable footwear, and carry bottles of water for your farm visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent stress releiving tour . Advantage is that no hectic travelling, exersion while reaching & returning from the tour.Food ,service, housekeeping marvelous. Adventure sports is the feast for kids. Also kids enjoy cycling,swiming,badminton.Very much punctual in lunch,dinner& breakfast timmings.Sightseeing like Bordi beach,Jain Temple at Kolbad, Aswali dam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I have been here very often. Its an amazingly peaceful place where you can enjoy the beauty of nature. Its not like a resort but its a farm where you get to learn, enjoy, rest and have really good food - Simple food, fresh ingredients! The accommodation is very comfortable. Fishing is my favorite activity at the farm. If you love nature, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

it's a marvellous & beautiful experience .The farm & adventure activity are enjoyable.In addition, the food is very nice. Accommodation with a homely touch. The attendants and staff were all very knowledgeable in worli tribal culture, adding to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

In all honesty, I didn't expect Sawe farms to offer much to our group of 11 that hasn't already been offered by other beach resort; but oh was I wrong. Tarpa is a stunning portrayal of tribal primitive agriculture at its simple best! Run by locals who evidently understand warli tribal culture, Tarpa offers a unique prospective on India's backbone..

Room Tip: Get rooms 6/7/8 for a tribal building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tarpa (Sawe) Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpa (Sawe) Farms

Address: Post Gholwad, Thane 401702, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Thane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarpa (Sawe) Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.