We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Site bit loud at night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Valley Holiday Park Adventure Tours

Hidden Valley Holiday Park Adventure Tours
Rathdrum, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Rathdrum
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
Attraction details
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location Site bit loud at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed in caravan park Friday 10th and Saturday 11th August. Very busy on arrival which was to be expected at this time of year but not too long to wait. Site was quite full so got a pitch near front of site near toilets/shower facilities. Site was clean and the toilets and shower area was very clean, only downside to be being that near was continuous stream of people passing all the time and teenagers tended to hang round this area. There was an 11pm "strict" noise curfew but this was not adhered to - it was very noisy both nights and was well after midnight before it quietened down. Whilst I appreciate caravan parks and teenagers can be a bit noisey it was disappointing that there didnt seem to be anyone round to check this out. About 1am Sunday morning there were a few people outside our camper van shouting and laughing and at one point they were rocking the camper. When we got up the next morning the electric connection at the side of the camper had been disconnected and thrown across my car. On arrival we were given a code for entry at gate and barrier which we thought would be closed at night. On the second day I had not taken the code with me and asked guy in reception for it as we were going out for day but he said gates/barrier were never closed - I thought this was a high security risk as anyone could enter the site - either on foot or in car/van, so what was the point of giving a code for gate if it was not closed. On the plus side the caravan site was in a good location with just a 10-15 minute walk to the town with pubs and shops (uphill but didn't mind as walked off my dinner!). There was a cafe on site called CAfe Alfresco which had a great variety of dishes and very cheap - they did breakfast, lunch and dinner and the food smelt and looked delicious. We went to a pub called Jacobs on the first night - the food was very nice and very reasonable and the staff were very friendly. €16 for a steak sandwich and chips with salad and garlic ciabatta bread - recommend it! Second night we went to Bates Restaurant - very disappointing - looked like a lovely place and staff were friendly but service was bad - long wait in between starter and main course. Fish and salad was very nice and cooked well but the steak was grizzly and the chips were overcooked - definitely not worth €25 for a 10oz sirloin. There was a chipper and chinese takeaway in town also, didn't try either of them but the smell as we passed them both was very tempting! Would stay in Hidden Valley Caravan Park again but probably a different time of year and maybe also not pitch as near to the toilet/shower area. During our stay we went to Greenan Farm & Museums - it was ok - brochure was a bit misleading in that it makes out there is much more there than actually is. Pictures on brochure show a kid in a field with a donkey and implied that you could mix with the animals - but that wasn't the case - all animals were fenced off and there were only 2 pigs, some sheep, hens, ducks and a nice friendly tabby cat that followed us around! It was €8.50 for an adult, don't know how much for a child though. Animals pens were kept clean, well worth a visit if in the area. There was a large maze and museums with a really old house and old farm equipment which was interesting. There was Tearooms there and the food was delicious and fresh and very cheap and plent of variety - scones, apple pie, chocolate cake, homemade biscuits etc. Overall it was a nice clean site and would recommend it - I wouldn't let one incident put me off staying again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“caravan park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is amazing, clean and has lots of attractions for the kids, well worth the visit, we try go a few times a yr to this place, its very near the gorgeous village of Avoca and Glendalough too. Onsite takeaway and little shop, movie nights for the kids huge playground and they put on lots more too. Fishing and kayaking boat rides etc. River running through the park is gorgeous with a bridge bringing the caravan and tent park together. No noise after 11 so it makes a perfect retreat for the kids. They also offer cycling trips and kayaking tours too, well worth the visit!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enfield county meath ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First time campers , best first experience Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My Husband i and 2 kids aged 3 and 9 stayed here in july 2012 , this was our first camping experience and it went down a treat :) , It was easy to find which is a bonus when you have kids in the car !! and you have avoca and arklow and glendalough just fifteen min away by car and also a kids farm just up the road a bit , but anyway about the park , check in was fine no hassels loads of brochures great , the grounds were quiet hard for pegs but other than that the levels were fine with loads of space and choice with super views of the river and everything around us couldnt be handier , there is two play grounds and big slides and a lazy river :) movie nites and lots more to do for kids , fishing if your into it were as im more of a net and stick person ;) , kids love it , oh and our wee dog loved it to , the toilets showers and washing up blocks was exceptionally clean , i couldnt fault it , honest im fusy when it comes to toilets but these were clean very clean , , there is a hot food shop from early morning till ten at night which was a life saver and also very tasty and with in reason with price which was good , if i was to say something bad about this site it would be the bridge but its only because i dont like bridges but it seems very wobbley !!! there is someone that goes around from eleven onwards keeping noise level down which was great , camp fires on the little beaches was pretty cool , all in all we had a great time , and were going back and bringing friends :) also i think this time il try the hook up side with electricty for a little bit more home comforts ;) , iv already sent some friends there and they loved it too , so if your planning a few days away , this is the place , it really is :) ..... from a very happy camper indeed sue dave and family , enfield meath

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park with Excellent Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Description: My husband and I stayed at Hidden Valley in August 2011. At check-in we were given lots of brochures and shown a map of County Wicklow with all the must see sites. We found a beautiful pitch overlooking the lake that had all the hookups. The toilet block looked brand new and was exceptionally clean. The cleaner seemed to be there every hour. There were quite a few different nature walks from the park that we enjoyed each morning, and the Avondale House located at the top of the town offered numerous nature walks. The town of Rathdrum is within walking distance from the park and we found everything we needed there. The staff were all very nice and always approachable whenever we needed help. Our only complaint was that our stay at Hidden Valley was too short. We hope to return soon.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pretty unique cycling trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Nothing like i have done before. The wicklow scenary is pretty special but the best bit for us was the fact they dropped us up the top of the mountain and we were able to race down or cruise at your leisure. There were still some tough bits but nothing that anyone in the group found too taxing.

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Valley Holiday Park Adventure Tours also viewed

Rathdrum, County Wicklow
 
Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Valley Holiday Park Adventure Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.