We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awana Genting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Awana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Awana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Awana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awana Genting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I checked in there for business. The room is rather dated and needs a fair bit of refurbishment. However the view from the room is magnificent. And you don't really need to switch on the air-con at night as it is cool enough with the window open. But sometimes the breeze can be a bit strong though.

Buffet breakfast and lunch are quite extensive. Food served is quite good. A wide variety of deserts too.

The facilities at the hotel are great. There are plenty of activities that can be done besides gold. Its a really ideal place for families and also for companies holding their conferences or teambuilding exercises.

Room Tip: Higher room gives you better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    166
    96
    38
    34
See reviews for
197
101
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I went with group of friends over weekend. We got room on twenty fifth floor and view was breathtaking from there. Room was big and clean, has all the facilities. Great thing was they have two double beds in the room. Breakfast spread has lot of options. Room service was prompt, check in and check out was efficient. They have shuttle to first world hotel. I think they should have more restaurants and more food choices. It's just that it is little secluded from the happening area but I will prefer staying it there instead of crowded first world hotels.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

AWANA HOTEL
* Services-Front desk Ms.Rose talking in very arrogant voice and tone.
* Room & cleanliness-Move in house very dirty,plate no clean,messy around the room
* Breakfast voucher lost in the room but not allow to go in for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the tower hotel.The room was big,clean and cozy.The hotel itself is quite big as you need to walk a big far from the reception at lobby to the nearest elevator.Food is good and lots of choices and the restaurant has open air area where you can sit and see the view clearly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Must stay in tower hotel on top most floor. Good service. Unfortunately we had a tiny lizard in our room, when requested to front desk in change of room they immediately changed our rooms. We were staying on 27 floor and shifted to 22 floor. Food is very good. There is a minimart within the hotel and its nice to take a walk. They provide with free shuttle service to theme park, the timing sheet is provided in the room. Very cordial staff and room service. Shuttle service is provided to bus station where bus can be taken to KL.

Room Tip: Stay in tower hotel. Also provide rooms with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first time going to Genting. We decided to stay 2D1N at Awana resort hotel. After reading some reviews from here, we had no high expectations for the place. We assume that the rooms are small and old-fashioned.
We had a room on the 23rd floor and to our surprise, the room was spacious! We had 2 Queen sized bed and a small balcony (which is enough for our family of three) attached to our room. Our balcony overlooked the lush greenery of the golf course and the First World Resorts at the peak. Definitely a good place to relax and laze around.
The Staff are knowledgable and friendly.
Being a distance from the main Genting attractions, Awana scheduled a 24hrs shuttle bus service to and fro between the First World Hotels and Awana Resort.
There is also a bus service to Awana Skyway.
Amenities Available: A minimart, Foot massage, Golf Course walk etc
There are 3 restaurants to fulfill our cravings. We had our lunch at Flavours Cafe which served western cuisine. The food was delicious at a reasonable price. Its located next to the pool.
Later on, we had our dinner at Rajawali Restaurant. We were welcomed by the soothing music by Mercy Akoustika.The food did not fail us either. Another place for good food. Too bad, we didnt had a chance to try the 3rd restaurant.

The only minus point from the whole trip was the payable WIFI network. Not only it was payable, it was only for ONE Device. Our family of three had devices of our own and because of this, we had to share and take turns on one device. The connectivity was slow and bad. We could only connect to network after a few hours of purchasing a 24hr 'plan'.
The hotel could upgrade this Wifi service, so that all guest are able to get free Wifi wherever they are in the hotel vicinity.

We cant review on their golf course as we are all not golfers :), but looking at the number of golfers arriving at the hotel, we guess its course is promising.

On the whole, we had a good experience and are actually planning a 3D2N getaway some time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

It’s not the first time I’ve been to this hotel, and it probably won’t be the last either. This is my preferred hotel choice whenever we decide to take a weekend excursion up in Genting Highlands. The hotel is situated halfway on the way up to Genting resort, about a 15min drive away. So it is quiet and away from the hustle that you get up in the resort town, unless you are the kind that will be spending much of your time in the casino and wants a hotel room to crash that is 2min walk away from the casino entrance.

You can get good room deals on their website every now and then, which represents real value. I booked the Deluxe room that is situated in the tower and it is really spacious. The Deluxe twin room is equipped with 2 queen size beds! And you still have room for the kids to run around a bit. The room is clean and tidy, nothing fanciful but just very decent. Room amenities are basic and you have a kettle with some coffee and tea. They charge you for in-room WiFi access, but to us locals this is not an issue as we have data plans on our mobile devices anyway. There is a swimming pool in the hotel, and also a very nice garden to spend some quiet time with a book for a change. I never did try any of the restaurants in the hotel as we normally eat out in Genting resort, but the breakfast provided is typically well-spread and food quality is OK.

So if you are looking for something mid-range and value for money, wants a place that is decent and quiet, and don’t mind the drive up (or take a cable car) to where the actions take place, then this would be the ideal place.

P/s: The Genting outdoor theme park was closed for upgrading works when we were there. So check up on their schedule if you intend to visit it.

Room Tip: Look out for room deals on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.