We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pane Vino Trattoria & Wine Bar

Pane Vino Trattoria & Wine Bar
56 Kent Street West, Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes, Ontario K9V 2Y4, Canada
+1 705-878-4663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 restaurants in Lindsay
Price range: $9 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: 5 Year Anniversary June 2014! Pane Vino prides itself on supporting Local Farmers and Producers. We use Fresh, Local & Seasonal ingredients in our Menu supporting our Motto of ' Farm to Table' sustainability! Great Winelist, with hard to find wines from Italy, California, Australia & Local Ontario producers. Catering for all events available. Owner Sommelier Louis Elias Karkabasis Chef Andrew Munro
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant for my birthday after reading so many great reviews. We were a bit disappointed. I felt like having a summery drink rather than a glass of wine and ordered a Singapore Sling. The waitress had never heard of it, so we asked for the drink menu. I ordered a Tom Collins from their list and the waitress said they didn't have the ingredients. Not sure if it was gin, lime juice or what exactly they didn't have. My daughter asked for a recommendation for a red wine similar to malbec, which wasn't available. The wine the waitress suggested wasn't a good alternative. Our food was pretty good, however the gnocchi was overcooked and mushy. This restaurant is only OK in our opinion especially when you consider the prices are very high. I expect more for my money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    32
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Amazing food. Great service. A wonderful place for drinks and dinner, with family and friends. The wine is exceptional

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find in Lindsay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our business trip to Lindsay came with low expectations. Small town Ontario definitely delivered some challenges in finding a reasonable hotel to stay in. Our expectations for dinner were that we would likely end up at a chain restaurant.

We were all pleasantly surprised to find Pane Vino was open on Sunday for dinner, looked good, and delivered a strong result that we had not expected.

Reasonably good wine list certainly had lots enough choices to meet our needs. They do advertise as a wine bar so should be no surprise that they had a good selection. Between us we had a good selection of appetizers, soup, salads, pastas. Personally I can say that the Four Cheese Gnocchi were excellent (although a touch salty likely due to the four italian cheeses which I then added more parma to). The mixed olive appetizer was great for sharing and was made up of a nice selection of meaty olives in a tasty marinade.

The soup special was asparagus. Unfortunately, as a vegetarian, I couldn't try it as it was chicken stock based (I still don't understand why restaurants can't avoid chicken stock for vegetable soups . . . there are lots of vegetarian stocks that would do just as well and would sell more soup).

Service was pleasant and professional. Our server, Hillary, was there at the right times making our dinner experience comfortable. Definitely will recommend this to friends and business associates and will certainly be back on our next trip into the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celista, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great food, good choice of wines, very with friendly . Your host is very hands on, knowledgeable, and worked well with his staff. The food, a great selection of locally harvested meats, beautifully prepared yet not over the top pricey ($$$ in my rating below not to be a negative at all). Most definitely a place to recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The Finest Meal in Lindsay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Last evening we dined again I Pane Vino in Lindsay Ontario. What a treat! We were greeted by an always beautiful and professional server who showed us to our usual table. We split the delicious antipasto and then Lynn had the local trout and I had the always delicious Bolognese. Perfect service and excellent food. The owner took the time to spend with us. He has an excellent philosophy on how to run a fine restaurant. We always enjoy our dining experience there. A true treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pane Vino Trattoria & Wine Bar also viewed

Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 
Lindsay, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Pane Vino Trattoria & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pane Vino Trattoria & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.