We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fine stay.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands to your Saves list
Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.11 Block 2, Jalan Jati 1, Goh Tong Jaya, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a fine stay.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Upon arrival, hotel looks clean. Rooms are fairly sized but bathrooms are extremely small. Some shower knobs for the hot water do not work so you are left to bask in icy cold water and the surrounding temperature doesn't help. Food service is slow, extremely, an egg sandwich took about an hour to come. Paid RM10 for wifi that doesn't work. Waste of money. Overall not a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was here with my family, that means inclusive of my three active sons ranging from 3 to 8 years old. We stayed in a family room facing unfortunately the adjacent Mawar Apartment and not the opposite view of hillside but I have no complain since the room is quite spacious and clean. The staffs are helpful and friendly. The foods are acceptable in term of price and taste especially with the budget rating. What I like about this hotel is the location which is near Genting Skyway , I could go to Genting Theme Park without worrying about parking and the scarry downhill driving and the kids love the gondola ride.

Room Tip: Ask for front hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We had two unexplained power outages on our stay at this hotel, very inconvenient. Very interesting place to gamble. Lots of things for the kids to do. While you gamble. I like how the casinos are private ,just for adults, but the kids can play all day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This hotel is situated at Goh Tong Jaya. Its half way down from Genting Highlands. The surroundings are just small restaurants, chinese seafoods and shops. Nothing much to do there unless you have a car and all the Genting Highland hotels are full. The lobby is nice. The room is huge. Stayed in a twin room. Iron and ironing board is located outside of the room. So im not sure if u can request for one in the room. Staff are friendly. Only drawback is the toilet. Its kinda small.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Hotel Seri Malaysia, Genting Highlands, Malaysia
Best suited for families with own transport and willing to cut some corners by compromising a bit on the distance from the Genting highland.
As with any other Genting hotels, the rates are seasonal here with all the customary peaks and super-peaks. But being at down-hill, the rates are comparatively less than the hotels at top with a super-peak period rate of 200MYR for a standard room.

Hotel's located amidst a non-descript shopping complex at Gohtong Jaya. That said rooms are neat, well maintained and comes with all standard amenities.
Housekeeping standards are good and if ever you end up finding something not in order, the staff's willingness to help negates for it.
The room windows open to the adjacent plots and bushes - definitely dissappointing for those in the lookout for deep valleys or misty mountain views.
Reception desk and hotel staff are helpful in putting up to our needs and check-in was a breeze despite the peak crowds. Breakfast is typical continental spread with some Malay
dishes and altogether making it an average to good one.
Cable car station is 2 minutes away and so is the Genting strawberry farm. All in all, fits the the bill for those who'd want to enjoy Genting yet stay away from the overrated hotels on top.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabah
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This hotel is about 25 minute walking distant from the skyway genting. The hotel is facing the road. the service that i experience for 2 night stay at this hotel is good. The staff do their best to ensure our stay at their hotel with good experience even though the is no night event around the hotel only lots of chinese restaurant, 7eleven and india malay restaurant. But the morning view is very nice..We book superior room with two single bed. We were suprise to see our room is so big with large window and facing the rood. We can see genting light at night from the window. The room provide aircon, fan, fridge, tv has a good astro channel for adult and kids. The toilet only provide shower and no bath. The shower heater sometime not functioning well. Sometime we get very cool water eventhough the heater is turn on. The restaurant is big with limited selection but stil ok. This place is very quite with nice weather. We not recommend this hotel to people who love night events.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands

Address: No.11 Block 2, Jalan Jati 1, Goh Tong Jaya, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Malaysia Genting Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.