We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau D'Etoges to your Saves list
Chateau D'Etoges
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Great, go there....location, food, rooms, wine and champagne fantastic! The only negative I have to say is that the staff in the restaurant wanted us to leave before we were finished...I advise everyone to bring their spouse and go to this place for a weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    199
    44
    26
    5
See reviews for
65
377
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chateau for two nights in June to celebrate our silver wedding. We were greeted warmly by reception and taken to a lovely room on the ground floor. This was obviously an upgrade to our original booking of an attic room and was beautiful with views of the moat and the gardens. We ate in the restaurant for our anniversary dinner and the food was to die for. It is located in a small village with a local store and some lovely champagne houses. Sadly it was Sunday and they were closed. What a wonderful excuse to come back and enjoy this wonderful chateau and its amazing food again. We are already planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the cheapest room in the Chateau, the attic room Jeaune. We had dinner twice and a massage at the spa.

Wow! Spacius, big bath with separate toilett, window and a strong fan that cooled the whole room down.

The breakfast is just ok, but the resturant is suberb! There is a store 5 min walk down town with all you need.

The garden is amazing, and you can walk for hours in the wineyerds.

The grounds around the hotel is magic and the spa is great. We had 2 60 min massages, so relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orivesi, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The castle was a bit of poor management, but charming and atmospheric. The restaurant was excellent and the service was great. Our rooms was in castle, but still our daughters room has its own entrance from otside and that room was at the back of quite a long staircases. They didn't like that at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateaudetoges, Assistant manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Ari from Finland,

My staff and I have taken note of your highly positive comments about the charming chateau, the excellent restaurant and the great service.

I regret that you have make your reservation through the "anonymous" booking_com engine. I warmly encourage you to book directly with our hotel (by email, phone or on our own website) in order we can adapt your booking according to your requirements.

I have checked your booking: you have booked 2 double rooms for 4 adults (you never mentionned that it will be for a couple with 2 children); if you had contacted us directly, we would have allocated you two adjoining rooms.

We regret that few details not totally live up to your expectations and be sure that we are taking measures to correct them.

The owner (general manager) and me were on duty during all your stay in Etoges and we regret that you do not have expressed us directly your comments about the management. We regret also that you have waiting for more than one year after your stay to make this first and only review.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you soon in Champagne.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After a long journey...two flights and then picking up a car at Paris's CDG airport we drove for two hours to Etoges. Tired and hungry we arrived at the Chateau and were welcomed at the friendly reception.

Our two teenage children were dying for wifi....my husband and I dying for champagne! So we we were all happy! We sat in the beautiful sunshine having a glass of bubbles...it was perfect after a long journey.

We stayed in the Orangerie. The furnishings are a little tired but the space and cleanliness made up for that! We had two large bedrooms and a separate toilet and bathroom.

The restaurant is fabulous! We ate there twice and were not disappointed!

After a big day out visiting the larger champagne houses...the one that really surprised us with beautiful champagne was across the road from the Chateau. Sadly they do not export!

I am an early waker but here I found myself struggling to wake before 930am each day...great beds and heavenly serenity!

It really did exceed our expectations...in every way! A great few days for mum,dad and the teens!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the last hotel of our French tour and whilst not as sumptuous as the previous chateau, it has much appeal. It was more like being a guest in a stately home. Comfortable and large bedroom with historic paintings and frescoes. Lovely view of gardens. The new purpose built Orangery is the place to dine and the food was as excellent as previously enjoyed in other hotels. Top quality service and menus. Nice continental breakfast in main house. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you like history opt for the chateau, otherwise the new Orangery has rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on the way back from a cycling trip in the Alps.

This is as close to staying in an authentic chateau I think you can realistically experience. Recommend booking the chateau itself. This isn't five star and nor is it meant to be but it certainly takes some beating as an experience.

The highlight is being able to sit in the sun at the restaurant, sipping champagne, looking back at the chateau and being treated to a superb meal.

Don't pretend this will be cheap, this was my second stay, and it is worth saving for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Address: 4 Rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Champagne-Ardenne > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau D'Etoges 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau D'Etoges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.