We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business trip, friendly and helpfully staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silver Avenue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Silver Avenue
Ostwal Empire, next to big bazar | Boisar (West), Thane 401501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Thane
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Good for Business trip, friendly and helpfully staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Mostly agree with DRMB review. On previous trip I stayed in Mumbai, 5 star, and commuted out to Palgar / Boisar. Don't be fooled by your Nav app - it's fully 2 hours of traffic stress each way.
Staying at Silver Avenue, and commuting maybe 20 min is a much better, and safer, option.
It is no 5 star, but you're in the "outback", and you're paying a quarter the room rate.
The stand out is the service, both at the front counter, and in the restaurant. The food is really good, I've just been going with the waiter's recommendation, and they will happily ease off the heat (chilli) when asked.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from a brief stay at this 'hotel' during a 2 week business trip to India. Choose to stay here for 2 nights to allow easy access to MIDC, rather than taking the long drive to and from Mumbai each day.....what a mistake!. This is one of the worst 'hotels' I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

The pre-booked 'standard' room was not only tiny but also dingy, and contained only 2 single beds and a small closet, along with a small wet room with shower, basin and toilet. On enquiring whether there was anything else, I was shown a double room which, whilst larger, was similarly dingy and with the same size wet room....still, it was a slightly better option so went with the double.

Air conditioning was reliant on a window mounted unit and whilst this was fairly effective, it was incredibly noisy. So, apart from the air conditioning keeping me awake, 3 times during the first night 'someone' tried the door to my room and I ended up with a seat from the room blocking the doorway - please note previous reviews about lack of security on the doors in this place.

Showering was an experience!. Water pressure was variable (as expected) but this was also mirrored in the temperature and volume of water eminating from the shower head - a case of running round to get wet!.

Staff were generally unattentive throughout our stay, although the only plus I can recall is the restaurant, which seemed out of keeping with the rest of the place - the food is cheap, very palatable and really rather good.

If you WANT to stay near the MIDC, this seems to be the only real choice but having had that experience, NEVER AGAIN. I would put up with the drive to and from Mumbai each day, rather than stay another night in this place. Please be warned.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'Suite' or at worst, a double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
355 helpful votes 355 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Boisar is about 2 hours by car at least from Mumbai airport, even more on a bad day. Or about 90 min by car from the Fountain Hotel, the landmark place to stop after clearing Mumbai traffic when heading North.

The town is about 50,000 and there is a nearby MIDC area with a few facotries starting up. Also the nuclear power station nearby. We stayed 2 nights at the Silver Ave Hotel rather than fact 4-6 hours travel each day, and we found the hotel to be a reasonable place to stay with an excellent restaurant, attached.

I am not sure what the previous and only other reviewer was on (weed?) but you need to know the following are not correct:

"deep inside hilly area" is false - the city and sourrounds are as flat as a tack

"surrounded by beach and brezzy air flowing all the way", Boisar is 7km to the coast and at least 17km to the not very nice beach - and it is not a tourist place,

"surrounded by villagers" which is typical Indian town with associated congestion,

"I feel this is where you can actually enjoy the pleasure of being at an ouuting and picnic." you would NOT come by car from Mumbai to have a picnic in this town!

"Overal is one of the nature's beauty" Hardly and the opposite is true, this is a gritty congested typical India town with NO beauty! See photos

But it is OK for a few nights stay

We did find it OK, AC. TV, shower, somewhat strange toilet with a bendy plastic seat.

You need to remember the doors are not self locking,

Good staff and the highlight was a good restaurant. We had garlic nan, cheese nan, 2 parathas, tandoor roast chicken 1/2, steamed mixed vegetables, Singpaore chicken, rice and 4 beers for 2 people, about 500Rp each including tip. Breakfast forgettable but included in the room rate of about US55 a night.

The tandoor chicken was really nice.

Recommended but you need to know this is NOT western 3 star but India 3 star. Eyes wide open please

Room Tip: You don't get a choice but it doesn't matter, the town is quiet at night and there is no hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

It was really wonderfull to be at this place. Specially far from the metros, deep inside hilly area, surrounded by beach and brezzy air flowing all the way. Its located deep inside virar area, surrounded by villagers and everything as cheap as nothing.

With reference to cost of the rooms, these are comparatively quite economical as compared to 3 stars hotel within mumbai. This is comparatively too much low cost hotel and the reason is because its outside the surroundings of mumbai. I feel this is where you can actually enjoy the pleasure of being at an ouuting and picnic.

Overal is one of the nature's beauty and this hotel is located at the prime spot of the area. I'll always say that one must always be to this hotel. I myself have visted nearly more than 3-4 times till now and will keep going there around once in a month.

  • Liked — Location, Quality, Service, Hospitality
  • Disliked — Additional facilities
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silver Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Avenue

Address: Ostwal Empire, next to big bazar | Boisar (West), Thane 401501, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Thane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Thane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a corporate hotel situated at the heart of the city easily accessible through car and train. We are located near the railway station and near by beaches and industrial area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silver Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Silver Avenue to your Saves list