We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but out of date --makeover needed! ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Fere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Fere to your Saves list
Chateau de Fere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fismes, 02130 Fere-en-Tardenois, France   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice, but out of date --makeover needed! ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

Yes, this hotel is in a quite and beautiful setting. Based on my experience however, this is all the hotel has going for it. The rooms are terribly old and worn. The floors are wheathered and uneven. While this can be charming in some cases, when the bed slopes it is not fun. The bed sheets are so old and starched that I could not get comfortable in bed. While the service was nice, the food is over-rated and overpriced compared to other fine restaurants in the champagne region. This place needs a makeover to justify the prices!!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    30
    20
    13
See reviews for
30
126
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2005

Chateua De Fere is fantastic. I'll admit the room itself was a little disapponting. But everything else more than made up for it. I have stayed at othe 5 star hotels and the staff at this hotel put them all to shame. The 1200s castle on the grounds is awesome you have to go walk around it. But do not bother staying at this hotel without having dinner. The service is impeccable the quail soup is to die for. It's a pricy dinner but if you're going to splurge anywhere this is where to do it. And go for the house Champagne. Louis Casteres it is the best champagne, we've tried to special order it back home in the states it is sooo good.

  • Stayed April 2000
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2004

An impressive situation and entrance but you soon see how tired the property is. The decor of the 215 Euro superior room on the top floor had a splendid view of the ruined chateau in the garden but was old fashioned and smelt of stale tobacco smoke. The toilet seat was not quite secure (not to mention that it was a particularly hideous fading peach colour). The carpet in the bathroom (seriously, carpet in the bathroom) was badly stained in several areas and had large bleach marks. Dinner was good with an interesting and well put-together degustation menu and an impressive wine list which yielded two scrumptious gems. Service was brusque and efficient with just a little attitude. This attitude did not completely fall away when the waiter spilt an entire glass of red wine over my fellow diner. Although we were swiftly moved to another table and a new plate of (delicious) canon of lamb was brought, no extra napkins or towels were offered to dry my friends sopping clothes. Nor was the half bottle of Burgundy replaced, instead we were offered a quite different, and not nearly as pleasing, Bordeaux. What was even more galling was that it did not appear that the management had been informed. Once we had informed the manager, we were given two glasses of champagne, sadly this was rather small recompense. After some negotiation we did not have to pay for the Burgundy but we left disatisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

Wonderful experience once the room was sorted... we booked a superior 215 euro room which were huge (we saw 3 of them) but in the holiday inn style (modern yet very tired) in the conference extension (certainly not as advertised!). We eventually persuaded them to upgrade us (Tip: SLH.com club upgrade!) to a 320 euro room, which was more like it - antique furniture in a style befitting the chateau. From then on it was pure excellence - lovely pool, beautiful surroundings with the old ruins and the surrounding wooded parkland. The restaurant also excelled as you might expect, with complimentary drinks served whilst we checked in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2004

I visited the Chateau in April with a large group. The grounds are fabulous - beautifully kept and picturesque. The pool area is beautiful and overlooks serene fields that were in full yellow bloom while we were there. The guest rooms varied a bit in style and comfort - ours was a bit tired but others were bright and cheerful. There is a lovely garden area for drinks or breakfast and a pretty rooftop seating area overlooking the ruins, especially nice at sunset. The dining room is wonderful - impeccable service, good wine list, outstanding food. The nearby village of Fere-en-Tardois is walkable (about 1 mile away) and there is a pretty park for walking and horseback riding across the main road from the chateau. Overall, a delight in every way.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2003

We booked a 215 E room at Ch de Fere about 3 miles north of Fere-en-Tardenois. It is not convenient to Reims, or anywhere else, but was a lovely spot for overnight. Made a circuit from Reims to Laon to Pierrefronds, back to Fere.

When we pulled in, the valet ran to the car to greet us and a hostess also came out to welcome us. Very nice touch. The room had no air conditioning, but was very pleasant inside. The chateau is lovely and the real Chateau de Fere ruins next door are very romantic. The hotel has a great pool and wonderful grounds.

Dinner was almost a no go. We were seated, but it took 30 minutes to take our order and we got up to leave. The maitre d was so embarrassed they brought us champage to make up for it. It truly was a mistake on his part. The meal was worth staying for. We had the 86 E tasting meal.
It was foie gras, lobster, sea bass, and veal. It was spectacular.
There was even a 35 E wine tasting accompaniment. Being an afficianado of great wine, I was quite impressed with the quality of the wine married to the food. My wife does not eat fruit, and the chef produced 4 substitute courses sans fruit. It was wonderful.

We stayed in 4 chateau on this trip and this was probably the best. Air conditioning would have been nice, but it is tough to convert these old places and it was unusually hot. The staff is very helpful and the grounds are worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Fere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fere

Address: Route de Fismes, 02130 Fere-en-Tardenois, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Fere-en-Tardenois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fere-en-Tardenois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Fere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Chateau de Fere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Fere-En-Tardenois Hotel Fere-En-Tardenois
Chateau De Fere Hotel
Chateau De Fere France/Fere-En-Tardenois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Fere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.