We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Fere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Fere to your Saves list
Chateau de Fere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Fismes, 02130 Fere-en-Tardenois, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not 5*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I read the reviews with interest as they are quite varied and I can understand why they are so mixed. The venue is lovely and very peaceful but just lacks those little extra touches that make a hotel 5*. We had a very pleasant time but don't want to give a misleading review to people who expect a certain standard when paying top price.

Whilst the staff were very nice they just didn't quite have that polish that we have come to expect from a top hotel. The food was very good but the menu quite limited and stays the same. We would have loved to sit out and have lunch and drink champagne in the afternoon but there is only one option for lunch so we drove into the nearby village which is only 5 minutes away but meant one of us couldn't have a drink.

Breakfast improved after the first day when there was no hot food or fruit which was surprising but did appear on subsequent days perhaps because they were busier but just wouldn't happen in a 5* hotel.

The grounds are great if you like to explore and have a walk.

The room was fine although agree it does get quite hot and yes we did open the windows and doors but being on the ground floor wouldn't feel secure leaving them open all night. The toilet did smell. Having a terrace was lovely with the view of the ruins but the furniture was quite grubby.

It was very disappointing to find that the swimming pool was empty and surrounded by broken furniture covered in bird poo. The weather was glorious and one of the reasons we chose this hotel was because there was a pool to sit out by.

They do have a spa but everything was switched off so we had to wait for the sauna to warm up and one of the rooms didn't work at all. The Jacuzzi never got to an acceptable heat so all we did was have a sauna. I did have nice massage though.

This could be a great hotel but they really need to up the game when charging the prices they do. It really wouldn't take much. I would love to go back in a year and find a true 5* hotel but at the moment would struggle to recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your message and for your comments.
I am glad that you enjoyed the Château and the landscape which are indeed amazing.
I am also pleased that you liked the food and you superior room with terrace.
I am deeply sorry that when you came mid May, we had to empty the pool for maintenance. Anyway, the outside temperature was about 19°, which seemed little cold for a swim.
The spa was nevertheless fully available. For energy savings, we do not leave the different things on all day long. It takes anyway 5 minutes to get the sauna warm and 10 minutes for the wonderful new hammam. The pool spa is also always available with a perfect temperature to mix with hammam and sauna.
Thank you anyway for your comments and looking forward to welcoming again soon,

Kind regards,

Olivier Roussellier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    90
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
32
139
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We had the privilege of visiting this beautiful chateau last May. As I've said in past reviews, my BFF and I go to Europe once a year, leaving kith and kin for an adventure. Last years adventure took us to Paris and then I drove to the little town of Fere-en-Tardenois with many a hilarious mishap along the way. Once we arrived, we we're enthralled with the beautiful chateau. One must be adventurous, for this is no Marriott. It is as if you've been thrown into the 16th century. The rooms are beautiful, with period furnishings and the food and service is exceptional! (May I mention the amazing gilded apple sprinkled with gold leaf we had for dessert? No plain jellied apple this!) but the very best thing about the chateau is the ability to explore the ruins of 2nd century castle on the grounds at twilight. What a thrill for any history buff! Imagining the placement of the rooms and climbing among the old stones is so exciting! Just crossing the old moat gives one the feeling of being back in time. I believe this place should be on everyone's bucket list.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Mrs Harriet,
Thank you so much for your kind message.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed the magnificence of the Château de Fère. The site is definitely timeless between the ruins of the 13th castle and the real modernity of our hotel rooms.
It is also extremely nice to hear that your enjoyed the specialities of our pastry Chef.
As you mention, Château de Fère should be on everyone's bucket list.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Olivier Roussellier
General Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely place, great surrounding, it looks like being in a fairytale. Room are clean and very big and spacious which always help. The service are good but it would have been a much nicer experience if the staff would have been more friendly. Don’t take me wrong, they were NOT rude, they were nice and polite but very cold, you didn’t have the welcome feeling, this was the only down point.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Mrs Tartamella,
Thank you so much for your message.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in room 28 and that you also liked the quality of our Chef's food in our restaurant.
Thank you also for your remark regarding the staff, which is clearly a sign of timidity.
It is always positive to listen to the guest experience in order to alwayd tend to the best quality of servic.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards,
Olivier Roussellier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our short trip to Champagne region. I have very mixed feelings about our stay. Some things were fine and some quite disappointing. Hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, there is at least 20 min drive to the nearest place where you can have lunch. Hotel grounds are beautiful and old castle ruins are spectacular. Our room was big but very bland. Room of this size could be easily sold as luxury suite, but it lacked charm and looked very tired, not "antique". It had plenty of space but it was not cosy as no sofa was present. There are two pools at the hotel, the outside pool was supposed to be heated but it was so freezing That even my very keen son did not take a risk to jump into cold water. Surprisingly our biggest disappointment was the restaurant. The quality of food was good but overall atmosphere so unfriendly that it was impossibly to enjoy it. Bear in mind that we had 3 children with us but one waiter was so rude that it made me cringe. There is no high hair for babies, no children menu at the restaurant. The waiter suggested some meat with pasta which we took. This was the most expensive children meal I ever had - 42 Euro per person and it was only half eaten. I usually don't like to hear complains about cost as good hotels and good restaurants are expensive but at this place it was a joke. Avoid this hotel when travelling with young children as kids are not welcome at this place. Possibly I would write a different review if we stayed as a couple.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORoussellier, Directeur général at Chateau de Fere, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give your impressions regarding our Château.
It has been a real pleasure for us to welcome you and to organize your first trip in the Champagne Region.
I am so glad to hear, as you said upon departure, that you spent a real nice time at the Château and enjoyed it very much.
Just a few remarks regarding the different points you mention.
The hotel is located 5 minutes and not 20 minutes away from the village of Fère en Tardenois, village where you may find a few local bars and restaurants. The problem you faced was to find a place open for lunch at 3:00 PM, which could be a bit difficult in this village.
Our pool is heated, but as you could easily feel, the nights are still very cold in early April and with a deep pool like we have, it remains chilly. The outside pool is fully available when the outside temperature is high between mid-may and september. Kindly notice that we also have an inside pool in the spa whose temperature is high.
Regarding the restaurant, we do have high chairs but you did not use it for your kids aged of 10, 11 & 13. For their meals, your teenagers could have ordered the Fascination Menu for 55 Euros charged with a 50 % discount for kids under the age of 12. They preferred the "Boeuf" from La Carte.
I am sure you and your family will keep a very good souvenir of your stay in our Château. We will be extremely pleased to welcome you another time,

Kind regards,

Olivier Roussellier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night in July and really enjoyed it. The atmosphere is very adventurous and the staff are nice. The wines and the Champagne taste really good, maybe also because this is the right area for that kind of liquid ;) The rooms are beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was quite close to the champagne region, but far enough away (30 mins to Hautvilliers) to be unlikely to be spoiled by tourist frivolity. It was a great choice - a comfortable hotel in a spectacular setting with a top class restaurant. If you are interested in history, the site is hard to beat - the hotel was built in the nineteenth century from the stone of the old chateau pulled down in the revolution in a vain attempt by its owner (Philippe Egalite) to persuade the masses that he was indeed one of them. Effectively, he seems to have lost his head twice. The ruins of the old building proudly remain as a reminder of the ancient regime, and its breathtaking achievements (for some). If a gourmet, you will certainly not be disappointed. Three prix fixed menus were available - 30, 55 and 95 euros. We went for the Menu Fascination at 55 euros, and it was delicious. Prepared and presented with meticulous care, innovative in places, and reassuring in others such as the cheeseboard. The wine list is nicely balanced, although not a huge selection below 60 euros. The Hugel riesling at 45 euros seems to us to be the best value white, although there was a good Rully too. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated - although "inowreview" makes an interesting point about the lack of air-conditioning. As we visited in March this was not an issue, but we fully intend to go back in the summer to enjoy the swimming pool and the tennis court, so will see. The staff were all charming. Breakfast at 22 euros is no doubt good value if you want to eat a lot, but not quite so good if you just want coffee and a bit of fruit. A small glitch, though, which we probably should have sorted out earlier, and certainly not enough to diminish our highest praise for the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We booked this hotel on Expedia to break our journey from skiing in Switzerland so pleased we did! The chateau is very beautiful and the ruins of Chateau de Fere a breathtaking view. The staff were extremely welcoming and we were upgraded to a very comfortable suite overlooking the ruins.

Dinner was spectacular!!!!! The scallops St Jacques were the best I gave ever eaten, the broth deserving special mention, absolutely delicious, as was my husbands risotto. We both had lobster again faultless, beautifully presented and tasted sublime. I could not resist the Grand Marnier soufflé! Hmmmmmm.

After a comfortable night's sleep, breakfast (buffet) was excellent, everything you could want !
A lovely end to our holiday, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Fere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Fere

Address: Route de Fismes, 02130 Fere-en-Tardenois, France
Location: France > Picardy > Aisne > Fere-en-Tardenois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fere-en-Tardenois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Fere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau de Fere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Fere-En-Tardenois Hotel Fere-En-Tardenois
Chateau De Fere Hotel
Chateau De Fere France/Fere-En-Tardenois

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Fere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.