We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect spot in the countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilcornan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Curraghchase, Kilcornan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilcornan B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pefect spot in the countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Lovely stay, fun to tour the farm. Excellent full Irish breakfast their own bacon and sausage. Knowledgeable about things to do and see in the surrounding area

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We really enjoyed the warm welcome and hospitality shown to us by Caroline, Joe and the girls. They are committed to creating a great guest experience through a hands on farm experience and excellent organic food.

Rooms were nice and quite comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and Caroline and Joe's hard work inspired.

Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

I wish I had found this place sooner. We had cycled through SW Ireland for 2+ weeks, and this was our final night in the country before heading to the Shannon airport. It was the kind of place we had been hoping to find all along our route, but never did. This is an actual working farm, but somehow it doesn't smell one bit. We spent a couple hours touring the farm and talking to Joe. He and his wife Caroline are easily some of the nicest people we've ever met. Joe had plenty of work to do, but he took the time to talk to us about farm and how they've built it up into its current state. Just 10 years ago, it was a grass field. We had thought it must have been the kind of place that's been in the family for generations, but we were wrong. When we arrived, Caroline was working away in the farm shop but stopped what she was doing to make us tea, coffee, and delicious scones, which we happily devoured in the comfy living room. Our bedroom was the "summer room"--a couple windows opening to the farm out back, tall ceilings, nice wood floor, clean bathroom, and a wonderful bed. The breakfast in the morning was incredible. The bacon, sausage, pudding, and eggs all come right from the farm, so it couldn't be much fresher. Caroline had made bread for us that morning, too. Honestly, if we had known about this place sooner we would have stayed a couple more days. It is off the beaten track, but it really isn't too difficult to find at all, you just need to follow the signs to the farm shop.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

A wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived we were treated like long-lost friends, warmly welcomed and given tea and breads. This is not your average B&B...although the accommodations are first-rate (and modern with wireless internet connectivity) and quite beautiful (and close to Adare), the most endearing part is that this is a working farm with sheep, cows, horses, and pigs. The inn-keepers are enthusiastic about showing us around and allowing us to participate in the activities--even loaning us Wellies to walk around in the wetter areas. The Irish breakfast there is also NOT to be missed; everything comes from the farm...and is truly of gourmet quality. We'd go back in a heartbeat; the place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We received a great welcome during our stay at Rigney's including a tour of their special breeds pigs who are kept in great pig conditions. We were so glad to find somewhere outside of the somewhat twee Adare and yet gave us the opporutunity to visit it's unique character.
The Rigneys have done an amazing job building up this farm and business from nothing and the home reared and processed products which you are served for breakfast are something special - especially the white pudding.
Thanks to Caroline and the family for the hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

A works in progress! When the Rigney's get this working farm/ B & B done, it definetly will be a gem of a place. Room was spacious as well as the bathroom. Bed looked not to be inviting, but was pleasantly suprised! Breakfast was as good as usual. Mrs. R, in all that she does, managed to take the time to give us some hints for restaurants in Adare for our evening meal. While a little tricky getting there, it was worth it. Following website instructions is best. Look for signs for their Farm Store at second crossroads is a hint!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundaring, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

My husband and I have recently returned from 9 days in Ireland hopping from seven different B&B's with his parents.
We spent our fifth night in Ireland at Rigney’s Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast. We had no trouble finding the B & B and arrived at 5 pm after a long day sightseeing. I chose this B & B due to the many favorable comments on Trip advisor. We were warmly greeted by Joe who offered us fresh warm croissants with delicious jam, tea, and coffee. We were then informed at our rooms were not ready and could we wait for one hour until Caroline arrived home. This was the start of a few disappointments . Our room (the Oak Room) met our expectations it had a large Canopy Bed with antique furniture and the biggest bathroom we have ever seen. Our parents had a much smaller room with a double bed and a single bed crammed in with what I can only describe as a camping wardrobe. Their bathroom was quite small and the shower difficult to enter. While our room was clean, their room had food crumbs on the floor and looked in need of a through cleaning. There was a cot in the passageway with a disarray of linen. Having wooden floors we could hear other people walking about during the night from upstairs and on our level. When it came to breakfast although a menu was offered several of the items offered were not available even the common tomato. This was the most disappointing breakfast we had on our entire trip. Caroline did not cook enough sausages even though there were only three of us having a cooked meal. We have definitely tasted better sausages and bacon at other B & B’s. Went I went through to pay our account straight after breakfast there were several wet dogs sitting in the kitchen. It took considerable time from Caroline to provide a receipt, which was eventually written on a plain piece of paper. Whether we arrived at a bad time I can not say. All I can say is that all four of us were very happy to leave and although Caroline and Joe were friendly we felt uncomfortable and an imposition instead of welcome guests.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Curraghchase, Kilcornan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Kilcornan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilcornan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in Limerick situated on a real working rare breed pig farm in the heart of the West Limerick countryside close to many tourist attractions. See life in a real farm - collect your own eggs for breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Kilcornan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rigney's Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.