We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquito Attack!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quilchena Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quilchena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quilchena Hotel
Highway 5A North, Quilchena, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Quilchena
Valle Crucis, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mosquito Attack!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This old Hotel was once a Grand Lady. Today she is dated, frumpy and in need of updates...like window screens to keep out the prehistoric mosquitos. The wallpaper is 80's style as are the bed linens...although the beds themselves were very comfortable. Not so for the spongy pillows. There is no free coffee offered in the morning, as with most hotels in this century, and dinner was very expensive for what it was. The hotel sits right on the road, and the big rigs start running early. We didn't stay for breakfast, instead hit the Starbucks in Merrit and then the highway. Havng said that, The staff is VERY helpful and friendly and the place is spit-polish clean. It's just tired. Comfortable enough, kind of like an old pair of tennis shoes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

nice hotel, takes you back in time, saloon, living room with old piano, comfortable and clean rooms, reasonable price. Very good breakfast available, backyard with options for horseback riding, golf..

Room Tip: there is a variety of rooms available. We hat a simple room with bathroom/shower to share. It was cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I spent the night at the Quilchena Hotel with my husband the night of our wedding. It was just perfect. It's historic and quaint, with antique furniture in the rooms and creaking floors. We had a lovely steak dinner in their restaurant and delicious salmon eggs benedict for breakfast in the morning.

As others have said, careful of the mosquitos. When the sun goes down they come out in full force!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hi, We attended a wedding at the quilchena in July.
The good and the not so good.
The staff were amazing. Helpfull at all times,always with a smile, a great place for a wedding,especially if you plan to stay overnight,as there is no worry about drinking and driving.The hotel is very old and quaint,no tv,s in the rooms.The hotels website gives info on activities in the area mainly golf and horseback riding.
The hotel rooms. The top floor are the only rooms with air conditioning,and it gets very hot in summer. We had a number of friends in rooms on the floor below us and they had trouble sleeping, the rooms were like hothouses.Mosquitos they came in droves,we all came home covered in mosquito bites,but we all had a good time nevertheless.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I've tried to write a review of the lovely hotel here but Trip Advisor doesn't appear to list it. We were there for one night in JUly 09 and I loved its rustic charm and Victorian decor. We had a twin bedded room with shower and a meal in the bar. Only downside is the mosquito problem. Do not be tempted to view the lake in the evening!
Nice shop. Would have like more cowboys given that it is a real ranch - all staff women so a bit one-sided in its style.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quilchena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quilchena Hotel

Address: Highway 5A North, Quilchena, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Quilchena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Quilchena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quilchena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Quilchena Hotel to your Saves list